Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
NetworkManager-1.8.4 DNS problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Soul Reaver
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Feb 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:38 pm    Post subject: NetworkManager-1.8.4 DNS problems Reply with quote

Hey,

so a few days ago NetworkManager-1.8.4 got stabilized and ever since then DNS does not work properly on my system anymore. Right after booting
and logging in I get 'Wired connection 1' with this:

/etc/resolv.conf

Code:
# Generated by resolvconf
search kabsi.at
nameserver 127.0.0.1


/var/dhcp/dhclient.conf

Code:
lease {
  interface "enp30s0";
  fixed-address 192.168.0.4;
  option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
  option dhcp-lease-time 4294967295;
  option routers 192.168.0.1;
  option dhcp-message-type 5;
  option dhcp-server-identifier 192.168.0.1;
  option domain-name-servers 195.202.138.3,195.202.128.3,62.40.128.2;
  option domain-name "kabsi.at";
  renew never;
  rebind never;
  expire never;
}
lease {
  interface "enp30s0";
  fixed-address 192.168.0.4;
  option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
  option routers 192.168.0.1;
  option dhcp-lease-time 4294967295;
  option dhcp-message-type 5;
  option domain-name-servers 195.202.138.3,195.202.128.3,62.40.128.2;
  option dhcp-server-identifier 192.168.0.1;
  option domain-name "kabsi.at";
  renew 2 2085/12/04 14:58:20;
  rebind 2 2136/12/18 23:23:49;
  expire 0 2153/12/23 18:12:27;
}


However, if I manually restart the NetworkManager service via systemctl a new connection 'enp30s0' appears and /etc/resolv.conf gets updates properly:

Code:
# Generated by resolvconf
search kabsi.at
nameserver 195.202.138.3
nameserver 195.202.128.3
nameserver 62.40.128.2


Why does NetworkManager not write the DNS information when it's started for the first time even though dhclient clearly returns the correct IPs?

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1493

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Code:
nameserver 127.0.0.1
So... Do you use dnsmasq or something similar?
Looks like you had a local caching DNS service fighting against NM for control. If you do, you should see nameserver directive pointing to localhost. and the seed DNS should be defined in cacching DNS config file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Soul Reaver
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Feb 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I don't. Interestingly, on my other system which uses NetworkManager and systemd everything works correctly after the update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6691
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The "generated by" comment line is a clue.
Have you tried reading the fine man page for resolvconf?
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Soul Reaver
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Feb 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I disabled the "resolvconf" usage flag for NetworkManager to see if it changes anything. Surprisingly, it works now (openresolv wasn't used by any other package). On the other (working) system that use flag is enabled as well, so it's still a mystery for me what exactly caused the problem here. It doesn't seem like resolvconf was used by anything beside NetworkManager.

Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6691
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

resolvconf is used by quite a few things.

Anyway, it's job it so setup DNS resolution from many inputs, if you just use NetworkManager then you probably don't need it.
However, if it's not working a good starting point would be to read resolvconf(8).
This would lead you to look at the inputs by doing
Code:
resolvconf -l

If 127.0.0.1 is not listed there then it must have been configured by you in /etc/resolvconf.conf (which also has man page).
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum