Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
hostapd and static wireless config update
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TechwoIf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Aug 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:18 pm    Post subject: hostapd and static wireless config update Reply with quote

I just started to have a problem with bringing up wlan3 on my system that is a not connected wireless static IP that is used for an AP.

It started doing this:

Code:
* Bringing up interface wlan3
 *   Configuring wireless network for wlan3
 *   Scanning for access points
^C * net.wlan3: caught SIGINT, aborting


instead of:

Code:
laptop ~ # /etc/init.d/net.wlan3 start
 * Caching service dependencies ...                                                                                                                                                                                                    [ ok ]
 * Bringing up interface wlan3
 *   172.25.42.1/24 ...                                                                                                                                                                                                                [ ok ]
laptop ~ #


The fix was to change a line in /etc/conf.net/net

Change line "modules_wlan3="!iwconfig !wpa_supplicant" to modules_wlan3="!iwconfig !wpa_supplicant !iw"

Summery is adding !iw to the modules line fixed it.

Hopes this info helps someone out that is following the guides and wiki and is having problems due to missing !iw.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5801

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

interesting... i don't need that for my setup.

Code:

modules_wlan0="!iwconfig !wpa_supplicant"
config_wlan0="192.168.2.1 broadcast 192.168.2.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
channel_wlan0="11"
essid_wlan0="my_ssid"
mode_wlan0="master"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1717

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@TechwoIf
Do you start wlan3 as a service of its own?
You really shouldn't. Hostapd brings it up for you and attaches it to a bridge if you demand it.

So, instead of bringing it up with hostap and then overriding settings with net.wlan3, remove net.wlan3 completely, create net.lan instead, give it an IP address and have hostap attach your wifi to that bridge.

@bunder, you don't use hostap at all there, do you? Running a public hotspot? ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5801

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

szatox wrote:
@bunder, you don't use hostap at all there, do you? Running a public hotspot? ;)


yes, that interface runs hostapd, on its own network segment, unbridged from any other wired segments.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1717

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
modules_wlan0="!iwconfig !wpa_supplicant"
config_wlan0="192.168.2.1 broadcast 192.168.2.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
channel_wlan0="11"
essid_wlan0="my_ssid"
mode_wlan0="master"
Isn't this bit from /etc/conf.d/net?
I'm surprised you don't have any conflicts there. Setting options for wireless with 2 different tools looks like "something is about to go wrong"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum