Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
X fails to find Intel video hardware no screens found
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bpaddock
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 195
Location: Franklin, PA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 5:28 pm    Post subject: X fails to find Intel video hardware no screens found Reply with quote

I did a emerge -uDN world that updated X as well as the Kernel (now using 4.13.11) now X won't start.
Something to do with the Intel graphics on the mother board.
lspci -v is below this X error log.

Can someone point me in a direction here please?
Lots of googling and such have not gotten me anyplace.

Code:

[    92.979] (II) Loader magic: 0x80dc20
[    92.979] (II) Module ABI versions:
[    92.979]    X.Org ANSI C Emulation: 0.4
[    92.979]    X.Org Video Driver: 19.0
[    92.979]    X.Org XInput driver : 21.0
[    92.979]    X.Org Server Extension : 9.0
[    92.979] (II) xfree86: Adding drm device (/dev/dri/card0)
[    92.984] (--) PCI: (0:0:2:0) 8086:0152:1043:84ca rev 9, Mem @ 0xf7800000/4194304, 0xd0000000/268435456, I/O @ 0x0000f000/64
[    92.984] (--) PCI:*(0:1:0:0) 1002:692b:1002:030c rev 0, Mem @ 0xe0000000/268435456, 0xf0000000/2097152, 0xf7d00000/262144, I/O @ 0x0000e000/256, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072
[    92.984] (II) LoadModule: "glx"
[    92.985] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/libglx.so
[    92.996] (II) Module glx: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[    92.996]    compiled for 1.17.4, module version = 1.0.0
[    92.996]    ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 9.0
[    92.996] (==) AIGLX enabled
[    92.996] (II) LoadModule: "intel"
[    92.997] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/intel_drv.so
[    92.999] (II) Module intel: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[    92.999]    compiled for 1.17.4, module version = 2.99.917
[    92.999]    Module class: X.Org Video Driver
[    92.999]    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 19.0
[    92.999] (II) intel: Driver for Intel(R) Integrated Graphics Chipsets:
   i810, i810-dc100, i810e, i815, i830M, 845G, 854, 852GM/855GM, 865G,
   915G, E7221 (i915), 915GM, 945G, 945GM, 945GME, Pineview GM,
   Pineview G, 965G, G35, 965Q, 946GZ, 965GM, 965GME/GLE, G33, Q35, Q33,
   GM45, 4 Series, G45/G43, Q45/Q43, G41, B43
[    93.000] (II) intel: Driver for Intel(R) HD Graphics
[    93.000] (II) intel: Driver for Intel(R) Iris(TM) Graphics
[    93.000] (II) intel: Driver for Intel(R) Iris(TM) Pro Graphics
[    93.000] (--) using VT number 7

[    93.006] (EE) No devices detected.
[    93.006] (EE)
Fatal server error:
[    93.006] (EE) no screens found(EE)


Code:

lspci -v

00:02.0 Display controller: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
   Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. P8H77-I Motherboard
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 11
   Memory at f7800000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4M]
   Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
   I/O ports at f000 [size=64]
   Capabilities: [90] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit-
   Capabilities: [d0] Power Management version 2
   Capabilities: [a4] PCI Advanced Features

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Tonga PRO GL [FirePro W7100] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
   Subsystem: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Tonga PRO GL [FirePro W7100]
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 24
   Memory at e0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
   Memory at f0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=2M]
   I/O ports at e000 [size=256]
   Memory at f7d00000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256K]
   Expansion ROM at 000c0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
   Capabilities: [48] Vendor Specific Information: Len=08 <?>
   Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
   Capabilities: [58] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
   Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
   Capabilities: [100] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=010 <?>
   Capabilities: [150] Advanced Error Reporting
   Capabilities: [200] #15
   Capabilities: [270] #19
   Capabilities: [2b0] Address Translation Service (ATS)
   Capabilities: [2c0] Page Request Interface (PRI)
   Capabilities: [2d0] Process Address Space ID (PASID)
   Capabilities: [328] Alternative Routing-ID Interpretation (ARI)
   Kernel driver in use: amdgpu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7130
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can only give suggestions here, seems like a lot of mostly unrelated issues, so need to step through them individually.

Usually the "no screens found" when the modesetting driver is available for intel gpu is caused by not having the kernel modesetting driver in the kernel.

However I suspect you had both intel and amdgpu working before? Now I can't exactly explain why your amdgpu module for X11 is gone now but you do have the amdgpu kernel driver compiled properly, but the userland portion of the driver is now missing...

Do you have amdgpu in VIDEO_CARDS set in make.conf?

What was your setup?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bpaddock
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 195
Location: Franklin, PA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
Can only give suggestions here, seems like a lot of mostly unrelated issues, so need to step through them individually.

Usually the "no screens found" when the modesetting driver is available for intel gpu is caused by not having the kernel modesetting driver in the kernel.

However I suspect you had both intel and amdgpu working before? Now I can't exactly explain why your amdgpu module for X11 is gone now but you do have the amdgpu kernel driver compiled properly, but the userland portion of the driver is now missing...

Do you have amdgpu in VIDEO_CARDS set in make.conf?

What was your setup?


Yes, this was working before I upgraded X. In attempts to fix I've probably broken other things. :-(

VIDEO_CARDS="amdgpu intel i915"

Not sure if 'intel i915' is redundant or not?

amdgpu would load if the intel driver was not crashing first.
Both i915 and amdgpu are compiled in the 4.13.11 kernel.
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM=y is set which I understand is required for the intel driver.

If get the intel driver running then amdgpu will probably come up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7130
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It should ignore the fact it's missing and check for the next driver... Strange. Then the theory is if you remove the intel driver completely, amdgpu should come up?

I have yet to try this, I'm curious if the intel chipset graphics actually works when my AMD R600 is primary, I thought my m/b disabled chipset graphics... hmm. Might just have a crappy m/b.

Anyway you're using a CPU graphics processor and those are all i965 - you should be using the modesetting driver, not the usual intel driver. To use this, specify i965 instead of i915.

You need "KMS" not "KVM" - KVM is something different. CONFIG_DRM_I915 (so much for consistency) is what you need.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bpaddock
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 195
Location: Franklin, PA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
It should ignore the fact it's missing and check for the next driver... Strange. Then the theory is if you remove the intel driver completely, amdgpu should come up?

I have yet to try this, I'm curious if the intel chipset graphics actually works when my AMD R600 is primary, I thought my m/b disabled chipset graphics... hmm. Might just have a crappy m/b.

Anyway you're using a CPU graphics processor and those are all i965 - you should be using the modesetting driver, not the usual intel driver. To use this, specify i965 instead of i915.

You need "KMS" not "KVM" - KVM is something different. CONFIG_DRM_I915 (so much for consistency) is what you need.


Yes, dyslexic typo on KMS vs KVM.

I did get X to come up by removing this:

Section "Device"
Identifier "Intel Graphics"
Driver "intel"
Option "AccelMethod" "sna"
Option "TearFree" "true"
Option "DRI" "3"
EndSection

from /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d

This is why I thought I needed the Intel driver, as well as it being called intel_drv.so .
Is there a i915/965 .so? Not come across such a thing so far.

Now the problem is the bottom of the XFCE4 status bar is cut off at bottom and the contrast is blinding bright white, on the AMDGPU. :-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7130
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh I see, you hardcoded the need for each driver in xorg.conf, so you're right, in this case you would need both working.

When using VIDEO_CARDS="intel i965" you won't get a intel_drv module and won't see a 965 at all, instead you'd be using the modesetting driver, Driver "modesetting". Only when you do "intel i915" you'd get the intel_drv module.

But this was all working before which is curious...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43184
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bpaddock,

Put your latest kernel .config onto a postebin and post your lspci output too please.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bpaddock
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 195
Location: Franklin, PA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:


Put your latest kernel .config onto a postebin and post your lspci output too please.


lspci -v:

https://pastebin.com/XJzmYRLs

.config:

https://pastebin.com/ZxMdnfZF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bpaddock
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 195
Location: Franklin, PA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
Oh I see, you hardcoded the need for each driver in xorg.conf.



No, that is the way X installed itself, not something I created.

Off to change VIDEO_CARDS to 965...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bpaddock
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 195
Location: Franklin, PA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2017 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
Oh I see, you hardcoded the need for each driver in xorg.conf, so you're right, in this case you would need both working.

When using VIDEO_CARDS="intel i965" you won't get a intel_drv module and won't see a 965 at all, instead you'd be using the modesetting driver, Driver "modesetting". Only when you do "intel i915" you'd get the intel_drv module.

But this was all working before which is curious...


I made that change and rebuilt. It put back /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-intel .
Nothing changed, X still crashes saying 'no device' with that file present.

My .config and X Log are pasted above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7090
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not see your Xorg log, anyhow, if there is no "Adding drm device (/dev/dri/card0)" then your running kernel is not configured properly. You may want to check /proc/config.gz (if you have this option enabled in kernel). Otherwise make sure you are running the kernel you think you are, uname -a.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum