Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Why does default route reappear in main after some time?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nasaiya
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 May 2007
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:35 pm    Post subject: Why does default route reappear in main after some time? Reply with quote

Hello,

Hopefully this is an easy one... I've got a weird routing setup with vpns and multiple routing tables.
For this setup to work I need to have NO default route in table main, I remove it (using iproute tools) but after a while it reappears!

I tried switching the main IF from dhcp to static thinking dhcp was re-adding it, but that wasn't it.

Where else could this route be coming from?

Thanks for any help!
_________________
If it ain't broke - fix it till it is!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
P.Kosunen
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Why does default route reappear in main after some time? Reply with quote

nasaiya wrote:
I tried switching the main IF from dhcp to static thinking dhcp was re-adding it, but that wasn't it.

Any DHCP enabled interface will set it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nasaiya
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 May 2007
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks your answer led me to discover that I forgot to add the interface to the default runlevel (though something was apparently causing it to start anyway) and that same something was apparently starting dhcpcd. I'm assuming dhcpcd was the culprit... Hopefully it's fixed now.

I don't know how I missed that :oops:

Thanks a lot!
_________________
If it ain't broke - fix it till it is!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6715
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can always tell dhcpcd not to install the default route by stripping the router option from any messages.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum