Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE Applications 17.12 allow full qt4/kde4 removal?SOLVED
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3210
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:39 pm    Post subject: KDE Applications 17.12 allow full qt4/kde4 removal?SOLVED Reply with quote

With the upcoming (Dec 14,2017) KDE Applications 17.12 and associated Plasma/Frameworks updates, are we at long last going to be able to remove qt4 and kdelibs-4, etc., and the associated USE flags?

Any info and/or links to such info are greatly appreciated. Guess there may be a few apps still not ported to qt5, but it must at this point be getting down to a very few that still require qt4.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r2, gcc-8.3.0-r1 kernel-5.0.7-gentoo USE=experimental


Last edited by wrc1944 on Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:35 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With KDE Applications 17.12 there are only associated Applications updates. There are no kdelibs-4/qt4 dependencies for Plasma or Frameworks anyway, except for Qt4 integration convenience.

17.12 will not have any kdelibs-4 depending packages. See also https://community.kde.org/Applications/17.12_repo_drop_list_kdelibs4

However, you can have that today:
Code:
$ find kde-apps/ -name "*meta*17.08*ebuild" -exec grep -H IUSE.*qt4 {} \;
kde-apps/kde-apps-meta/kde-apps-meta-17.08.2.ebuild:IUSE="accessibility pim +qt4 sdk"
kde-apps/kdenetwork-meta/kdenetwork-meta-17.08.2.ebuild:IUSE="nls ppp +qt4"
kde-apps/kdeutils-meta/kdeutils-meta-17.08.2.ebuild:IUSE="cups floppy lirc nls +qt4"
kde-apps/kdemultimedia-meta/kdemultimedia-meta-17.08.2.ebuild:IUSE="+cdrom +ffmpeg nls +qt4"
kde-apps/kdeaccessibility-meta/kdeaccessibility-meta-17.08.2.ebuild:IUSE="nls +qt4"
kde-apps/kdegames-meta/kdegames-meta-17.08.2.ebuild:IUSE="nls opengl python +qt4"


That doesn't cover non kde-*/* packages though.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5593

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kdelibs4 will probably go away, qt4 will take forever to get rid of. Too many non-kde things still use it and have no replacement (e.g. mumble).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3210
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm & Ant P.,
Thanks much for the info and link,
Not sure I'm understanding correctly. I guess I was asking at what point can we remove qt3support qt4 from our USE flags, and be done with qt4 and kde4? Why would we still need or want Qt4 integration convenience, much less any qt3support, unless we really wanted to run old applications that needed it?

If I run equery d qtcore-4.8.7 it returns ALL my up-to-date ~arch qt-5.9.2 and current kf5 packages as dependent. 8O

Assuming I didn't have or want any packages requiring such support, what would happen if one just removed both qt3support qt4 global USE flags and ran an emerge -uDN @world on a current ~amd64 qtkde system? Disaster, or basically nothing except no more qt4 kde4 cruft?
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r2, gcc-8.3.0-r1 kernel-5.0.7-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wrc1944 wrote:
If I run equery d qtcore-4.8.7 it returns ALL my up-to-date ~arch qt-5.9.2 and current kf5 packages as dependent. 8O

That's a sure sign that the output is wrong, no?

wrc1944 wrote:
Assuming I didn't have or want any packages requiring such support, what would happen if one just removed both qt3support qt4 global USE flags and ran an emerge -uDN @world on a current ~amd64 qtkde system? Disaster, or basically nothing except no more qt4 kde4 cruft?

Works fine for ~arch kde-*/* packages, but purely depends on the other applications you have installed - but didn't I tell that already?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3210
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I just looked at this, and it doesn't look intimidating at all:
Code:
gentoo-main # USE="-qt3support -qt4" emerge -uDNvp1 @world

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] app-crypt/qca-2.1.3-r1:2::gentoo  USE="qt5 ssl -botan -debug -doc -examples -gcrypt -gpg -libressl -logger -nss -pkcs11 -qt4* -sasl -softstore {-test}" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] app-text/poppler-0.57.0:0/68::gentoo  USE="cairo cxx introspection jpeg jpeg2k lcms png qt5 tiff utils -cjk -curl -debug -doc -nss -qt4*" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] dev-libs/libdbusmenu-qt-0.9.3_pre20160218-r1::gentoo  USE="-debug -qt4* {-test}" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] sys-auth/polkit-qt-0.112.0_p20160416-r1::gentoo  USE="-debug -examples -qt4*" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-sound/pulseaudio-11.1::gentoo  USE="X alsa alsa-plugin asyncns bluetooth caps dbus gdbm glib gnome gtk ipv6 orc ssl tcpd udev webrtc-aec -doc -equalizer -jack -libressl -libsamplerate -lirc -native-headset (-neon) -ofono-headset (-oss) -qt4* -realtime (-selinux) -sox (-system-wide) -systemd {-test} -zeroconf" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-video/vlc-2.2.6-r2:0/5-8::gentoo  USE="X a52 alsa avcodec avformat cdda dbus dts dvbpsi dvd encode ffmpeg flac gcrypt jpeg kde libnotify libsamplerate mp3 mpeg ncurses ogg opengl png pulseaudio qt5 sdl svg swscale truetype udev vorbis x264 xcb xml xv -aalib (-altivec) -atmo (-audioqueue) -bidi -bluray -cddb -chromaprint -dc1394 -debug -directfb (-directx) -dvb (-dxva2) -faad -fdk -fluidsynth -fontconfig -gme -gnome -gnutls -growl -gstreamer -httpd -ieee1394 -jack -kate -libass -libav -libcaca -libtar -libtiger -linsys -lirc -live -lua (-macosx-dialog-provider) (-macosx-eyetv) (-macosx-qtkit) (-macosx-quartztext) -matroska -modplug -mtp -musepack (-neon) -omxil -opencv -optimisememory -opus -postproc -projectm -qt4* -rdp -rtsp -run-as-root -samba -schroedinger -sdl-image -sftp -shout -sid -skins -speex -taglib {-test} -theora -tremor -twolame -upnp -v4l -vaapi -vcdx -vdpau -vlm -vnc -vpx -wma-fixed -x265 -zeroconf -zvbi" CPU_FLAGS_X86="mmx sse" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-libs/phonon-4.9.1-r1::gentoo  USE="designer pulseaudio qt5 vlc -debug -gstreamer -qt4* (-aqua%)" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-libs/phonon-vlc-0.9.1-r1::gentoo  USE="qt5 -debug -qt4*" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] kde-apps/kdeutils-meta-17.08.2:5::gentoo  USE="cups nls -floppy -lirc -qt4*" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] kde-plasma/breeze-5.11.2:5::gentoo  USE="X -debug -qt4* -wayland" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] kde-plasma/oxygen-5.11.2:5::gentoo  USE="-debug -qt4* -wayland" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.11.2:5::gentoo  USE="fontconfig handbook mouse pulseaudio semantic-desktop -appstream -debug -gtk2 -gtk3 -ibus -legacy-systray -qt4* -scim {-test} -touchpad" 0 KiB

Total: 12 packages (12 reinstalls), Size of downloads: 0 KiB

 * IMPORTANT: 6 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news read to view new items.

gentoo-main #

If there were any potential serious consequences, wouldn't emerge issue warnings and refuse to go on if anything I have installed still required qt3support and qt4?
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r2, gcc-8.3.0-r1 kernel-5.0.7-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It means you haven't installed stuff that was determined to hard-depend on qt3support/qt4. Rather, you haven't installed that much at all, which makes this easy.

However, please read your news items.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3210
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks asturm.

I do have all of kf5 stuff and pulled in qt5, except no kde games or kmail stuff, so it's basically a full-fledged kde system.

Guess I'll go ahead and try removing qt3support and qt4, do the emerge -DN1 @world, then do my regular depclean -pv and see what shows up.

UPDATE: All 12 packages on the -DN1 @world emerged fine (as expected), then I depcleaned all the qt4 and kde4 stuff which was now consigned to the "cruft" category.
At first, emerge @preserved-rebuild wanted to reinstall a few core kde4 and qt4 and related packages, but after a careful depclean it gave up, and revdep-rebuild says system is all consistent. A reboot and several hours running a pure kf5 system seems to confirm it. :) ( at least for an ~amd64 kde system with everything but the games and kmail related friends)

No problems. Guess as asturm says, it depends on what you have installed. In my case it was a breeze.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r2, gcc-8.3.0-r1 kernel-5.0.7-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3210
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWIW, on another gentoo ~amd64 full kde box (1279 installed packages) I ran into some complex problems with something insisting on pulling in many qt4 and kde4 packages. Couldn't run depclean and had to spend time sorting out various reasons that could be so stubborn. Finally realized it was libreoffice pulling in qt4/kde4 and had to remove it. Then I could finally run a full emerge -DN @world and complete a depclean which removed 63 packages (included some old long forgotten stuff (mostly deps) that had accumulated on this 2-3 year old install). Revdep-rebuild then reported system consistent.

When I tried to re-emerge libreoffice, it wanted to pull in a massive qt4/kde4 and lots of other packages (64 in all). Even libreoffice-bin wanted qt4 flags on several packages. Apparently, libreoffice isn't qt5 friendly yet, so I'm looking at Calligra for a temporary replacement. I'm concluding that most likely unless you run a pretty lean system, removing all qt4 and kde4 items will present a few problems.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r2, gcc-8.3.0-r1 kernel-5.0.7-gentoo USE=experimental


Last edited by wrc1944 on Wed Nov 08, 2017 11:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 997
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
When I tried to re-emerge libreoffice, it wanted to pull in a massive qt4/kf5 and lots of other packages (64 in all)

That happens only if you emerge Libreoffice with USE flag 'kde'. Try the command below:
Code:
USE="gtk -gtk3 -gnome -kde" emerge -pv libreoffice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3210
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155,
Thanks much for the tip! :D
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r2, gcc-8.3.0-r1 kernel-5.0.7-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tom_
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 384
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FYI i removed qt4 and kde4 apps from my desktop a few weeks ago :
- https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-8132302.html#8132302
- https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-8133812.html#8133812

To sum up :
- i added -qt4 in /etc/portage/make.conf
- i upgraded a few apps to ~arch to use qt5 instead of qt4 : hplip
- i disabled kde useflag for libreoffice-bin
- i manually uninstalled some ebuilds like kde-apps/kdebase-data or kde-apps/kdebase-kioslaves
=> i guess these packages were added to my world file after re-emerging them without the --oneshot option in the past
- I masked qt4 ebuilds
- i installed a qt-5 version of clementine (see bugs.gentoo.org) and removed one ebuild (unetbootin).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 772

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have qt4 for a long time, afir for mote than 2 years.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21352
Location: here

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the moment I need qt4 for qgis, with version 3 I can switch to full qt5
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 753

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I try USE="-qt3support -qt4" emerge world -uDNpv I get some blockers.

Code:
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies                     ... done!
[ebuild   R    ] dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.7-r3:4::gentoo  USE="exceptions glib iconv icu ssl (-aqua) -debug (-libressl) -pch -qt3support*" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] dev-qt/qtsql-4.8.7-r1:4::gentoo  USE="exceptions sqlite (-aqua) -debug -freetds -mysql -oci8 -odbc -pch -postgres -qt3support*" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] dev-qt/qtlockedfile-2.4.1_p20150629::gentoo  USE="qt5 -doc -qt4*" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R   #] app-text/poppler-0.57.0:0/68::gentoo  USE="cairo cxx introspection jpeg jpeg2k lcms png qt5 tiff utils -cjk -curl -debug -doc -nss -qt4*" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] net-libs/telepathy-qt-0.9.7::gentoo  USE="qt5 -debug -farstream -qt4* {-test}" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] dev-qt/qtsingleapplication-2.6.1_p20150629::gentoo  USE="X qt5 -doc -qt4*" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-libs/qt-gstreamer-1.2.0-r2::gentoo  USE="qt5 -qt4* {-test}" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] dev-libs/qtkeychain-0.7.0:0/1::gentoo  USE="qt5 -qt4*" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.7:4::gentoo  USE="accessibility cups exceptions glib gtkstyle mng tiff xinerama xv (-aqua) -debug -egl -nas -nis -pch -qt3support* -trace" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] net-dns/avahi-0.7::gentoo  USE="dbus gdbm gtk gtk3 introspection ipv6 nls -autoipd -bookmarks -doc -howl-compat -mdnsresponder-compat -mono -python -qt4* (-selinux) {-test}" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] dev-qt/qtopengl-4.8.7:4::gentoo  USE="exceptions (-aqua) -debug -egl -pch -qt3support*" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] dev-qt/qtdeclarative-4.8.7:4::gentoo  USE="accessibility exceptions (-aqua) -debug -pch -qt3support* (-webkit)" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] app-backup/backintime-1.1.12::gentoo  USE="-qt4*" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python3_4 -python3_5" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_4 -python3_5" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-sound/pulseaudio-10.0::gentoo  USE="X alsa alsa-plugin asyncns bluetooth caps dbus gdbm glib gnome gtk ipv6 orc realtime ssl tcpd udev webrtc-aec -doc -equalizer -jack (-libressl) -libsamplerate -lirc -native-headset (-neon) -ofono-headset (-oss) -qt4* (-selinux) -sox (-system-wide) (-systemd) {-test} -zeroconf" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] x11-misc/lightdm-1.18.3::gentoo  USE="gnome introspection qt5 -audit -qt4*" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] dev-qt/designer-4.8.7:4::gentoo  USE="declarative exceptions phonon (-aqua) -debug -pch -qt3support* (-webkit)" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] kde-plasma/breeze-5.10.5:5::gentoo  USE="-debug -qt4* -wayland" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] kde-plasma/oxygen-5.10.5:5::gentoo  USE="-debug -qt4* -wayland" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-video/vlc-2.2.6:0/5-8::gentoo  USE="X a52 alsa avcodec avformat cdda dbus dts dvbpsi dvd encode ffmpeg flac gcrypt gnome gnutls jpeg kde libnotify libsamplerate mp3 mpeg mtp ncurses ogg opengl png pulseaudio qt5 sdl svg swscale theora truetype udev upnp vaapi vdpau vorbis vpx x264 xcb xml xv -aalib (-altivec) -atmo (-audioqueue) -bidi -bluray -cddb -chromaprint -dc1394 -debug -directfb (-directx) -dvb (-dxva2) -faad -fdk -fluidsynth -fontconfig -gme -growl -gstreamer -httpd -ieee1394 -jack -kate -libass -libav -libcaca -libtar -libtiger -linsys -lirc -live -lua (-macosx-dialog-provider) (-macosx-eyetv) (-macosx-qtkit) (-macosx-quartztext) -matroska -modplug -musepack (-neon) -omxil -opencv -optimisememory -opus -postproc -projectm -qt4* -rdp -rtsp -run-as-root -samba -schroedinger -sdl-image -sftp -shout -sid -skins -speex -taglib {-test} -tremor -twolame -v4l -vcdx -vlm -vnc -wma-fixed -x265 -zeroconf -zvbi" CPU_FLAGS_X86="mmx sse" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.10.5:5::gentoo  USE="fontconfig handbook pulseaudio semantic-desktop -appstream -debug -gtk2 -gtk3 -ibus -legacy-systray -qt4* -scim {-test}" INPUT_DEVICES="evdev -synaptics" 0 KiB

Total: 20 packages (20 reinstalls), Size of downloads: 0 KiB

!!! Multiple package instances within a single package slot have been pulled
!!! into the dependency graph, resulting in a slot conflict:

dev-qt/qtcore:4

  (dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.7-r3:4/4::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
    ~dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.7[aqua=,debug=,qt3support=,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,
abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,
abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (dev-qt/qtsql-4.8.7-r1:4/4::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
                                      ^^^^^^^^^^^
    ~dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.7[aqua=,debug=,glib=,qt3support=,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,
abi_x86_x32(-)?,abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,
abi_ppc_64(-)?,abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.7:4/4::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
                                            ^^^^^^^^^^^
    ~dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.7[aqua=,debug=,qt3support=,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,
abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,
abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (dev-qt/qtopengl-4.8.7:4/4::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
                                      ^^^^^^^^^^^
    ~dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.7[aqua=,debug=,qt3support=,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,
abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,
abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (dev-qt/qtdeclarative-4.8.7:4/4::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
                                      ^^^^^^^^^^^

  (dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.7-r3:4/4::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
    >=dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.5:4[qt3support,ssl] required by (kde-apps/juk-17.04.3:4/17.04::gentoo, installed)
                            ^^^^^^^^^^
    >=dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.5:4[qt3support,ssl] required by (app-portage/kuroo4-0.90.5:4/4::gentoo, installed)
                            ^^^^^^^^^^
    ~dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.7[aqua=,debug=,qt3support,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,
abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,
abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (dev-qt/qt3support-4.8.7:4/4::gentoo, installed)
                                      ^^^^^^^^^^
    ~dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.7[aqua=,debug=,qt3support=,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,
abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,
abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (dev-qt/qtsql-4.8.7-r1:4/4::gentoo, installed)
                                      ^^^^^^^^^^^
    >=dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.5:4[qt3support?] required by (kde-frameworks/kdelibs-4.14.37:4/4.14::gentoo, installed)
                            ^^^^^^^^^^^
    ~dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.7[aqua=,debug=,glib=,qt3support=,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,
abi_x86_x32(-)?,abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,
abi_ppc_64(-)?,abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.7:4/4::gentoo, installed)
                                            ^^^^^^^^^^^

dev-qt/qtgui:4

  (dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.7:4/4::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
    ~dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.7[aqua=,debug=,egl=,qt3support=,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,
abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,
abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (dev-qt/qtopengl-4.8.7:4/4::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
                                          ^^^^^^^^^^^
    ~dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.7[accessibility=,aqua=,debug=,qt3support=,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,
abi_x86_x32(-)?,abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,
abi_ppc_64(-)?,abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (dev-qt/qtdeclarative-4.8.7:4/4::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
                                                    ^^^^^^^^^^^

  (dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.7:4/4::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
    ~dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.7[aqua=,debug=,glib=,qt3support,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,
abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,
abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.7-r3:4/4::gentoo, installed)
                                           ^^^^^^^^^^
    ~dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.7[accessibility=,aqua=,debug=,qt3support,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,
abi_x86_x32(-)?,abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,
abi_ppc_64(-)?,abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (dev-qt/qt3support-4.8.7:4/4::gentoo, installed)
                                                    ^^^^^^^^^^

dev-qt/qtsql:4

  (dev-qt/qtsql-4.8.7-r1:4/4::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
    ~dev-qt/qtsql-4.8.7[aqua=,debug=,qt3support=,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,
abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,
abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (dev-qt/qtdeclarative-4.8.7:4/4::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
                                     ^^^^^^^^^^^

  (dev-qt/qtsql-4.8.7-r1:4/4::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
    ~dev-qt/qtsql-4.8.7[aqua=,debug=,qt3support,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,
abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,
abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] required by (dev-qt/qt3support-4.8.7:4/4::gentoo, installed)
                                     ^^^^^^^^^^
    >=dev-qt/qtsql-4.8.5:4[qt3support?] required by (kde-frameworks/kdelibs-4.14.37:4/4.14::gentoo, installed)
                           ^^^^^^^^^^^


It might be possible to solve these slot collisions
by applying all of the following changes:
   - dev-qt/qtxmlpatterns-4.8.7 (Change USE: +aqua +debug)
   - dev-qt/qtdbus-4.8.7 (Change USE: +aqua +debug)
   - dev-qt/qtsql-4.8.7-r1 (Change USE: +aqua +debug)
   - dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.7 (Change USE: +qt3support +aqua +debug)
   - dev-qt/qtsvg-4.8.7 (Change USE: +aqua +debug)
   - dev-qt/qtscript-4.8.7 (Change USE: +aqua +debug)
   - dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.7 (Change USE: +aqua +debug)
   - dev-qt/designer-4.8.7 (Change USE: +aqua +debug)
   - dev-qt/qt3support-4.8.7 (Change USE: +aqua +debug)
   - dev-qt/qtopengl-4.8.7 (Change USE: +qt3support +aqua +debug)
   - dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.7-r3 (Change USE: +aqua +debug)
   - dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.7-r3 (Change USE: +qt3support +aqua +debug)
   - dev-qt/qtdeclarative-4.8.7 (Change USE: +qt3support +aqua +debug)
   - dev-qt/qttest-4.8.7 (Change USE: +aqua +debug)
   - dev-qt/qtsql-4.8.7-r1 (Change USE: +qt3support +aqua +debug)


Does that mean that I still need qt3support and qt4 and cannot yes switch to system without those two useflags ?

[Moderator edit: broke long whitespace-free lines in code tags to fix thread layout. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Existing applications prevent you from doing that.
asturm wrote:
Works fine for ~arch kde-*/* packages, but purely depends on the other applications you have installed - but didn't I tell that already?

^
You can't (easily) do that on a stable system.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 753

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

unterstood. Thanks for quck reply :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just removed qt4, kdelibs, and qt3support here on my ~amd64 kde-apps/kde-apps-meta install. It wasn't that bad at all. Just watch for libreoffice as stated as well as vlc (-kde). Also check the handbook use flag as it seems to pull in qt4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tom_
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 384
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems that Libreoffice 6 will likely support qt5 ;)

https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=LibreOffice-VCL-Qt5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum