Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Wayland fails to execute
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
roboto
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Posts: 156
Location: My IP address.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 1:27 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Wayland fails to execute Reply with quote

I compiled x11-base/xorg-server with wayland USE flag and this enabled on all other installed packages. I have xwayland enabled. I installed dev-libs/sway and typed /usr/bin/sway.

Then, this happened. SwayWM did nothing but print this error message:

Code:
[main.c:48] [wlc] Failed to add socket to wayland display


I tried to find a main.c, but to no avail. Any help is appreciated.
Thanks.
_________________
Answers please.

The true hater of man expects nothing from him and is indiscriminate to his works.
-Ayn Rand
Quote:
Dude. Minus 30 credibility points.

Yep


Last edited by roboto on Sat Jan 06, 2018 6:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1294
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 1:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) You could turn on logging:
Quote:
sway -dV >/tmp/sway-output 2>&1

2) If you emerged sway with use flag "tray", you'd better execute "export $(dbus-launch)" before starting sway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roboto
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Posts: 156
Location: My IP address.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The log gave me a bunch of unset variables. i.e. SWAY_CURSOR_THEME=(null)

Is there a guide out there telling me what to set these variables to?

The fatal error in the log shows:

Code:
[main.c:52] [wlc] error: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set in the environment


Again, what value do I set these variables to?
_________________
Answers please.

The true hater of man expects nothing from him and is indiscriminate to his works.
-Ayn Rand
Quote:
Dude. Minus 30 credibility points.

Yep
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. T.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the impression that the Gentoo community does not have the resource to help the mass.

Gentoo does not set the variable XDG_RUNTIME_DIR.

Reference: https://wayland.freedesktop.org/building.html - look at the section "Running Weston".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1294
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you don't know how to set XDG_RUNTIME_DIR, look here for a code snippet: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Weston

I recommend to get Weston up and running before installing any other Wayland compositor. Weston is small, it's easy to install and configure, and it's fun. If Weston works, you can be sure that Wayland and your low level graphics drivers work. Then you can move on to the Wayland compositor and the desktop environment you want to install. If you get any errors, you can be sure that they are related to your Wayland compositor or your desktop environment - and not to Wayland or low level graphics drivers.


Last edited by mike155 on Sat Jan 06, 2018 1:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6995
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wayland itself doesn't 'work'. It is *always* the compositor of your choice that may be better or worse. Now, of course you can check if your graphics stack is prepared for Wayland, but you can have that much cheaper: nvidia-drivers works not, everything else does.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1294
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Gentoo does not set the variable XDG_RUNTIME_DIR.

That depends on your system/service manager. As far as I know, pam_systemd sets this environment variable: https://www.freedesktop.org/software/systemd/man/pam_systemd.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roboto
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Posts: 156
Location: My IP address.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SwayWM works now due to the building weston guide telling me to set the variable to a temporary directory in /tmp and giving it 0700 permissions.

Thank you all for your time.
_________________
Answers please.

The true hater of man expects nothing from him and is indiscriminate to his works.
-Ayn Rand
Quote:
Dude. Minus 30 credibility points.

Yep
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
josephg
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Posts: 783
Location: usually offline

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 wrote:
If you don't know how to set XDG_RUNTIME_DIR, look here for a code snippet: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Weston

I recommend to get Weston up and running before installing any other Wayland compositor. Weston is small, it's easy to install and configure, and it's fun. If Weston works, you can be sure that Wayland and your low level graphics drivers work. Then you can move on to the Wayland compositor and the desktop environment you want to install. If you get any errors, you can be sure that they are related to your Wayland compositor or your desktop environment - and not to Wayland or low level graphics drivers.


thanks to this thread, i finally got some motivation to look at wayland. i installed weston, and it runs beautifully :) then i installed sway.. had to fiddle a bit, and now it feels just like my i3. overall very functional, but not ready for primetime yet. i can compare any sway glitches with weston, and can see that almost all issues are sway only.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum