Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Why is my site redirecting? [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6308
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 5:54 pm    Post subject: Why is my site redirecting? [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Recently forked up my mysql db, got it mostly sorted.

Now I'm having an issue with a particular site getting redirected when there's nothing in /etc/apache2/vhosts.d to make this happen. I don't do any redirects with any other conf files. If it matters, the site that's doing this is a Wordpress site. Where else do I look to stop a redirect that should not be happening? The redirect is from a mainsite.org to a subdomain.mainsite.org.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.


Last edited by audiodef on Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 17773

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IIRC Wordpress will do its own redirects, so maybe something there?

Also, how does apache handling incoming requests? I've seen setups where if the incoming url was not defined in a vhost, the default site would load. So, default == www.example.com. But if you don't have a vhost definition for bar.example.com, www.example.com is loaded.

Without more info. those are the two scenarios which come to mind.
_________________
I honestly think you ought to sit down calmly, take a stress pill, and think things over.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1717

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
IIRC Wordpress will do its own redirects, so maybe something there?
Certainly. WP saves its address in database and uses full paths in all links. This even includes protocol prefix, so you can't really enable https later.
When I had to change domain, I eventually resolved to running sed against database dump and website files. Don't ask, I had a good reason to try being creative there :lol:
Rumour says there is some plugin for changing domain in wordpress. Perhaps export/import would do the trick in a sane way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 17773

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I only dealt with it superficially, but I worked with some who relied on it heavily. They really didn't want to resort to sed :)
_________________
I honestly think you ought to sit down calmly, take a stress pill, and think things over.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6308
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Solved" it by setting up the redirect url as a regular apache site so I could log into WP and change the settings.

Need a GoFundMe for Chronic Absented-Minded-Itus. :roll:
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum