Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Do I need GRUB2 if it's installed in another distro?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
patrick_mooney
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Oct 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:35 am    Post subject: Do I need GRUB2 if it's installed in another distro? Reply with quote

First time installing Gentoo. Hello there!

I'm following through the installation sections of the Gentoo Handbook and wonder whether I really need to install a bootleader: I currently have Crunchbang++ (A Debian derivative) and Linux Mint 17.3 installed (and Windows 10, primarily because once in a while my crappy ISP tries to blame their problems on me running Linux).
I've got an EFI system partition on /dev/sda1 (and, sigh, I just discovered it has cruft from other distros I no longer run) and one of the Linux distros (though I misremember which) is currently booting the system with GRUB2. All installed operating systems are currently able to boot.

Do I really need to install GRUB2 on Gentoo, or can I just switch back to one of the other distros after the install process and run sudo apt-get update-grub with os-prober installed?

Do I need to create a new /boot partition, or can I just mount /dev/sda1 as /boot? Or should I do something else?

I'm installing on an x64 Hewlett-Packard laptop with an i5 processor.

Many thanks for any advice!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 5842
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo!

Of course one booloader is enough.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!

Political Correctness is all about replacing imaginary injustice with real injustice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patrick_mooney
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Oct 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you so much! That's what I thought, but wanted to make sure before proceeding.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1461

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can mount the same boot, and even the same home, and tmp if its big enough to be on disk. Swap can be shared too (if you have it at all).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3777
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Do I really need to install GRUB2 on Gentoo, or can I just switch back to one of the other distros after the install process and run sudo apt-get update-grub with os-prober installed?


MY bootloader is from linux mint

I just edit the boot entries by hand. there is no need to reinstall grub / update grub. Most of the time for the gentoo part is just to copy over the bootfiles and change the kernel name in my boot entry. Many bootloaders just utilize a textfile which can be edited by an editor.

When my UEFI forgets the mapping uefi to my harddrive i reinstall grub with sysrescue-cd. that happens only sometimes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 987

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If grub is installed in Debian, it automatically runs when a new kernel or initrd.img is installed.
In some cases is it is preferable to have only one distro managing grub.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum