Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Waiting for eno1...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 9:50 pm    Post subject: Waiting for eno1... Reply with quote

OK, my Ethernet device on the domain controller is "eno1". When the system boots it stops three or four times and says "Waiting for eno1...", which takes about a minute each time. When it DOES boot, it isn't online. I am using a static IP address with netifrc.

ifconfig
Code:

eno1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 10.0.1.111  netmask 255.255.252.0  broadcast 10.0.3.255
        inet6 fe80::9a90:96ff:feb7:9199  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 98:90:96:b7:91:99  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 198713  bytes 202794775 (193.4 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 2843  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 49354  bytes 5141242 (4.9 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device interrupt 20  memory 0xf7c00000-f7c20000 

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 68  bytes 5476 (5.3 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 68  bytes 5476 (5.3 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


/etc/conf.d/net
Code:

dns_domain_lo="rtfp.lan"
nis_domain_lo="rtfp.lan"
config_eno1="10.0.1.111/22"
routes_eno1="default via 10.0.0.254"


Services
Code:

Available init scripts
  agetty
  binfmt                    boot
  bootmisc                  boot
  busybox-klogd
  busybox-ntpd
  busybox-syslogd
  busybox-watchdog
  consolefont
  cronie                    default
  devfs                     sysinit
  dmesg                     sysinit
  fsck                      boot
  gpm
  hostname                  boot
  hwclock                   boot
  ip6tables
  iptables
  keymaps                   boot
  killprocs                 shutdown
  kmod-static-nodes         sysinit
  local                     default
  localmount                boot
  loopback                  boot
  modules                   boot
  modules-load
  mount-ro                  shutdown
  mtab                      boot
  net.eno1                  default
  net.lo
  netmount                  default
  net-online
  numlock
  opentmpfiles-dev
  opentmpfiles-setup
  osclock
  pciparm
  procfs                    boot
  pwcheck
  pydoc-2.7
  pydoc-3.4
  root                      boot
  rsyncd
  runsvdir
  s6-svscan
  saslauthd
  savecache                 shutdown
  slapd
  sshd                      default
  swap                      boot
  swclock
  sysctl                    boot
  sysfs                     sysinit
  sysklogd                  default
  termencoding              boot
  udev                      sysinit
  udev-settle
  udev-trigger              sysinit
  urandom                   boot

So what would be causing this? I cannot remotely reboot the system due to this, and should it shutdown due to a power failure long enough to bring down the batteries, I would literally need to drive 45min to power it up and put in address info.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chiefbag
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Oct 2010
Posts: 542
Location: The Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you say its not online what exactly do you mean?

Code:
inet 10.0.1.111  netmask 255.255.252.0  broadcast 10.0.3.255


Looks like the card has been assigned the configuration given, has it not?

Can you reach the gateway?

Are you saying the RC script does not bring up the interface on boot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is assigned because I manually ran ifconfig. When it boots it says something along the lines of "Waiting for eno1... (59)", "Waiting for eno1... (49)", etc etc until it continues the boot process. It does this multiple times. This is when OpenRC is starting things.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1764

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have several services that require net, so it's possible that openrc tries to start your network every time it encounters one of those (and sees it's not ready yet)

What does "which ip" report?
Also, have you tried removing those lines?
Code:
dns_domain_lo="rtfp.lan"
nis_domain_lo="rtfp.lan"

It's a bit weird setup, smells like a possible conflict to me. Shouldn't they be on eno1 instead? Should they be there at all?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 14180

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 1:22 am    Post subject: Re: Waiting for eno1... Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
OK, my Ethernet device on the domain controller is "eno1". When the system boots it stops three or four times and says "Waiting for eno1...", which takes about a minute each time. When it DOES boot, it isn't online. I am using a static IP address with netifrc.
While the network is down, run /etc/init.d/net.eno1 --verbose start. Does the extra verbosity show anything interesting? If not, try with --debug so that you can trace its exact flow. This will be noisy. You will probably need to redirect output to a file.
The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
I cannot remotely reboot the system due to this, and should it shutdown due to a power failure long enough to bring down the batteries, I would literally need to drive 45min to power it up and put in address info.
This is where trained monkeys are useful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am here now, and the exact message is "netmount: waiting for net.eno1... (xx seconds)". It waits sixty seconds each time, four times total, then brings up the shell login with eno1 unconfigured. I will see what your commands do next.

*UPDATE*

OK, running the verbose command provides a single line of output. "WARNING: net.lo has already been started". I did not specify net.lo, I did net.eno1. The net.eno1 file is a symlink to net.lo, per the install guide. For some reason it isn't working.

*UPDATE*

Using "--debug" or even "--debug --verbose" results in a single line output, the same as before.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cyker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1746

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This shouldn't matter, but what NIC is eno1 and is it compiled into the kernel or just as a module?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 14180

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, --debug / --verbose were meant to trace execution inside the network script, but the output you received says that it's not even trying to run the network script because it wrongly thinks it's dealing with a different interface. I have never seen that happen and have not read the relevant code, so I cannot guess why it is printing an interface name different than the one you requested. I suspect that fixing that will be necessary to solve your original problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The NIC is built into the motherboard and the driver is built into the kernel, same as always. I always build permanently attached hardware drivers into my kernels. Never seems to be an issue.

As for the setup I followed the guide to the T.
Code:

cd /etc/init.d
ln -s ./net.lo ./net.eno1
rc-update add net.eno1 default

This has always worked before, so I am stumped.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hund
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jul 2016
Posts: 56
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also had issues with no network at boot, and then when I manually started it and tried to run OpenVPN, it would complain about not finding eno1. So I changed back to the old interface naming scheme by adding "net.ifnames=0" to my kernel parameters.

And now everything works just fine. :)
_________________
$_Linuxkompis.se
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2660

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
I am here now, and the exact message is "netmount: waiting for net.eno1... (xx seconds)"

Unless you really need it, netmount could be removed from the runlevels.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have never touched netmount and assumed it was a service that the OS needed since it was always there by default. I am going to read up on it now.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I may not use it at this time but I am debating using it with an AD setup for centralized documents. It is not disabled on any other Gentoo system, so I should not have to disable it here. Still figuring out the issue though. I do not know what is causing it to look for lo instead of eno1.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2660

PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
Still figuring out the issue though. I do not know what is causing it to look for lo instead of eno1.
Read /etc/rc.conf and set rc_interactive="YES". Reboot interactively. Confirm each service separately, see what happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum