Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to make all Plasma and kde apps appear in Spanish
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 12:49 pm    Post subject: How to make all Plasma and kde apps appear in Spanish Reply with quote

Hello,
I want to make all Plasma and kde apps appear in Spanish.
I want terminal to stay in English, only the graphical UI to be in Spanish!
Any idea how to do that?
I already have L10N variable set in make .conf

Code:
L10N="bg es es-ES es_ES en en_GB en-GB"


The result of this is that in System settings I can choose between US English an British English.. and that's it! :?
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lysio
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Have you updated your system after making these modifications in your make.conf ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21357
Location: here

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And in system settigs you have choose spanish?
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lysio wrote:
Hello,

Have you updated your system after making these modifications in your make.conf ?


Yes, I updated my system and the only choice I have in Systemsettings is between two versions of English, nothing more! :?

fedeliallalinea wrote:
And in system settigs you have choose spanish?


After the update, Spanish still does not appear as an option there! :/
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lysio
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try to add the spanish locale in your /etc/locale.gen file ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lysio wrote:
Did you try to add the spanish locale in your /etc/locale.gen file ?


I don't want to mess with system locales. I want to change only kde/plasma and kde apps lanuage!!! :?
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Really?????
There is absolutely no way to do this?

:cry: :cry: :cry:
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 753

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Like Lysio said, you need to add the spanish locale.

Try to follow the localization guide
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Localization/Guide/es :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Elleni wrote:
Like Lysio said, you need to add the spanish locale.

Try to follow the localization guide
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Localization/Guide/es :wink:


Elleni, Lysio- thank you!
:wink:
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 753

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

your welcome. Can you edit title and add [solved] please :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat Oct 28, 2017 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Elleni wrote:
your welcome. Can you edit title and add [solved] please :)


It is not "solved" :wink:

Code:
~ # locale
LANG=es_ES.utf8
LC_CTYPE="es_ES.utf8"
LC_NUMERIC="es_ES.utf8"
LC_TIME="es_ES.utf8"
LC_COLLATE=es_ES.utf8
LC_MONETARY="es_ES.utf8"
LC_MESSAGES="es_ES.utf8"
LC_PAPER="es_ES.utf8"
LC_NAME="es_ES.utf8"
LC_ADDRESS="es_ES.utf8"
LC_TELEPHONE="es_ES.utf8"
LC_MEASUREMENT="es_ES.utf8"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="es_ES.utf8"
LC_ALL=


Code:
/etc/env.d/02locale                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 120/120               100%
# Configuration file for eselect                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             
# This file has been automatically generated.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
LANG="es_ES.utf8"                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             
LC_COLLATE="es_ES.utf8"


Code:
eselect locale list
Available targets for the LANG variable:
  [1]   C
  [2]   en_US
  [3]   en_US.iso88591
  [4]   en_US.utf8
  [5]   es_ES
  [6]   es_ES.iso88591
  [7]   es_ES.utf8 *
  [8]   POSIX


And i still don't have plasma and the apps in spanish!
What else?
:cry:
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 6968

PostPosted: Sat Oct 28, 2017 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That wiki guide is poorly made, the /etc/locale.gen content and locale-gen output match, however the locale -a output is simply not the reality of previous settings.

make sure you have <es_ES UTF-8> in /etc/locale.gen, then do locale-gen (you should see (x/x) Generating es_ES.UTF-8 ... ) and select es_ES in eselect and your system will be spanish.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
That wiki guide is poorly made, the /etc/locale.gen content and locale-gen output match, however the locale -a output is simply not the reality of previous settings.

make sure you have <es_ES UTF-8> in /etc/locale.gen, then do locale-gen (you should see (x/x) Generating es_ES.UTF-8 ... ) and select es_ES in eselect and your system will be spanish.


No change!
Plasma is still in English. Should i rebuilld @world?
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 6968

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should be in spanish, your system has switch to it no? (just look at ls output per example, and check months are in spanish)
If no, you've made something wrong, if yes, then there must be some plasma need i have no knowledge about.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 753

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For plasma you need additional step:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE#Localization
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Localization/Guide/es

And after that emerge world -UDNav, then you should be able to chose spanish in plasma settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
You should be in spanish, your system has switch to it no? (just look at ls output per example, and check months are in spanish)
If no, you've made something wrong, if yes, then there must be some plasma need i have no knowledge about.


sddm is in Spanish! Plasma and apps are in English

Elleni wrote:
For plasma you need additional step:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE#Localization
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Localization/Guide/es

And after that emerge world -UDNav, then you should be able to chose spanish in plasma settings.


That was the first thing that i did. the only options for choosing in plasma settings are American English and British English

Code:
LINGUAS="es_ES en en_US en_GB"                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               
L10N="es es-ES es_ES en en_GB en-GB bg"

_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 753

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please try es instead of es_ES in Linguas and then see, if emerge world -uDNav wants to re-emerge stuff. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6829
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Change of LINGUAS does not trigger any rebuild, since those are not use flags. Only a rebuild or upgrade will change installed files.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 753

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, when I add "es" in Linguas and L10n in my /etc/portage/make conf:

emerge world -uDNav gives:

Code:
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies          ... done!                           
[ebuild     U  ] media-gfx/fbgrab-1.3::gentoo [1.0-r2::gentoo] 13 KiB
[ebuild  N     ] app-dicts/myspell-es-0.7::gentoo  29'424 KiB
[ebuild  r  U  ] dev-libs/protobuf-3.1.0:0/11::gentoo [2.6.1-r3:0/9::gentoo] USE="zlib -emacs -examples -java -python -static-libs {-test%} -vim-syntax (-source%)" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_4%* -python3_5%" 3'957 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] app-text/iso-codes-3.74::gentoo  LINGUAS="de el en es* fr it tr -af -am -ar -as -ast -az -be -bg -bn -bn_IN -br -bs -byn -ca -crh -cs -cy -da -dz -eo -et -eu -fa -fi -fo -ga -gez -gl -gu -haw -he -hi -hr -hu -hy -ia -id -is -ja -ka -kk -km -kn -ko -kok -ku -lt -lv -mi -mk -ml -mn -mr -ms -mt -nb -ne -nl -nn -nso -oc -or -pa -pl -ps -pt -pt_BR -ro -ru -rw -si -sk -sl -so -sq -sr -sr@latin -sv -sw -ta -te -th -ti -tig -tk -tl -tt -tt@iqtelif -ug -uk -ve -vi -wa -wal -wo -xh -zh_CN -zh_HK -zh_TW -zu" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] app-text/hunspell-1.6.1-r1:0/1.6::gentoo  USE="ncurses nls readline -static-libs" L10N="de el en es* fr it -af -bg -ca -cs -cy -da -de-1901 -eo -et -fo -ga -gl -he -hr -hu -ia -id -is -kk -km -ku -lt -lv -mi -mk -ms -nb -nl -nn -pl -pt -pt-BR -ro -ru -sk -sl -sq -sv -sw -tn -uk -zu" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] app-office/libreoffice-l10n-5.2.7.2::gentoo  USE="-offlinehelp" L10N="de el en es* fr it tr -af -am -ar -as -ast -be -bg -bn -bn-IN -bo -br -brx -bs -ca -ca-valencia -cs -cy -da -dgo -dz -en-GB -en-ZA -eo -et -eu -fa -fi -ga -gd -gl -gu -gug -he -hi -hr -hu -id -is -ja -ka -kk -km -kmr-Latn -kn -ko -kok -ks -lb -lo -lt -lv -mai -mk -ml -mn -mni -mr -my -nb -ne -nl -nn -nr -nso -oc -om -or -pa -pl -pt -pt-BR -ro -ru -rw -sa -sat -sd -si -sid -sk -sl -sq -sr -sr-Latn -ss -st -sv -sw-TZ -ta -te -tg -th -tn -ts -tt -ug -uk -uz -ve -vi -xh -zh-CN -zh-TW -zu" 1'925 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] app-text/po4a-0.47-r1::gentoo  USE="{-test}" LINGUAS="de es* fr it -af -ca -cs -da -eo -et -eu -hr -id -ja -kn -ko -nb -nl -pl -pt -pt_BR -ru -sl -sv -uk -vi -zh_CN -zh_HK" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-gfx/exiv2-0.25-r2:0/14::gentoo  USE="nls png xmp -doc -examples -webready" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" LINGUAS="de es* fr -bs -fi -gl -ms -pl -pt -ru -sk -sv -ug -uk -vi" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] net-dns/dnsmasq-2.78::gentoo  USE="dbus dhcp id inotify ipv6 nls script -auth-dns -conntrack -dhcp-tools -dnssec -idn (-libidn2) -lua (-selinux) -static -tftp" LINGUAS="de es* fr it -fi -id -no -pl -pt_BR -ro" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] net-print/cups-2.1.4::gentoo  USE="X acl dbus pam ssl threads usb -debug -java -kerberos -lprng-compat -python (-selinux) -static-libs (-systemd) -xinetd -zeroconf" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" LINGUAS="de es* fr it -ca -cs -ja -ru" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7" 0 KiB
[ebuild     U  ] x11-misc/xdg-user-dirs-gtk-0.10-r1::gentoo [0.10::gentoo] 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] dev-python/pycairo-1.15.3::dantrell-gnome [1.15.3::gentoo] USE="xcb -doc -examples {-test}" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_4 -python3_5 (-python3_6)" 0 KiB
[ebuild     U  ] dev-cpp/cairomm-1.12.2::dantrell-gnome [1.12.0-r2::dantrell-gnome] USE="X svg (-aqua) -doc" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 1'295 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] sys-apps/shadow-4.5::gentoo  USE="acl cracklib nls pam xattr -audit (-selinux) -skey" LINGUAS="de es* fr it tr -cs -da -fi -hu -id -ja -ko -pl -pt_BR -ru -sv -zh_CN -zh_TW" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] app-admin/system-config-printer-1.5.9::dantrell-gnome  USE="gnome-keyring (policykit) -doc" LINGUAS="de el es* fr it tr -ar -as -bg -bn -bn_IN -br -bs -ca -cs -cy -da -en_GB -et -fa -fi -gu -he -hi -hr -hu -hy -id -is -ja -ka -kn -ko -lo -lv -mai -mk -ml -mr -ms -nb -nl -nn -or -pa -pl -pt -pt_BR -ro -ru -si -sk -sl -sr -sr@latin -sv -ta -te -th -uk -vi -zh_CN -zh_TW" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] app-backup/luckybackup-0.4.8::gentoo  USE="-debug" LINGUAS="de el en es* fr it tr -bs -ca -cs -nl -no -pl -pt_BR -ro -ru -sk -sl -sv -zh_TW" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] sys-boot/unetbootin-625::gentoo  LINGUAS="de el es* fr it tr -am -ar -ast -be -bg -bn -ca -cs -da -eo -et -eu -fa -fi -fo -gl -he -hr -hu -id -ja -lt -lv -ml -ms -nan -nb -nl -nn -pl -pt -pt_BR -ro -ru -si -sk -sl -sr -sv -sw -uk -ur -vi -zh_CN -zh_TW" 0 KiB
[ebuild     U ~] media-libs/mesa-17.3.0_rc2::gentoo [17.2.3::gentoo] USE="classic d3d9 dri3 egl gallium gbm gles2 llvm nptl opencl openmax osmesa vaapi vdpau wayland -bindist -debug -gles1 -pax_kernel -pic (-selinux) -unwind -valgrind -vulkan -xa -xvmc" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" VIDEO_CARDS="i965 intel radeon radeonsi (-freedreno) -i915 (-imx) -nouveau -r100 -r200 -r300 -r600 (-vc4) -virgl (-vivante) -vmware" 10'409 KiB
[ebuild   R   ~] app-emulation/wine-2.3::gentoo  USE="X alsa cups d3d9 fontconfig gecko jpeg lcms ldap mono mp3 ncurses nls openal opencl opengl osmesa perl png pulseaudio realtime run-exes s3tc scanner ssl staging threads truetype udev udisks vaapi xcomposite xinerama xml -capi -custom-cflags -dos -gphoto2 -gsm -gstreamer -netapi -odbc -oss -pcap -pipelight -prelink -samba (-selinux) {-test} -themes -v4l" ABI_X86="32 64 (-x32)" LINGUAS="de el en es* fr it tr -ar -bg -ca -cs -da -en_US -eo -fa -fi -he -hi -hr -hu -ja -ko -lt -ml -nb_NO -nl -or -pa -pl -pt_BR -pt_PT -rm -ro -ru -sk -sl -sr_RS@cyrillic -sr_RS@latin -sv -te -th -uk -wa -zh_CN -zh_TW" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] app-emulation/virt-manager-1.4.0-r3::gentoo  USE="gnome-keyring gtk (policykit) -debug -sasl" LINGUAS="de es* fr it tr -as -bg -bn_IN -bs -ca -cmn -cs -da -en_GB -fi -gu -hi -hr -hu -is -ja -kn -ko -ml -mr -ms -nb -nl -or -pa -pl -pt -pt_BR -ro -ru -sk -sr -sr@latin -sv -ta -te -uk -vi -zh_CN -zh_TW" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] x11-misc/pcmanfm-1.2.3::gentoo  USE="-debug" LINGUAS="de el es* fr it tr -ar -be -bg -bn -ca -cs -da -en_GB -et -eu -fa -fi -fo -gl -he -hr -hu -id -is -ja -kk -km -ko -lg -lt -lv -ms -nl -pa -pl -pt -pt_BR -ro -ru -si -sk -sl -sr -sr@latin -sv -te -th -tt_RU -ug -uk -vi -zh_CN -zh_TW" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] kde-apps/kde4-l10n-17.04.3:4/17.04::gentoo  USE="handbook {-test} (-aqua%)" L10N="de el es* fr it tr -ar -ast -bg -bs -ca -ca-valencia -cs -da -en-GB -eo -et -eu -fa -fi -ga -gl -he -hi -hr -hu -ia -id -is -ja -kk -km -ko -lt -lv -mr -nb -nds -nl -nn -pa -pl -pt -pt-BR -ro -ru -sk -sl -sr -sr-Latn -sr-Latn-ijekavsk -sr-ijekavsk -sv -ug -uk -wa -zh-CN -zh-TW" 2'904 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] www-client/chromium-62.0.3202.75::gentoo  USE="cups gnome-keyring hangouts (pic) proprietary-codecs pulseaudio suid system-ffmpeg -component-build -custom-cflags -kerberos (-neon) (-selinux) (-system-icu) (-system-libvpx) (-tcmalloc) -widevine" L10N="de el es* fr it tr -am -ar -bg -bn -ca -cs -da -en-GB -es-419 -et -fa -fi -fil -gu -he -hi -hr -hu -id -ja -kn -ko -lt -lv -ml -mr -ms -nb -nl -pl -pt-BR -pt-PT -ro -ru -sk -sl -sr -sv -sw -ta -te -th -uk -vi -zh-CN -zh-TW" 0 KiB
[ebuild  rR    ] dev-qt/qtwebengine-5.7.1-r2:5/5.7::gentoo  USE="alsa pulseaudio system-ffmpeg system-icu widgets -bindist -debug -geolocation -pax_kernel {-test}" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-gfx/gimp-2.8.22:2::gentoo  USE="alsa bzip2 dbus exif gnome jpeg lcms mng pdf png svg tiff udev -aalib (-altivec) (-aqua) -curl -debug -doc -jpeg2k -postscript -python -smp {-test} -wmf -xpm" CPU_FLAGS_X86="mmx sse" LINGUAS="de el es* fr it tr -am -ar -ast -az -be -bg -br -ca -ca@valencia -cs -csb -da -dz -en_CA -en_GB -eo -et -eu -fa -fi -ga -gl -gu -he -hi -hr -hu -id -is -ja -ka -kk -km -kn -ko -lt -lv -mk -ml -ms -my -nb -nds -ne -nl -nn -oc -pa -pl -pt -pt_BR -ro -ru -rw -si -sk -sl -sr -sr@latin -sv -ta -te -th -tt -uk -vi -xh -yi -zh_CN -zh_HK -zh_TW" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-video/smplayer-16.11.0::gentoo  USE="qt5 -autoshutdown -bidi -debug -mpris -streaming" LINGUAS="de el en es* fr it tr -am -ar -ar_SY -bg -ca -cs -da -en_GB -en_US -et -eu -fa -fi -gl -he_IL -hr -hu -id -ja -ka -ko -ku -lt -mk -ms_MY -nl -nn_NO -pl -pt -pt_BR -ro_RO -ru_RU -sk -sl_SI -sq_AL -sr -sv -th -uk_UA -uz -vi_VN -zh_CN -zh_TW" 0 KiB

Total: 26 packages (5 upgrades, 1 new, 20 reinstalls), Size of downloads: 49'924 KiB

The following packages are causing rebuilds:

  (dev-libs/protobuf-3.1.0:0/11::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) causes rebuilds for:
    (dev-qt/qtwebengine-5.7.1-r2:5/5.7::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. T.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
Change of LINGUAS does not trigger any rebuild, since those are not use flags. Only a rebuild or upgrade will change installed files.


Elleni wrote:
Well, when I add "es" in Linguas and L10n in my /etc/portage/make conf:

emerge world -uDNav gives:

[...]


Honestly, I still have not understood these notions (I hadn't the time to search). The page "Linguas" in the developer manual is empty.

The wiki page "Localization/Guide" recommends the execution of "emerge -aUD --with-bdeps=y @world" after modifying the nls, LINGUAS and L10N variables.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 6968

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
Change of LINGUAS does not trigger any rebuild, since those are not use flags. Only a rebuild or upgrade will change installed files.

https://devmanual.gentoo.org/general-concepts/use-flags/index.html wrote:
The VIDEO_CARDS, INPUT_DEVICES and LINGUAS variables are automatically expanded into USE flags


And -U will rebuild package when useflags changes are done by the user (so ignoring changes that comes from new ebuild or profile)
while -u will always rebuild them if useflags has changed.
One or the other, in this case, the user has done the change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6829
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
https://devmanual.gentoo.org/general-concepts/use-flags/index.html wrote:
The VIDEO_CARDS, INPUT_DEVICES and LINGUAS variables are automatically expanded into USE flags

You are invited to check for any kde-plasma/ and kde-apps/ ebuild to have LINGUAS use flag. You won't find any where it isn't just used as environment variable.

See also: https://gentoo.org/support/news-items/2016-06-23-l10n-use_expand.html
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, i'll try rebuilding @world in the weekend... :?
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6829
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why @world?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Elleni wrote:
Well, when I add "es" in Linguas and L10n in my /etc/portage/make conf:

emerge world -uDNav gives:

Code:
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:



You can see there is no single "plasma" line in your portage output!
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum