Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cinnamon treats dual monitors like one
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mslt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2017
Posts: 7
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 7:10 pm    Post subject: Cinnamon treats dual monitors like one Reply with quote

Hi there,

I have a bit of a problem with cinnamon and dual monitors. I just did a fresh
install of cinnamon (comming from i3-gaps) just to try it and maybe switch.
But if I connect my 2nd display cinnamon starts to act weird. I am using my Thinkpad T430 (Display res. = 1600x900) in a dock
with a VGA Display (res. = FullHD). It seems to think that both displays are one huge display. The bar is extended over both
displays, Hides the bar on the internal display if not positioned bottom right
to the external display in the settings, but then does not show all icons
witch are in the top left. Although in the displays section
in the settings manager they both appear seperatlly. This never appeared in
i3-gaps so i assume this is a cinnamon issue. I already upgraded to the latest
version of cinnamon (using ~amd64 keyword) but still the same problem. Am i
missing something, or is this maybe a known issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phil_r
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 218
Location: Lincoln, NE, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the exact same issue as this. I have Xinerama compiled in where appropriate. I also use nvidia-drivers.

Lightdm is the window manager. KDE running with Lightdm has my monitor set up (3 monitors) working as you would expect, with any maximized window only maximizing on the monitor it's on. With Cinnamon, all 3 monitors are essentially 1 monitor even though the Display applet shows 3 separate monitors with the middle one marked as primary (as I want it).

Anyone have any ideas or assistance?

Thanks!
_________________
Just when you think you know the answers, I change the questions.

AMD64 Phenom-II 6-core, 440Gb Intel SSD NVMe, 4Tb SATA II, 20576Mb, 1Gb Ethernet, GeForce GTS 950, x64
MacBook, ESX servers, many other toys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phil_r
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 218
Location: Lincoln, NE, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone have any ideas?

phil_r wrote:
I'm having the exact same issue as this. I have Xinerama compiled in where appropriate. I also use nvidia-drivers.

Lightdm is the window manager. KDE running with Lightdm has my monitor set up (3 monitors) working as you would expect, with any maximized window only maximizing on the monitor it's on. With Cinnamon, all 3 monitors are essentially 1 monitor even though the Display applet shows 3 separate monitors with the middle one marked as primary (as I want it).

Anyone have any ideas or assistance?

Thanks!

_________________
Just when you think you know the answers, I change the questions.

AMD64 Phenom-II 6-core, 440Gb Intel SSD NVMe, 4Tb SATA II, 20576Mb, 1Gb Ethernet, GeForce GTS 950, x64
MacBook, ESX servers, many other toys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum