Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Intel i915 black screen of death...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1240
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Memtest can be run when I am finished. This is a Core2Duo CPU from a few years back.
Code:

tangent ~ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 15
model name      : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     E4600  @ 2.40GHz
stepping        : 13
microcode       : 0xa1
cpu MHz         : 2393.997
cache size      : 2048 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 2
core id         : 0
cpu cores       : 2
apicid          : 0
initial apicid  : 0
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 10
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl aperfmperf eagerfpu pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm dtherm
bugs            :
bogomips        : 4787.99
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

processor       : 1
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 15
model name      : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     E4600  @ 2.40GHz
stepping        : 13
microcode       : 0xa1
cpu MHz         : 2393.997
cache size      : 2048 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 2
core id         : 1
cpu cores       : 2
apicid          : 1
initial apicid  : 1
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 10
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl aperfmperf eagerfpu pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm dtherm
bugs            :
bogomips        : 4787.99
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

I have the kernel set to "Core 2 or newer". I ran memtest for two straight days (48hrs) before beginning this setup. Memory is fine, all 4GB.

*UPDATE*

I started with a kernel configuration from my old work laptop, also a Core 2 Duo. I then changed the drivers for the hardware found on this system as opposed to my laptop. Done this many, many times without an issue. Oh, and I changed the in-kernel firmware from my WiFi firmware to the firmware for the WiFi on this system as well. My laptop CPU is listed below. Note the similarities!
Code:

9y84mj1 ~ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 23
model name      : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     P8600  @ 2.40GHz
stepping        : 10
microcode       : 0xa07
cpu MHz         : 2401.000
cache size      : 3072 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 2
core id         : 0
cpu cores       : 2
apicid          : 0
initial apicid  : 0
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 13
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl aperfmperf eagerfpu pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm sse4_1 xsave lahf_lm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority dtherm ida
bugs            :
bogomips        : 4787.84
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

processor       : 1
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 23
model name      : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     P8600  @ 2.40GHz
stepping        : 10
microcode       : 0xa07
cpu MHz         : 2401.000
cache size      : 3072 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 2
core id         : 1
cpu cores       : 2
apicid          : 1
initial apicid  : 1
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 13
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl aperfmperf eagerfpu pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm sse4_1 xsave lahf_lm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority dtherm ida
bugs            :
bogomips        : 4787.84
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1240
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just stumbled across this in relation to that split multiplier error. The message is dated but may still be true. Something about this not working on split platforms. Original info is here.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1240
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2018 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, rebooted after it was working fine and now a black screen, again.
Code:

c88205013 ~ # dmesg | grep i915
[    0.527831] WARNING: CPU: 0 PID: 1 at drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_sdvo.c:1432 intel_sdvo_get_config+0x1b8/0x1d0
[    0.527950]  [<ffffffff815c53e4>] i915_driver_load+0x8e4/0x1370
[    0.527963]  [<ffffffff815d01f8>] i915_pci_probe+0x28/0x40
[    0.528001]  [<ffffffff821a86e3>] i915_init+0x52/0x55
[    0.687087] i915 0000:00:02.0: VGA-1: EDID block 0 invalid.
[    0.836619] [drm] Initialized i915 1.6.0 20160919 for 0000:00:02.0 on minor 0
[    1.202039] WARNING: CPU: 1 PID: 6 at drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_display.c:13555 intel_atomic_commit_tail+0xe25/0xf90
[    1.359825] WARNING: CPU: 1 PID: 6 at drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_display.c:13631 intel_atomic_commit_tail+0xcf9/0xf90
[    1.469886] i915 0000:00:02.0: fb0: inteldrmfb frame buffer device

What is with this driver? My laptop uses the i965 stuff and it works fine.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 5632
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2018 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth ...

welcome to the club ;) ... I never did resolve that issue (note it's from Jan 2016), I currently boot without inteldrmfb, login as root and 'modprobe i915 ; exit', then login blind to my user account, and startx. Also note that the xorg/xf86-video-intel/opengl stack will probably usck allbs ... if gallium works for your chipset then you should try the modesetting driver first (you may, or may not, get opengl).

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1240
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2018 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rebooted and video came back. Is there a way to tell the login manager to shutdown or reboot if the power button is pressed while on the login screen? Apparently this is random so my "fix" is to tell users to press the power button, give it a minute, then power on again if it comes up blank. How can I pull THAT off?
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 5632
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
Is there a way to tell the login manager to shutdown or reboot if the power button is pressed while on the login screen? Apparently this is random so my "fix" is to tell users to press the power button, give it a minute, then power on again if it comes up blank. How can I pull THAT off?

The_Great_Sephiroth ... with a little help from sys-power/acpid:

/etc/acpid/default.sh:
[...]
case "$group" in
   button)
      case "$action" in
         power) /etc/acpi/actions/powerbtn.sh ;;
[...]

/etc/acpi/actions/powerbtn.sh:
if [ -x /sbin/shutdown ] ; then
    /sbin/shutdown -h now "Power button pressed"
else
    exit
fi

Those may come by default, I forget what I've added myself.

HTH & best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1240
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2018 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Those are default, but I read not to use acpid along with Plasma/Gnome/whatever because then you have two things handling power events. I only normally install acpid on systems which will be shell only, such as servers.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
josephg
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Posts: 663

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

josephg wrote:
NeddySeagoon wrote:
Add them all. The driver will work out which is the right file.

NeddySeagoon, do you mean add all 95 files in /usr/lib/firmware/intel-ucode/ into CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="..." ??


just to update, i add this line to make.conf
Code:
MICROCODE_SIGNATURES="-S"


now emerge sys-firmware/intel-microcode again will only create a few (rather than all) files in /usr/lib/firmware/intel-ucode/ for the current cpu signature. so now, i only have 6 files to contend with.

i add initramfs useflag, and it also creates /boot/intel-uc.img, which i now use in initrd for early microcode update at boot.

adding firmware files into kernel config didn't work on my 32bit gentoo x86. only the early update via initrd works.

Jaglover, sorry for hijacking your thread. but since we discussed all this right here, i thought i would update this here.
_________________
"Growth for the sake of growth is the ideology of the cancer cell." Edward Abbey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum