Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't change my dnsdomainname
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PhoenixStarEclipse
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 May 2017
Posts: 64
Location: Jiangsu/China

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 2:08 pm    Post subject: Can't change my dnsdomainname Reply with quote

I followed the handbook and set my /etc/conf.d/net to

dns_domain_lo="PhoenixStarEclipse.iok.la"

And this domain name does point to my ip address.

However,everytime I boot, "This is xxx.home" still shows up and dnsdomainname returns home.

How can I change my domain name?
_________________
Think twice,code once.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The .home is probably coming from your router/dhcp server. You'll need to tell whichever DHCP client you're using to stop it from accepting that domainname, however this depends on which dhcp client you're using...

If you could set your domainname in your dhcp server/router, that's another option...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2540
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

could you try in /etc/conf.d/net something like

Quote:
config_enp0s31f6="dhcp"
dhcp_enp0s31f6="nodns"


then it should just leave /etc/resolve.conf alone
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PhoenixStarEclipse
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 May 2017
Posts: 64
Location: Jiangsu/China

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
The .home is probably coming from your router/dhcp server. You'll need to tell whichever DHCP client you're using to stop it from accepting that domainname, however this depends on which dhcp client you're using...

If you could set your domainname in your dhcp server/router, that's another option...


I use DDNS because my IP address changes frequently. And the IP address belongs to my router.
_________________
Think twice,code once.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum