Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Attention! Black screen after x11-apps/xinit-1.3.4-r2 update
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
yzg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:50 pm    Post subject: Attention! Black screen after x11-apps/xinit-1.3.4-r2 update Reply with quote

There is a bug report on this issue. Please read it before updating and rebooting.
https://bugs.gentoo.org/634706
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2014
Posts: 31
Location: Athens

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

too late for me...
thank you anyway
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1286
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for posting, yzg. I got caught out, but at least your post and link to the Gentoo Bugzilla bug report got me going again. Crazy that x11-apps/xinit was updated in the Stable branch apparently without proper testing and without leaving a previous version in the tree. :roll:
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64, OpenRC, nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64, OpenRC, xf86-video-ati, dual booting with Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both laptops.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnBlbec
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[Moderator note: this post, the two immediately following it (jssilva Thu Oct 19, 2017), (The_Great_Sephiroth Thu Oct 19, 2017), and two posts from platojones were posted as a necromancy response to a vaguely similar thread from 2015 ([SOLVED] Lightdm: could not start the Display Manager). I split them from that thread to let the dead rest peacefully, and brought them here to keep everything together. -Hu]

hi. i had exactly the same problem and my gentoo is up-to-date.

could anybody tell me why there are lines in /etc/x11/startDM.sh

EXEC="$(get_options service)"
NAME="$(get_options name)"
PIDFILE="$(get_options pidfile)"
START_STOP_ARGS="$(get_options start_stop_args)"

instead of

EXEC="$(/lib/rc/bin/get_options service)"
NAME="$(/lib/rc/bin/get_options name)"
PIDFILE="$(/lib/rc/bin/get_options pidfile)"
START_STOP_ARGS="$(/lib/rc/bin/get_options start_stop_args)"

because as far as i know no update updates ROOTPATH properly


Last edited by JohnBlbec on Thu Oct 19, 2017 3:57 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jssilva
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Sep 2017
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hope I'm adding some value to this conversation, and not being considered a 'me too'

I had the same problem today, I think after an update but I'm not sure because I changed some things also.

The fact is, the solution posted a few posts before didn't work for me, the path never reached the root environment; I didn't care to investigate the reason.

Instead, as a "band-aid", I just included the full path of get_options in startDM.sh, as referred on the post before mine. It's now working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1033
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just updated this morning on a FRESH INSTALL WHICH WORKED, and now I get this error. I have Plasma and SDDM. Worked fine. I synchronized, updated (five or six things when using "avuND @world"), rebooted, and now no desktop. I am about to clone this laptop to eight others. Is there a fix in the works for this? I am apprehensive about doing custom mods because if we need to reinstall at some point (say a disk dies), I may not remember the fix.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soundrolf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:36 pm    Post subject: Displaymanager not starting after x11-apps/xinit Update Reply with quote

[Moderator note: this post was originally a separate thread. As it contains a spot workaround for the issue, I merged it to the other active thread on the subject rather than sending it to Duplicate Threads. -Hu]

Gentoo amd64 stable

After todays (19.Oct.2017) update ( eix-sync and emerge -avuDN @world) , packet x11-apps/xinit has been updated.
Displaymanager (Slim) does not appear.

Solution:

Change in /etc/x11/startDM.sh

from

Code:
EXEC="$(get_options service)"
NAME="$(get_options name)"
PIDFILE="$(get_options pidfile)"
START_STOP_ARGS="$(get_options start_stop_args)"

to

Code:
EXEC="$(/lib/rc/bin/get_options service)"
NAME="$(/lib/rc/bin/get_options name)"
PIDFILE="$(/lib/rc/bin/get_options pidfile)"
START_STOP_ARGS="$(/lib/rc/bin/get_options start_stop_args)"

Reboot and have fun

[Moderator edit: added [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 5423
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fixed with -r3 (the actual regression did not happen in -r2, but the rebuild triggered by the revbump).
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5071
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks good catch, did a rare sync twice in one day to pull r3
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
platojones
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1589
Location: Just over the horizon

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, showed up on 2 of my machines today. I suspect it came in with a change to the latest openrc:

Code:
Thu Oct 19 07:20:26 2017 >>> sys-apps/openrc-0.33.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
platojones
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1589
Location: Just over the horizon

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahhh, I should always check the bugs database:

https://bugs.gentoo.org/504140
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum