Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
no mouse in KDE System Settings -> Input Devices
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bamuin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Dec 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:23 pm    Post subject: no mouse in KDE System Settings -> Input Devices Reply with quote

Hello,

I haven't the option to change mouse in KDE System Settings -> Input Devices.

it should look like: https://userbase.kde.org/File:Enable_Ctrl_%2B_Alt_%2B_Backspace_to_kill_X-Server.png

but my is: https://imgur.com/a/DBUaQ

I'm think I miss a package but I don't know which.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 5569
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What version of Plasma do you have, and which USE flags are set on plasma-desktop?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bamuin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Dec 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
USE="-bindist -gnome kde qt5 -qt4 -qt3support xvmc nvidia dbus alsa pulseaudio libressl -openssl"

The libressl/-openssl part and '-qt4 -qt3support' were added a few days before and the mouse options were vanished before I've added that too. But since adding this I have also the layman repo https://github.com/gentoo/libressl.git with a priority of 51 in use.


As profile
Code:
default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/plasma

but it was vanished on the 13.0 profile too.


equery l "*plasma*" "*kde*"
    * Searching for *plasma* ...
    [IP-] [ ] kde-frameworks/plasma-5.37.0:5/5.37
    [IP-] [ ] kde-misc/plasma-applet-network-monitor-1.7.3:5
    [IP-] [ ] kde-plasma/kdeplasma-addons-5.10.5:5
    [IP-] [ ] kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.10.5:5
    [IP-] [ ] kde-plasma/plasma-integration-5.10.5:5
    [IP-] [ ] kde-plasma/plasma-nm-5.10.5:5
    [IP-] [ ] kde-plasma/plasma-pa-5.10.5:5
    [IP-] [ ] kde-plasma/plasma-workspace-5.10.5-r1:5

    * Searching for *kde* ...
    [IP-] [ ] kde-apps/kdebugsettings-17.08.3:5
    [IP-] [ ] kde-apps/kdenetwork-filesharing-17.08.3:5
    [IP-] [ ] kde-apps/kdeutils-meta-17.08.3-r1:5
    [IP-] [ ] kde-apps/libkdegames-17.08.3:5
    [IP-] [ ] kde-apps/phonon-kde-16.04.3:4/16.04
    [IP-] [ ] kde-frameworks/kdeclarative-5.37.0:5/5.37
    [IP-] [ ] kde-frameworks/kded-5.37.0:5/5.37
    [IP-] [ ] kde-frameworks/kdelibs-4.14.37:4/4.14
    [IP-] [ ] kde-frameworks/kdelibs-env-4.14.3:4/4.14
    [IP-] [ ] kde-frameworks/kdelibs4support-5.37.0:5/5.37
    [IP-] [ ] kde-frameworks/kdesignerplugin-5.37.0:5/5.37
    [IP-] [ ] kde-frameworks/kdesu-5.37.0:5/5.37
    [IP-] [ ] kde-plasma/kde-cli-tools-5.10.5:5
    [IP-] [ ] kde-plasma/kde-gtk-config-5.10.5:5
    [IP-] [ ] kde-plasma/kdecoration-5.10.5:5
    [IP-] [ ] kde-plasma/kdeplasma-addons-5.10.5:5
    [IP-] [ ] kde-plasma/polkit-kde-agent-5.10.5:5
    [IP-] [ ] kde-plasma/qguiplatformplugin_kde-4.11.22:4/4.11


edit:
Additional USE flags:
    kde-frameworks/kfilemetadata ffmpeg office
    kde-plasma/ksysguard lm_sensors
    kde-plasma/plasma-desktop legacy-systray gtk2 gtk3 qt4
    dev-libs/libdbusmenu-qt qt4
    dev-libs/libdbusmenu gtk3
    app-crypt/qca qt4
    media-libs/phonon-vlc qt4
    media-libs/phonon qt4
    sys-auth/polkit-qt qt4
    dev-qt/qtsql mysql
    dev-python/pyxdg PYTHON_TARGETS: -python2_7
    media-sound/sox id3tag
    kde-apps/dolphin thumbnail
    kde-apps/dolphin-plugins git mercurial
    kde-apps/kolourpaint scanner
    kde-apps/ark lzma yip
    dev-libs/protobuf PYTHON_TARGETS: -python2_7
    app-arch/p7zip -kde rar -wxwidgets
    gnustep-base/gnustep-base -gnutls
    media-libs/gst-plugins-base ivorbis theora
    kde-apps/artikulate qtmedia -gstreamer
    kde-plasma/powerdevil -wireless

and a few with abi_x86_32
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 5569
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That doesn't answer my question:
asturm wrote:
which USE flags are set on plasma-desktop?

Code:
emerge -vp plasma-desktop

_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bamuin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Dec 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.10.5:5::gentoo  USE="fontconfig gtk2 gtk3 handbook legacy-systray pulseaudio qt4 semantic-desktop -appstream -debug -ibus -scim {-test}" INPUT_DEVICES="-evdev -synaptics"


Now I see the INPUT_DEVICES section above I had looked at gentoo wiki and added the 'missing' evdev into make.conf. This added the mouse option into the System Settings.

Thank you very much asturm :) .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 5569
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure. This is btw going to change again in Plasma 5.11:

INPUT_DEVICES=evdev -> USE=mouse
INPUT_DEVICES=synaptics -> USE=touchpad

So it becomes independent from the driver setup.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum