Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't mount USB drive in KDE
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Featherfoot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 971
Location: Stuart, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:49 pm    Post subject: Can't mount USB drive in KDE Reply with quote

When I plug a USB drive into the USB reader the KDE device notifier comes up and when I try to mount the device, I get a message "You are not authorized to mount this device". This is blatantly an error.

I am the only user on this machine and have been doing these things for a long time. Unfortunately KUser is broken also, so I can't see what authorizations it thinks I have.

Any thoughts on how to correct it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6829
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kuser would not help you there anyway.

- What icon do you click before that error comes up?
- Does it work from dolphin?
- What session manager do you use (consolekit, elogind or systemd)?
- How do you start into your Plasma-5 session?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21357
Location: here

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1052072-highlight-authorized+mount+device.html
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Featherfoot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 971
Location: Stuart, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On mounting the USB drive:

I plug in the USB. I get the device notifier message. I have complained about the trick on the right before, so I click on the funny arrow on the right of the mount message. I get the error message.

I have also tried to just select one of the mount messages; mount with File Manager. That gives the same result.

I believe this is a new feature. Unfortunately I don't use USB drives regularly and only assume this happened with systemd, or one of the new versions of plasma.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6829
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good, you managed 2/4 questions, let's find out the rest:

asturm wrote:
- What session manager do you use (consolekit, elogind or systemd)?
- How do you start into your Plasma-5 session?

_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Featherfoot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 971
Location: Stuart, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I mounted the disk by inserting it. I haven't tried Dolphin. Not sure even how to do it...

This system was recently upgraded to use systemd. In accordance with the recent text message.

I start plasma from the login screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Featherfoot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 971
Location: Stuart, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was able to confirm that mounting the USB drive in Dolphon fails also. The error message was:

An error occurred while accessing '3.7GiB Removable Media', the system responed: An unspecified error has occurred: Not authorized to perform opeation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6829
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is a very odd problem.

Featherfoot wrote:
I start plasma from the login screen.

What is your login screen?

Are you sure USE=systemd is enabled globally and everything is consistent wrt that flag?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Featherfoot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 971
Location: Stuart, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope. I'm not sure.

I operated in "command mode" based on the instructions that were given. I just added systemd to make.conf and will try updating world again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6829
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure what news item prompted you to switch to systemd - but it also begs the question what profile do you currently use?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 2509
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have reference to the USB drive in /etc/fstab ? If. yes, it seems you need to delete it for KDE automount to work

Last edited by dmpogo on Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Featherfoot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 971
Location: Stuart, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did add systemd to /etc/make.conf. It did not affect mounting disks.

Here is my fstab: I don't see anything that looks like a USN.

Code:



bopper /etc # cat /etc/fstab
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail / tail freely.
#
# The root filesystem should have a pass number of either 0 or 1.
# All other filesystems should have a pass number of 0 or greater than 1.
#
# See the manpage fstab(5) for more information.
#

# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>          <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
UUID=ce12cbd3-e132-49fd-9076-4a444316c489 /  ext4   nofail,noatime,nodiratime,discard,user_xattr,errors=remount-ro 0 1
UUID=dfbd92d1-ef3f-4496-bc71-97aacf0fd096 /boot    ext4            nofail,noatime,nodiratime,discard 0 1

/dev/mapper/pdc_dcgidcdjbp6 /gentoo     ext4            nofail,user_xattr,errors=remount-ro 0 1
/dev/mapper/pdc_dcgidcdjbp7 none        swap    sw              0       0
/dev/mapper/pdc_dcgidcdjbp2 /windows    ntfs-3g         noauto,user     1 3
/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom      auto            noauto,user     0 0
/dev/mapper/pdc_dcgidcdjbp5 /kubuntu    ext4    nofail,errors=remount-ro      1 3
/dev/mapper/pdc_dcgidcdjbp3 /boot2      ext4           nofail,defaults        1 4

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
#  use almost no memory if not populated with files)
shm                     /dev/shm        tmpfs           nodev,nosuid,noexec     0 0
tmpfs                   /tmp            tmpfs           defaults,noatime,mode=1777 0 0

#/tmp       tmpfs   defaults,noatime,mode=1777   0  0
#/var/tmp   tmpfs   defaults,noatime,mode=1777   0  0
#/var/log   tmpfs   defaults,noatime,mode=0755   0  0
#/dev/mapper/pdc_dcgidcdjbp6 / ext4 errors=remount-ro,user_xattr 0 1

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6829
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Featherfoot wrote:
I did add systemd to /etc/make.conf. It did not affect mounting disks.

You know that adding stuff to make.conf does not change anything before you update world with -N?

Please answer questions.
asturm wrote:
I'm not sure what news item prompted you to switch to systemd - but it also begs the question what profile do you currently use?

_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Featherfoot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 971
Location: Stuart, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Of course, I did the "emerge --newuse --deep --update --with-bdeps=y world" command. There were a few packages updated but nothing I would associate with KDE Plasma. I have been using Gentoo for a long time.

I got a "news" from Gentoo saying that they would be shortly adopting profile 17.There were a series of steps to perform to accomplish this. I performed them rigorously, presuming that they had been verified. I wish those were the only things that had changed. KDE plasma had some recent updates and gentoo-sources seems to be doing a version dance.

I posted a couple of other problems with KDE-plasma.

There was a notice today about profile 17.1 that was marked experimental. I didn't do that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6829
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Featherfoot wrote:
I got a "news" from Gentoo saying that they would be shortly adopting profile 17.

Code:
  [12]  default/linux/amd64/17.0
  [13]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/selinux
  [14]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/hardened
  [15]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/hardened/selinux
  [16]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop
  [17]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/gnome
  [18]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/gnome/systemd
  [19]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/plasma
  [20]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/plasma/systemd *
  [21]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/developer
  [22]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/no-multilib
  [23]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/no-multilib/hardened
  [24]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/no-multilib/hardened/selinux
  [25]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/systemd
  [26]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/x32

Notice the star. Where is the star on your system...

When you were switching to systemd, for whatever yet undisclosed reason, did you check the wiki for it? https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Featherfoot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 971
Location: Stuart, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

[11]  default/linux/amd64/13.0/x32
  [12]  default/linux/amd64/17.0
  [13]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/selinux
  [14]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/hardened
  [15]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/hardened/selinux
  [16]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop
  [17]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/gnome
  [18]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/gnome/systemd
  [19]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/plasma
  [20]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/plasma/systemd *
  [21]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/developer
  [22]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/no-multilib
  [23]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/no-multilib/hardened
  [24]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/no-multilib/hardened/selinux
  [25]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/systemd
  [26]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/x32
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Featherfoot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 971
Location: Stuart, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can anticipate the answer to question 2: No I didn't have the systemd option in the kernel. The instructions didn't say to do it. I'm working on it now, plus the Wiki article. Lots of oddball settings for a piece of "standard" gentoo setting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6829
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What instructions, please? Why do you think you had to switch to systemd at all?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Featherfoot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 971
Location: Stuart, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The news item said to... Although the fact that there were profiles without systemd should have been a clue. I'm trying to be a good user here. Doing what I'm told. Not thinking too much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6829
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Featherfoot wrote:
Not thinking too much.

That's a problem.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Featherfoot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 971
Location: Stuart, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may be right.

The truth of the matter is that some of us aren't spending our lives figuring out how to configure linux. We're doing other things and gentoo is (just) a very good tool.

I like to think I was following the instructions fairly well. The instructions left a lot to be desired. They implied systemd was required when it wasn't and they were incomplete. If the author doesn't want to go into everything, he should point off to the appropriate documents. As a retired programmer, though, I know what to expect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6829
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Featherfoot wrote:
I like to think I was following the instructions fairly well. The instructions left a lot to be desired. They implied systemd was required when it wasn't and they were incomplete.

Show us where that is. Somehow I don't see forums and bugzilla flooded with systemd mass-migrations.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Featherfoot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 971
Location: Stuart, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can abuse me for a while longer if you want. Obviously I screwed up along the way somehow. Maybe you can help get me off of Linux Mint 18.1 and back on gentoo.

Here is my grub2 setup. Is there a place where the init=/lib/systemd/systemd will work? I have tried after the real_root statement. Now it is before it. Neither works to mount the real root. Am I screwed?

Code:

menuentry 'Gentoo 4.12.12 on SSD' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class os {
   recordfail
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='(hd2,msdos5)'
#        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 8b524b22-ca28-49c1-8bbf-9361f7e3f23f
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root dfbd92d1-ef3f-4496-bc71-97aacf0fd096
        linux   /kernel-genkernel-x86_64-4.12.12-gentoo root=/dev/ram0 init=/lib/systemd/systemd real_root=UUID=ce12cbd3-e132-49fd-9076-4a444316c489 dodmraid ro
        initrd  /initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-4.12.12-gentoo
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6829
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Featherfoot wrote:
You can abuse me for a while longer if you want.

If you think this is abuse then maybe I should stop helping here. I just dislike having to ask several times before I get the required information.

Unfortunately my systemd experience is rather limited, the only place where I use it is on a system not using grub2 but efibootmgr. And there I am using the built-in kernel command line feature (CONFIG_CMDLINE).

EDIT: Isn't it right there in the wiki? https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd#GRUB_2 (I think the way you showed it above it is fine, but the order should not matter)
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Featherfoot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 971
Location: Stuart, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I appreciate your help and your willingness to try to resolve all the issues quickly. I am not as meticulous as most programmers and you have helped me through several sticky spots before.

This is a RAID 1 system/ It boots LinuxMint and Gentoo so that when Gentoo becomes unbootable, I can chroot in from Mint and build a new system. I also have windows 10 on it. . I configured a SSD with my gentoo system and gentoo boot files. Hence all the options in the linux statement. I am puzzled that it now seems to be mounting the wrong system.

Oh, well, I'll fool around with it. At the moment, I think I have the systemd set up as well as I can.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum