Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]XFCE/ Networkmanager behaving strangely
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Clad in Sky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 852
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 8:11 am    Post subject: [SOLVED]XFCE/ Networkmanager behaving strangely Reply with quote

I did a world update yesterday and since XFCE doesn|t work like it did before.
One issue is that XFCE has problems saving sessions. It won|t shut down or reboot when I have the "save session for future logins" checked.
Moreover, switching the keyboard layout doens|t work. Even if I choose a different one it stays the same (while the indicator shows DE).
Connecting to an encrypted wireless network won|t work, neither. I|m now connected to a not secured wlan some of my neighbours has up (probably). It|s one of those called dlink :D
I think it might be something with polkit, dbus etc. but I|m not sure.
dmesg says this:
Code:

966.674466] gconfd-2[3230] trap int3 ip:7f169a37fbf9 sp:7ffffefe61a0 error:0
[  966.684353] gconfd-2[3232] trap int3 ip:7f655a0b3bf9 sp:7fffc5f95e90 error:0
[  966.694311] gconfd-2[3234] trap int3 ip:7f6671ea6bf9 sp:7fff38ad5240 error:0
[  966.704223] gconfd-2[3236] trap int3 ip:7fd010dd0bf9 sp:7fffa5a6e5a0 error:0
[  966.714527] gconfd-2[3238] trap int3 ip:7faf8c074bf9 sp:7fff3138f770 error:0
[  966.724372] gconfd-2[3240] trap int3 ip:7f50d2695bf9 sp:7fffe5782610 error:0
[  966.734420] gconfd-2[3242] trap int3 ip:7f8b53848bf9 sp:7fffe1870170 error:0
[  966.744341] gconfd-2[3244] trap int3 ip:7f02f8249bf9 sp:7ffff418def0 error:0
[  966.754313] gconfd-2[3246] trap int3 ip:7f040bedebf9 sp:7fffc7c337b0 error:0

a lot.

Xsession-errors:

http://pastebin.com/qFJdzA1s

So, something goes wrong with authentication. I'm not sure, what it is, though.
Oh yes, my DM is LXDM. Had no problems with it before apart from it not being able use DE keyboard layout.
_________________
Kali Ma
Now it's autumn of the aeons
Dance with your sword
Now it's time for the harvest


Last edited by Clad in Sky on Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:59 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
derk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 347
Location: St Thomas Ontario

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

which versions of xfce4 software are you running? Did you do a revdep-rebuild? library mismatches cause a lot of issues .. did you accidentally or on purpose merge the 4.10 pre1 versions?

also try a rebuild of .. dbus-glib ( your paste bin shows a lot of dbus -errors might be due to abi change in a glib update)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clad in Sky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 852
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I ran revdep-rebuild and it's xfce4.8 running.
As root, I have no issues so it's seems like an authentication issue. Probably something KDM and GDM would do automagically and LXDM doesn't.
Now trying rebuilding dbus-glib...

Edit:
OK, didn't work.
Installed GDM which doesn't work any better. But I get this now:
Code:

/etc/X11/gdm/Xsession: Beginning session setup...
which: no keychain in (/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/4.5.3:/usr/games/bin)
/etc/X11/gdm/Xsession: Setup done, will execute: /usr/bin/dbus-launch --exit-with-session /usr/bin/ssh-agent -- startxfce4
mkdtemp: private socket dir: No space left on device


Edit II:
Solved, although not sure how.
First, I ran a new emerge --update --deep --newuse --with-bdeps=y world
Then emerge --depclean, which removed some cruft
Then revdep-rebuild
Presto.
_________________
Kali Ma
Now it's autumn of the aeons
Dance with your sword
Now it's time for the harvest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maratbn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:33 am    Post subject: 'emerge --update ...' solved this problem for me too. Reply with quote

Yep, 'emerge --update --deep --newuse --with-bdeps=y world ' worked for me too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum