Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
no app launcher/plasma panel/start menu
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:44 am    Post subject: no app launcher/plasma panel/start menu Reply with quote

Last night I emerge --sync'ed and emerged world and it appeared that a lot of new KDE applications were upgraded. Today when I rebooted though KDE is not launching the Kicker/application panel/start menu/whatever it's called now. is it possible to manually start it from the konsole if not how can I fix this?

Last edited by <3 on Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:56 pm; edited 8 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess I'm the only one with this problem and no one knows how to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK since no one is helping me with this can anyone tell me if it is possible to downgrade back to kde-plasma-5.10.x?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had to delete my last post as it came back for a while and now it's gone. I think my computer is screwing with me =(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bah, since no one is helping me with this I just installed and am using latte-dock.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bump, I have been dealing with this for over half a year and still no solution in sight.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Section_8
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 564
Location: Arlington, TX, US

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm running plasma 5.12.5 and have never seen this. Have you tried any alternative widgets (application launcher, application dashboard, etc)? Have you tried creating a new userid to see if the menu works there? If so, there must be something wrong with your user's kde config somewhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now that you mention it I should try it with another user account. But right now I am using latte-dock as an alternative to the plasma-panel/krunner or whatever it is called now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just created a brand new test user all with default configs and immediately logged in as that user. No kde panel came up and when I right clicked on the desktop to "add a new panel" nothing happened. So I guess now I can rule out if it was a bad configuration file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK WTF someone please help. This is getting annoying. My SSD died last weekend so I had to go and buy another one and re-install Gentoo on it. After a fresh install (I didn't import configs or files from my old install) I am having the same issue. Is this a bug? I can't be the only person having this issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

marked as closed, I never found a solution but after a world update today it has returned.

edit. re-opened


Last edited by <3 on Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:56 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

need to re-open as this is happening again. It seems to happen more when I have my laptop docked and have an external screen in use and the laptop screen disabled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
<3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's been almost an entire year and I am still having this issue. I was hoping that sometime in the future maybe through update this would finally get resolved. But apparently not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum