Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to change the file browser attached to firefox
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PhiJ
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 173
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:35 pm    Post subject: How to change the file browser attached to firefox Reply with quote

If I try to open a file in firefox, or attach to an email etc, it gives me a horrible file browser. I don't know what it is, just that I don't like it.

Is there any way of changing it for something else? It doesn't seem to be controlled by USE flags...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5933

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The easiest way would be to downgrade to a version that doesn't use GTK3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22341
Location: here

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you use plasma there are unofficial www-client/firefox-kde-opensuse for a best integration with DE.
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
If you use plasma there are unofficial www-client/firefox-kde-opensuse for a best integration with DE.


Interesting, thanks! I'll probably give it a try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobWya
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 228
Location: Cambridge,UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

davidm wrote:
fedeliallalinea wrote:
If you use plasma there are unofficial www-client/firefox-kde-opensuse for a best integration with DE.


Interesting, thanks! I'll probably give it a try.


I've been maintaining the packages: www-client/firefox-kde-opensuse and mail-client/thunderbird-kde-opensuse ; in my Layman Overlay ::bobwya for a few years now...
These are just copied versions of the ::mozilla Overlay packages - with scripted changes applied. I bundle patched versions of the Mozilla eclasses as well (to avoid Portage sync conflicts).

I eat my own dog food... Using Firefox, with the OpenSUSE patchset, and Plasma 5 - on a daily basis! 8)

Bob
_________________
system: G751JT (ASUS-NotebookSKU); processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz; memory: 32GiB System Memory; display: GM204M [GeForce GTX 970M]; disk: 2048GB Samsung SSD 850;BD-CMB UJ172 S;1024GB Samsung SSD 850
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 836

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is Firefox with KDE and security patches
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22341
Location: here

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect Gentleman wrote:
here is Firefox with KDE and security patches

I also tried your version (56.0.2) but firefox return segfault.
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 836

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 7:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

O3 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22341
Location: here

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect Gentleman wrote:
O3 ?

No O2
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 836

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

use flags?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22341
Location: here

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect Gentleman wrote:
use flags?

I'll let you know this evening, now I don't have my laptop.
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 836

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try ff-57 from my overlay, i use it on both desktop without any troubles
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22341
Location: here

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
Perfect Gentleman wrote:
use flags?

I'll let you know this evening, now I don't have my laptop.

Use flags used
Code:
[ebuild  N    ~] www-client/firefox-56.0.2::regeneration  USE="dbus eme-free gmp-autoupdate hwaccel kde nsplugin pulseaudio startup-notification system-harfbuzz system-jpeg system-libevent system-libvpx system-sqlite -bindist -custom-cflags -custom-optimization -debug -hardened -jack -jit (-neon) -pgo (-selinux) (-system-icu) {-test}" L10N="-ru" 0 KiB

_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 836

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
[ebuild   R    ] www-client/firefox-57.0::pg_overlay  USE="custom-cflags custom-optimization dbus eme-free gmp-autoupdate hwaccel jit kde pulseaudio system-harfbuzz system-icu system-jpeg system-libevent system-libvpx system-sqlite -bindist -debug -hardened -jack (-neon) -nsplugin -pgo -screenshot (-selinux) -startup-notification {-test}"

these flags work.
the segfault with ff-56 could be because of fedora patches. i don't use them more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22341
Location: here

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect Gentleman wrote:
these flags work.
the segfault with ff-56 could be because of fedora patches. i don't use them more.

Ok thanks, for ff57 I've problems because my system is a hybrid stable/unstable and there are problems with llvm (resolvable but now I've no time)
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22341
Location: here

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect Gentleman wrote:
try ff-57 from my overlay, i use it on both desktop without any troubles

Segfault again
Code:
[ebuild  N    ] www-client/firefox-57.0  USE="dbus eme-free gmp-autoupdate hwaccel kde pulseaudio startup-notification -bindist -custom-cflags -custom-optimization -debug -hardened -jack -jit (-neon) -nsplugin -pgo -screenshot (-selinux) -system-harfbuzz (-system-icu) -system-jpeg -system-libevent -system-libvpx -system-sqlite {-test}" L10N="de fr it"


Code:
ATTENTION: default value of option force_s3tc_enable overridden by environment.

###!!! [Parent][MessageChannel] Error: (msgtype=0x150083,name=PBrowser::Msg_Destroy) Channel error: cannot send/recv


###!!! [Parent][RunMessage] Error: Channel error: cannot send/recv

console.error:
  Message: [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0xc1f30001 (NS_ERROR_NOT_INITIALIZED) [nsIMessageSender.sendAsyncMessage]"  nsresult: "0xc1f30001 (NS_ERROR_NOT_INITIALIZED)"  location: "JS frame :: resource:///modules/sessionstore/SessionStore.jsm :: _sendRestoreHistory :: line 4834"  data: no]
  Stack:
    _sendRestoreHistory@resource:///modules/sessionstore/SessionStore.jsm:4834:5
restoreTab@resource:///modules/sessionstore/SessionStore.jsm:3778:7
restoreTabs@resource:///modules/sessionstore/SessionStore.jsm:3636:7
ssi_restoreWindow@resource:///modules/sessionstore/SessionStore.jsm:3459:7
ssi_restoreWindows@resource:///modules/sessionstore/SessionStore.jsm:3583:5
initializeWindow@resource:///modules/sessionstore/SessionStore.jsm:1172:11
onBeforeBrowserWindowShown/<@resource:///modules/sessionstore/SessionStore.jsm:1323:9

Extension error: TypeError: tabs is undefined moz-extension://6d248a15-463f-440b-b9ff-728fb0686a9c/js/vapi-background.js 1051
[[Exception stack
bindToTabs@moz-extension://6d248a15-463f-440b-b9ff-728fb0686a9c/js/vapi-background.js:1051:13
Current stack
applySafeWithoutClone@resource://gre/modules/ExtensionCommon.jsm:285:133
wrapPromise/</<@resource://gre/modules/ExtensionCommon.jsm:466:15
withLastError@resource://gre/modules/ExtensionCommon.jsm:404:14
wrapPromise/<@resource://gre/modules/ExtensionCommon.jsm:460:11
]]
JavaScript warning: jar:file:///usr/lib64/firefox/omni.ja!/components/nsSearchService.js, line 392: unreachable code after return statement
JavaScript warning: jar:file:///usr/lib64/firefox/omni.ja!/components/nsSearchService.js, line 474: unreachable code after return statement
JavaScript error: chrome://global/content/browser-child.js, line 354: NS_ERROR_NOT_AVAILABLE: Component returned failure code: 0x80040111 (NS_ERROR_NOT_AVAILABLE) [nsIWebNavigation.loadURIWithOptions]
Crash Annotation GraphicsCriticalError: |[C0][GFX1-]: Receive IPC close with reason=AbnormalShutdown (t=5.13213) Segmentation fault

_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 836

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you tried with clean profile?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22341
Location: here

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect Gentleman wrote:
have you tried with clean profile?

Not tested, but I chenged firefox-kde-opensuse for version 57 and this work fine.
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rafaeleru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Oct 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 3:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect Gentleman wrote:
have you tried with clean profile?

I don't try this.
I use Firefox without Useflag= nsplugin and work fine. After implement nsplugin in Use flags my firefox works terrible. I don't understand why. I'll try to remove this flags and confirm if works fine.
_________________
Não é tão simples como parece, mas é bem documentado!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum