Portage config for building with -O3, Graphite, and LTO
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
InBetweenNames
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 6:28 pm    Post subject: Portage config for building with -O3, Graphite, and LTO Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Gentoo Forums, but I have received some positive feedback about a project I've started with Gentoo and I figured I would share it with the Gentoo community as a whole.

I've been silently working on a Portage configuration for building with O3, Graphite, and LTO by default since about the start of the year. My configuration and results are in this GitHub repo: https://github.com/InBetweenNames/gentooLTO

My goals of this project are as follows:

* Identify packages which do not play nice with LTO and fix them if possible
* LTO, O3 and Graphite optimizations will help reveal the use of Undefined Behaviour in C and C++ programs (see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Undefined_behavior )
* Perhaps, in the best case, even get a performance improvement on the whole system. Benchmarks are sorely needed for this.
* Identify cases where -O3 and Graphite optimizations actually have a performance regression versus O2. These would make for good GCC bug reports. Especially with Graphite!
* In all cases, let the compiler decide which transformations to apply. Never override the compiler's cost function for applying a certain transformation (no -funroll-all-loops -- ever).

This is definitely advised for expert users only. Breakages do happen and you will probably need a strong programming and administration background in order to resolve them.

I have a lot more information in the README about this which is accessible via the GitHub link. If you are interested, contributions are very welcome!
duby2291
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote