Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KF5 and external monitors
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
binro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 623
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 12:59 pm    Post subject: KF5 and external monitors Reply with quote

Does KF5 work well with multiple external monitors? I have a ThinkPad T410 with an Nvidia GPU
and I use the Nouveau drivers. I have a docking station with one or two HD monitors connected.
If I use one monitor the system is reasonably stable but I have had a couple of lockups requiring
a poweroff/reboot. Also the energy saving options do not work, no dimming or screen switch-off
(though if I use Xscreensaver to set energy setting they *do* work). If I use two external
monitors (with the laptop lid closed) the system is very unstable: the desktop locks-up after
one hour or so. The mouse still moves and you can ssh in and kill sddm and X but it does not
reset the desktop - you must do a reboot.

Is anyone else seeing this or have I got hardware problems?

Thanks
Robin
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21328
Location: here

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a desktop computer (obviously with plasma 5) with three monitor and nvidia driver, system is stable and I haven't any issues
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 623
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
I have a desktop computer (obviously with plasma 5) with three monitor and nvidia driver, system is stable and I haven't any issues

Are you using the Nvidia binary drivers or Nouveau?

Thanks.
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21328
Location: here

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

binro wrote:
Are you using the Nvidia binary drivers or Nouveau?

I currently use nvidia proprietary driver but I also tested with Nouveau
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 623
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm. Maybe I should try the binary drivers again but I seem to remember having trouble before.
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum