Gentoo bridged VLAN
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Vieri
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:39 pm    Post subject: Gentoo bridged VLAN Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm new to setting up VLANs.

Is it possible to have 2 VLANs with the IP addresses overlapping in the same range?
eg. VLAN1: 192.168.0.1/24, VLAN2: 192.168.0.10,192.168.0.20
Obviously, no host in VLAN1 will have the same IP addresses as those in VLAN2.

Can this be done with a bridged VLAN?

Code:
bridge_forward_delay_br0=0
bridge_hello_time_br0=200
bridge_stp_state_br0=1
bridge_br0="eth0 eth1"
config_eth0="null"
config_eth1="null"
config_br0="192.168.0.1/24"
rc_need_br0="net.eth0 net.eth1"
vlans_br0="1 2"
routes_br0_2="
192.168.0.10 gw 192.168.0.1
192.168.0.20 gw 192.168.0.1
"

Thanks,

Vieri
szatox
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Close enough.
Yes, you can have 2 vlans on the same interface (even on the same bridge), and they can share a single IP pool, and there are even valid use cases for this, though things can get tricky if you go this way. Error-prone. Hard to debug. So, well, it's not inherently wrong, but you better think twice.
Really, rethink your goals, grab a sheet of paper and a pencil, and draw a map representing the network you want. Trust me on this, it helps with designing funny things.
Also, if you decide to share your goals, we will be more likely to come up with something actually helpful.

Now, your config:
Forward delay=0 together with stp=1 makes me a bit uneasy.
How many switches you have there? Are you likely to encounter accidental loops?
I mean, if you are afraid of loops, you probably should set some delay. Probably 2, as it seems to be the minimum (2 seconds). If you're not afraid of loops, why would you need STP?