Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde plasma 5 with systemd, "shutdown" only logs me out
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:20 am    Post subject: kde plasma 5 with systemd, "shutdown" only logs me Reply with quote

It started in an update a couple of months ago. It is a bit annoying and remind me of the good old days when you had to allow users to shutdown the machine in kdm's configuration.
Basically all the users on the system can see the shutdown button, no problem but when you click it, you are just logged out and back to the login screen (provided by sddm). From there one can shutdown normally.
But it is strange to have lost the ability of shutting down as a user all of a sudden. It hasn't happened to my system similarly set up at work strangely enough.

Any one got a clue on that one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 69
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have installed kde-plasma/sddm-kcm you can set the commands for shutdown and reboot in the systemsettings.

I have
Code:
/usr/bin/systemctl poweroff
and
Code:
/usr/bin/systemctl reboot
there.

CHL
_________________
The difficulty in designing something completely foolproof, is not to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1353
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe your sddm is run by user who doesn't have priviliges to shutdown the system?
I remember having this problem...
_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...


Last edited by Zucca on Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zucca wrote:
Maybe your sddm is run by user who doesn't have privilies to shutdown the system?
I remember having this problem...


That's possible. It is not my main system (it is actually squatted by my kids) so there is a delay in me testing things. But I noticed that in sddm-kcm I cannot make changes either. I am not offered a kdesu prompt to record my changes, which are then discarded. So a permission problem is certainly present.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum