Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Multiple blockers and slot conflicts. Where to start fixing?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Melphis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:33 pm    Post subject: Multiple blockers and slot conflicts. Where to start fixing? Reply with quote

My latest system upgrade (of a fairly old system to profile 17.0) has resulted in multiple blockers and slot conflicts. I'm not even sure where to start.


Emerge issues from "emerge --changed-use --newrepo --deep system >~/emerge_error.txt"

results of emerge --info

Can someone point me in the right direction, let me know what other info is needed, or otherwise...

Please help!

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blopsalot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2017
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Multiple blockers and slot conflicts. Where to start fix Reply with quote

Melphis wrote:
My latest system upgrade (of a fairly old system to profile 17.0) has resulted in multiple blockers and slot conflicts. I'm not even sure where to start.


Emerge issues from "emerge --changed-use --newrepo --deep system >~/emerge_error.txt"

results of emerge --info

Can someone point me in the right direction, let me know what other info is needed, or otherwise...

Please help!

Thank you


Maybe someone with fancier portage tricks could do it with one command, but on quick scan, looks like this would clear most of it:

Code:
emerge --ask dev-lang/python:2.7 dev-lang/python:3.4


the trick is updating the "pulled in by" packages first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Melphis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:55 pm    Post subject: Re: Multiple blockers and slot conflicts. Where to start fix Reply with quote

OK, just tried the following:

Code:
emerge --ask dev-lang/python:2.7 dev-lang/python:3.4


Got this as result.

Failed to emerge anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30905
Location: here

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try with command
Code:
# emerge -auDN --with-bdeps y @world --backtrack=300

_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blopsalot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2017
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
Try with command
Code:
# emerge -auDN --with-bdeps y @world --backtrack=300


lol yep
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Melphis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.use" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by media-libs/phonon-4.9.1-r1::gentoo[gstreamer]
# required by kde-frameworks/knotifications-5.40.0::gentoo
# required by kde-apps/kdialog-17.08.3::gentoo
# required by kde-apps/kdecore-meta-17.08.3::gentoo
# required by kde-apps/kdebase-meta-17.08.3::gentoo
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=media-libs/phonon-gstreamer-4.9.0-r1 qt4


Adding this to package.use, but I've got a bad feeling about this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Melphis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm assuming I need to keep running
Code:
emerge -auDN --with-bdeps y @world --backtrack=300


and accepting that package mask/use changes until it (hopefully) works out a way to update everything.

(Edited to add)
After 2 or 4 more attempts, etc-update'ing each time, I'm finally at
Code:
Emerging (1 of 792)...


Will update post later if everything updates properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Melphis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 11:58 pm    Post subject: OK, now openexr won't build. Reply with quote

emerge --info '=media-libs/openexr-2.1.0::gentoo' info here

Code:
emerge -pqv '=media-libs/openexr-2.1.0::gentoo'
[ebuild   R   ] media-libs/openexr-2.1.0  USE="-examples -static-libs" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)"


Build log

[Moderator edit: added [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ct85711
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 1791

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
../IlmImf/.libs/libIlmImf.so: undefined reference to `Iex_2_1::BaseExc::BaseExc(std::__cxx11::basic_stringstream<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> >&)'


This is a common issue for people that didn't follow the news instruction from transitioning from gcc-4 to gcc-5+, in that you need to recompile all of the C++ compiled packages.

Try running this:
Code:
revdep-rebuild --library 'libstdc++.so.6' -- --exclude gcc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Melphis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
revdep-rebuild --library 'libstdc++.so.6' -- --exclude gcc


Running that results in https://pastebin.com/DSm5scqT, which puts out tons of warnings, and then runs emerge. Emerge complains about wanting something masked (or unmasked?) before it'll do the recompiling.

Now what? Does it want =media-libs/libdvb-0.5.5.1-r3 unmasked? Or is there something else wrong?

I've been trying to get this thing to recompile (almost) everything because of the 13 to 17 profile change, but so far, no joy.

(Edit to add)
So, it definitely wanted it unmasked, so I've unmasked it and tried again.

Now the revdep-rebuild fails with:
Code:
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "www-plugins/adobe-flash:2".


I tried removing adobe-flash from the world file, but that failed to fix anything.
Still fails with
Code:
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "www-plugins/adobe-flash:2".


Then using equery to find out what's causing it to show up again:
Code:
equery depends adobe-flash
 * These packages depend on adobe-flash:
games-util/steam-client-meta-0-r20160828 (flash ? www-plugins/adobe-flash[abi_x86_32])


Is there a best way to get steam-client-meta to uninstall temporarily? Or is this the wrong way to try and fix the problem...?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Melphis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Removing steam-client-meta from the world file still didn't fix it.

Code:
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "www-plugins/adobe-flash:2".


Keeps popping up every time I try the revdep-rebuild mentioned above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blopsalot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2017
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if u followed the wiki to install steam, you probably created a set file, delete it from there
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Melphis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looked at the world file with emacs, there is no
"www-plugins/adobe-flash"
line.

There was a hal-flash line that I remember something about when I was trying to get firefox to keep running flash games, so I pulled that out, then removed everything that had "steam" on it.

Revdep-rebuild still wants an ebuild to satisfy "www-plugins/adobe-flash:2"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blopsalot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2017
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
grep -r www-plugins/adobe-flash:2 /etc/portage/sets/
or just grep it all :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Melphis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed the overlay version mentioned on the wiki, which required no "sets". (or at least, I didn't set any up, as grep can't search files that aren't there) :(

Code:
grep -r www-plugins/adobe-flash:2 /etc/portage/sets/
grep: /etc/portage/sets/: No such file or directory


I used
Code:
layman -d steam-overlay

to remove it, and still... "no ebuild...adobe-flash:2"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21619

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Melphis wrote:
Removing steam-client-meta from the world file still didn't fix it.

Code:
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "www-plugins/adobe-flash:2".


Keeps popping up every time I try the revdep-rebuild mentioned above.
You should remove adobe-flash. Flash is notorious for security problems, and you have a version that is not even current.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Melphis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to remove adobe-flash so it stops asking me for that.

Unfortunately part of that removal appears to be "run revdep-rebuild" which either keeps trying to bring it back, or maybe I didn't remove it properly.

Not really sure where to go from here after removing from world file. Is it somehow called for somewhere else?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blopsalot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2017
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i got in trouble on irc for this but try
Code:
emerge -C www-plugins/adobe-flash


what i meant as last resort is
Code:
grep -r "www-plugins/adobe-flash:2" /
may take long time tho
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Melphis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, that found and removed adobe-flash(version 25 or so)

Now, revdep-rebuild fails with
Code:
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "app-text/libwpd:0".


Looks like I need to go through and remove everything old that may have been left behind in a previous upgrade.
More stuff I remove, more stuff I worry about not working, but WordPerfect import/export libraries may not really be needed now.

After removing bits and pieces (playonlinux, various wines, gnutls) I've finally got
Code:
emerge -e -auDN --with-bdeps y @world --backtrack=300

working. Currently 184 of 1271 complete, so I'll come back tomorrow...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21619

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Melphis wrote:
I'm trying to remove adobe-flash so it stops asking me for that.

Unfortunately part of that removal appears to be "run revdep-rebuild" which either keeps trying to bring it back, or maybe I didn't remove it properly.
It sounds like you tried to use --depclean, which insists on current revdep-rebuild out of an abundance of caution. I meant for you to use --unmerge, which obeys you without question or regard to collateral damage. The command blopsalot gave is the shorthand form of --unmerge. I will try to name a specific command ("--unmerge adobe-flash"), rather than a general concept ("remove flash") next time. You might have gotten out of the jam by performing other upgrades first, but removing the offending package(s) early is the easiest path. Unmerge must be used cautiously, but can be very effective when wielded properly.

You can install a newer libwpd (from a different slot) later if you still need support for it. If you find you need exactly the version you had, you will need to retrieve an ebuild for it, place the ebuild in an overlay, and build it. If that happens and this very brief summary is insufficient, post a separate thread explaining the situation and we can walk you through that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 8935

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
You can install a newer libwpd (from a different slot) later if you still need support for it. If you find you need exactly the version you had, you will need to retrieve an ebuild for it, place the ebuild in an overlay, and build it.

Not so fast. There hasn't been a libwpd:0 in a very, very long time. The error is simply a revdep-rebuild bug that wrongly truncates slot "0.10" to "0".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21619

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OP says this system is rather old. We don't know how old, but we know it was old enough to have an obsolete slot of adobe-flash installed.

Is the revdep-rebuild issue purely cosmetic or did the truncation cause it to use the wrong slot in its computation, too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Melphis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, so far so good. I had a failure updating "gargoyle", but that's not immediately necessary to a working updated system, so unmerged that as well.

An empty-tree rebuild (as recommended by the profile switching news) appears to be working right along now. As long as I track what I've taken out, I can work out how to put it back after I get everything else updated.

Restarted (without gargoyle installed), now at 544 of 1264. Is there a good way to continue from a failed "rebuild evereything" (-e) that only rebuilds things not yet rebuilt?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 8935

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
OP says this system is rather old. We don't know how old, but we know it was old enough to have an obsolete slot of adobe-flash installed.

No, it cannot possibly be *that* old. ;) Also, we find this in the output:
Code:
* Warning: "app-text/libwpd-0.10.1" ebuild not found..

No 0.10.x version ever had a slot 0.

Hu wrote:
Is the revdep-rebuild issue purely cosmetic or did the truncation cause it to use the wrong slot in its computation, too?

That's exactly what I mean, it truncates the slot of the installed version (maybe because of the dot, maybe because it is not found) wrongly before handing off to emerge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Melphis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2018
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, after removing a few more things... now I'm here. Circular dependencies, apparently depending on itself??
How do I begin to understand this...
Code:
emerge -e -auDN --with-bdeps y @world --backtrack=300 --autounmask-write

 * IMPORTANT: 8 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news read to view new items.


These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies                      ... done!           

[ebuild  NS   ~] dev-java/icedtea-6.1.13.11:6::java [7.2.6.9:7::gentoo] USE="alsa cjk cups gtk jbootstrap kerberos nsplugin nss pulseaudio webstart (-cacao) -debug -doc -examples -headless-awt (-jamvm) -javascript -libressl -pax_kernel (-selinux) -smartcard -source -systemtap {-test} -zero" 41,644 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 in new slot), Size of downloads: 41,644 KiB

 * Error: circular dependencies:

(dev-java/icedtea-6.1.13.11:6/6::java, ebuild scheduled for merge) depends on
 (dev-java/icedtea-6.1.13.11:6/6::java, ebuild scheduled for merge) (buildtime)

 * Note that circular dependencies can often be avoided by temporarily
 * disabling USE flags that trigger optional dependencies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum