Security Boot Fail (complete beginner)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Tinifee
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:17 pm    Post subject: Security Boot Fail (complete beginner) Reply with quote

Hello everyone,

I should preface this by saying that I am a complete beginner in all things Linux, and running more on enthusiasm than understanding.

I'm trying to install gentoo on a new Notebook, which has endless OS pre-installed. I (think) I made my USB-stick bootable and put the Hybrid ISO (live DVD) on it. I started the notebook, went into the BIOS, changed the boot-priority to USB, and booted again.

This gets me a Security Boot Fail, though. So, I'm failing at the very first step, essentially.

Is there maybe someone on this forum who might have the patience to help me figure out where I'm going wrong/how to do it right?

I tried to find the answer on my own first, but a lot of what I find does not make a whole lot of sense to me (-> beginner). I am very eager to learn, though.
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo!

Check out http://www.rodsbooks.com/refind/secureboot.html

There may be an option to disable Secure Boot in your UEFI setup.
Hu

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The error message phrasing is a bit odd. Perhaps this was poorly translated by your firmware vendor.