Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Latest xterm update does paste tabs as spaces
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nickk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jun 2009
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 12:24 am    Post subject: Latest xterm update does paste tabs as spaces Reply with quote

After latest update of xterm (337) it started to convert tabs to spaces on paste. It copies tabs to clipboard normally, but it's converted to spaces when pasted back. I extracted from backup earlier version on xterm (327) and it works ok with the same configs (only binary replaced). Is there any way to fix tab paste issue with 337 xterm?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1656
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apparently it's a known bug: https://invisible-island.net/xterm/xterm.faq.html#known_bugs

Thomas E. Dickey wrote:
cut/paste does not select tabs; instead spaces are selected. This is because the selection works from the array of displayed characters, on which tab/space conversion has already been performed.


https://invisible-island.net/xterm/xterm.faq.html#future_work

Thomas E. Dickey wrote:
correct cut&paste of TAB character

_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jun 2009
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strange. That faq seems to be quite old, but xterm #327 from 2016/10/07 works fine with tabs, while the #337 from 2018/09/21 is broken again... BTW, #337 selects tab correctly - i can paste selected text containing tabs from xterm elsewhere with tabs preserved, but cant paste tabs back to xterm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13875

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to be sure we are all discussing the same thing, which of the following did you do?
  • Run a program that prints a tab to screen, such as printf '\t-\n', then mouse-select the resulting output and:
    • paste it into another xterm
    • paste it into a graphical text editor, such as GVim or XEmacs
  • Copy to the clipboard a tab, from a graphical text editor that definitely started with a tab and: (same subpoints as above)
In whichever case you did, the result of the paste was spaces when you copied from new xterm and a tab when you copied from old xterm, correct? Or are you reporting that pasting into xterm changed, despite that the sender is reliably copying real tabs?

How did you verify the change? Did you paste into a program that unambiguously identifies its input, such as xxd for the CLI?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum