Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Quarter of screen blank with Ryzen 5 APU
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tabanus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 623
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 7:09 pm    Post subject: Quarter of screen blank with Ryzen 5 APU Reply with quote

Finally got the system to boot and xorg-server to start with AMDGPU enabled, but the bottom left quarter of the screen is blank.

Photo of the screen

Screenshot of the same screen (using gimp)

This also happens in the console before starting xdm.

Driver bug or have I misconfigured?

Thanks
_________________
Things you might say if you never took Physics: "I'm overweight even though I don't overeat." - Neil deGrasse Tyson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hhfeuer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In case you're talking about the brand-new Ryzen 5 2400G I'd say driver incompleteness. AFAIK, to get those running right, you'll need the latest git versions of kernel 4.16rc, Mesa 18.1, LLVM 7.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tabanus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 623
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is a Ryzen 5 2400G

Upgrading to git-sources-4.16_rc1 hasn't helped. Already had llvm-6.0.0_rc2 (there's no mention of llvm 7 on their homepage), and mesa-18.0.0_rc4.

This happens in the console before X is started, so mesa upgrade shouldn't have any effect.
_________________
Things you might say if you never took Physics: "I'm overweight even though I don't overeat." - Neil deGrasse Tyson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hhfeuer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, then maybe check for bios updates and set the graphics memory to 2GB if you haven't already.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hhfeuer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Setting kernel parameter
amdgpu.dc=1
might also be worth a shot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrSo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jun 2017
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tabanus wrote:
It is a Ryzen 5 2400G

Upgrading to git-sources-4.16_rc1 hasn't helped. Already had llvm-6.0.0_rc2 (there's no mention of llvm 7 on their homepage), and mesa-18.0.0_rc4.

This happens in the console before X is started, so mesa upgrade shouldn't have any effect.


In that case "git clone" is your friend:

https://cgit.freedesktop.org/~agd5f/linux/?h=drm-next-4.17-wip.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41404
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PrSo,

Portage can do that, that's what -9999 ebuilds are all about.
They are not keyworded, so if you want a -9999 (also known as live) version, you need to ask.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrSo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jun 2017
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Portage can do that, that's what -9999 ebuilds are all about.
They are not keyworded, so if you want a -9999 (also known as live) version, you need to ask.


Hmmm.., yes indeed, you are 100% correct.

I have just realized that I got used to a git command to much.

BTW it is even easier to maintain later, ie. applying custom patches.

Thanks Neddy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tabanus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 623
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I already updated to the latest BIOS and setting vRAM to 2GB made no difference.

It seems I'm not the only one having trouble with this CPU.

Going to get a cheap nvidia card until AMD sort their shit out.

Will keep fiddling and report back if I ever get it going properly.
_________________
Things you might say if you never took Physics: "I'm overweight even though I don't overeat." - Neil deGrasse Tyson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum