Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Scaling problem on KDE (and other WM)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
josedb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 206

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 6:26 pm    Post subject: Scaling problem on KDE (and other WM) Reply with quote

Basically iam trying to scale properly since i have a 14" 4k resolution screen
This is what is happening:

http://imgur.com/a/eGiZQ

as you can see, the pointer on some spaces, text and icons are not properly scaled.

Cinnamon scale everything perfect, but its very laggy. Mate is worse than kde, iam trying to stay out of gnome since i want to stay on openRC

i dont know how to scale everything, is there any method? thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
russK
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2006
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would suggest xrandr for scaling but it looks like a font issue to me.

HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
josedb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 206

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

russK wrote:
I would suggest xrandr for scaling but it looks like a font issue to me.

HTH


Isn´t xrandr chaging resolution? it is not the same as scaling.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13512

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to xrandr --help, it can also configure scaling. A quick test here shows that it works.
Code:
$ xrandr --output DVI-0 --scale 1.5x1
This produced a horizontally crushed image.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5595

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This page has a lot of useful information. Looks like you have the right settings in Qt but not in GTK3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
russK
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2006
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it more than just geany?

I have this: http://imgur.com/MRNmirQ

It looks OK: http://imgur.com/ga3y77s

Sorry I'm on gnome and I don't have a comparable screen [ although I do have 4 monitors :D ].

Code:
$ equery uses geany
[ Legend : U - final flag setting for installation]
[        : I - package is installed with flag     ]
[ Colors : set, unset                             ]
 * Found these USE flags for dev-util/geany-1.30.1:
 U I
 - - gtk3 : Use GTK+3 instead of GTK+2
 + + vte  : Enable Terminal support (x11-libs/vte)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
josedb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 206

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is what it looks like in cinnamon:

http://imgur.com/a/tHO8z

its not just text , icons and mouse pointer turns tinny in some places of the windows. (not happening in cinnamon)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
russK
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2006
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

josedb,

I installed gentoo with plasma in a virtualbox machine and set the resolution to 4K.
Code:
$ VBoxManage controlvm kdentoo setvideomodehint 3840 2160 32


I installed the same editor app, geany, (which I'm beginning to really like, btw). I believe I see what you mean with mouse pointers, but I do not see what you were seeing with text, as in the symbols pane (símbolos?). The font and icons look OK for me.

Watch me move the pointer around here: http://imgur.com/IW9ssB4

Did you use the plasma profile? I have a fresh install with kde-plasma/plasma-meta and kde-apps/kde-apps-meta.
Code:
# eselect profile list
Available profile symlink targets:
  [1]   default/linux/amd64/13.0
  [2]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/selinux
  [3]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop
  [4]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome
  [5]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome/systemd
  [6]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma *
  [7]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma/systemd
  [8]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/developer
  [9]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/no-multilib
  [10]  default/linux/amd64/13.0/systemd
  [11]  default/linux/amd64/13.0/x32
  [12]  hardened/linux/amd64
  [13]  hardened/linux/amd64/selinux
  [14]  hardened/linux/amd64/no-multilib
  [15]  hardened/linux/amd64/no-multilib/selinux
  [16]  hardened/linux/amd64/x32
  [17]  hardened/linux/musl/amd64
  [18]  hardened/linux/musl/amd64/x32
  [19]  default/linux/uclibc/amd64
  [20]  hardened/linux/uclibc/amd64



HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
josedb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 206

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 2:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

russK wrote:
josedb,

I installed gentoo with plasma in a virtualbox machine and set the resolution to 4K.
Code:
$ VBoxManage controlvm kdentoo setvideomodehint 3840 2160 32


I installed the same editor app, geany, (which I'm beginning to really like, btw). I believe I see what you mean with mouse pointers, but I do not see what you were seeing with text, as in the symbols pane (símbolos?). The font and icons look OK for me.

Watch me move the pointer around here: http://imgur.com/IW9ssB4

Did you use the plasma profile? I have a fresh install with kde-plasma/plasma-meta and kde-apps/kde-apps-meta.
Code:
# eselect profile list
Available profile symlink targets:
  [1]   default/linux/amd64/13.0
  [2]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/selinux
  [3]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop
  [4]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome
  [5]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome/systemd
  [6]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma *
  [7]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma/systemd
  [8]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/developer
  [9]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/no-multilib
  [10]  default/linux/amd64/13.0/systemd
  [11]  default/linux/amd64/13.0/x32
  [12]  hardened/linux/amd64
  [13]  hardened/linux/amd64/selinux
  [14]  hardened/linux/amd64/no-multilib
  [15]  hardened/linux/amd64/no-multilib/selinux
  [16]  hardened/linux/amd64/x32
  [17]  hardened/linux/musl/amd64
  [18]  hardened/linux/musl/amd64/x32
  [19]  default/linux/uclibc/amd64
  [20]  hardened/linux/uclibc/amd64



HTH


Yes i did. I tried several indeed.
Mouse pointer has been a problem in several WM
I also tried forcing a diferent dpi in xorg but the result is exactly the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum