Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] Plasma: no shutdown/reboot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:08 am    Post subject: [solved] Plasma: no shutdown/reboot Reply with quote

On a fresh system install I added plasma by selecting the corresponding profile. I expected that this would automatically install the plasma-meta package but I need to do it on top of that. It looked like
Code:
emerge -av plasma-meta
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] kde-plasma/plasma-meta-5.9.5:5::gentoo  USE="display-manager handbook pam sddm wallpapers -bluetooth -grub -gtk -networkmanager -plymouth -pulseaudio -sdk" 0 KiB
Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB
Would you like to merge these packages? [Yes/No]n
No kde-apps, very clean actually. But then I noticed the missing buttons for shutdown/reboot in the kde menu, same with the plasmoid in the task bar. I have to pull the plug to shutdown.

I have searched the internet and found many old complaints about this behaviour of KDE, but most of them date before 2012 and the solutions do not apply to me since they were based on bugs that are meanwhile eliminated. So where did I do something wrong?

BTW, no idea what to present (consolekit etc all installed).

Lokesh
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User


Last edited by Lokesh on Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:38 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21354
Location: here

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can help this?
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6827
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Profiles don't add packages to world file.

You do know the wiki, did you properly look at the 'Prerequisites' section and configure services?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
Can help this?
I have checked this page earlier.
Code:
grep pam_ck_connector /etc/pam.d/system-login
session         optional        pam_ck_connector.so nox11
Looks perfect, still does not work. Did not test the other option because I understand one should have only one of the two options configured.
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
Profiles don't add packages to world file.

You do know the wiki, did you properly look at the 'Prerequisites' section and configure services?

Prerequisites I met:
1) plasma profile in use
2) dbus 1.10.18, polkit 0.113, virtual/udev 217, no sys-fs/udev installed but is sys-fs/eudev 3.1.5, udisk 2.1.8
3) eudev: rc-update add udev sysinit ..... * rc-update: udev already installed in runlevel `sysinit'; skipping it is active
4) console-kit 1.1.2: I could not activate the [*] Enable system-call auditing support in the kernel configuration file since it is not there as described in the ConsoleKit wiki.
5) not sure about the others. Never touched these before. When I e.g. do udisk --monitor I get an "unknown command".

That's complicated ...very complicated
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 2273
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lokesh wrote:
asturm wrote:
Profiles don't add packages to world file.

You do know the wiki, did you properly look at the 'Prerequisites' section and configure services?

Prerequisites I met:
1) plasma profile in use
2) dbus 1.10.18, polkit 0.113, virtual/udev 217, no sys-fs/udev installed but is sys-fs/eudev 3.1.5, udisk 2.1.8
3) eudev: rc-update add udev sysinit ..... * rc-update: udev already installed in runlevel `sysinit'; skipping it is active
4) console-kit 1.1.2: I could not activate the [*] Enable system-call auditing support in the kernel configuration file since it is not there as described in the ConsoleKit wiki.
5) not sure about the others. Never touched these before. When I e.g. do udisk --monitor I get an "unknown command".

That's complicated ...very complicated
Not really.

Does this work?
Code:
 ~ $ udisksctl monitor
Monitoring the udisks daemon. Press Ctrl+C to exit.
09:51:05.518: The udisks-daemon is running (name-owner :1.37).


Then:

  • How is plasma started?
  • Do you have the consolekit USE flag enabled?
  • Is dbus running?
  • Is powerdevil installed?
  • Is upower installed?
  • Did you try to use elogind instead of consolekit already?

_________________
Important German:
  1. "Aha" - German reaction to pretend that you are really interested while giving no f*ck.
  2. "Tja" - German reaction to the apocalypse, nuclear war, an alien invasion or no bread in the house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yamakuzure wrote:
Not really.
I assume this is just humor. Your list ist not uncomplicated for the ordinary human being (like me)

Yamakuzure wrote:
Does this work?
Code:
 ~ $ udisksctl monitor
Monitoring the udisks daemon. Press Ctrl+C to exit.
09:51:05.518: The udisks-daemon is running (name-owner :1.37).
No. "Error connecting to the udisks daemon: connection failed: file or directory not found"


  • How is plasma started? --> sddm
  • Do you have the consolekit USE flag enabled? -->Yep, by means of selecting the plasma profile, i.e. it is not again in the make.conf
  • Is dbus running? -->I believe no. rc-update did not show it, rc-update show -v does. Never touched that before.
  • Is powerdevil installed? -->yes, version 5.9.5
  • Is upower installed? -->yes, version 0.99.4
  • Did you try to use elogind instead of consolekit already? -->???Why, How? I don't understand what they do and what would trigger preference of one to the other

_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6827
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is all described in the wiki. https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE#Services Please note that having them installed is not enough, the links to each service describe how to enable them...
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 2273
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This:
Lokesh wrote:
Yamakuzure wrote:
Does this work?
Code:
 ~ $ udisksctl monitor
Monitoring the udisks daemon. Press Ctrl+C to exit.
09:51:05.518: The udisks-daemon is running (name-owner :1.37).
No. "Error connecting to the udisks daemon: connection failed: file or directory not found"
And This:
Lokesh wrote:
  • Is dbus running? -->I believe no. rc-update did not show it, rc-update show -v does. Never touched that before.
leads to the following test:

What does "/etc/init.d/dbus status" show? If it shows that dbus is stopped, then please add it to the boot runlevel with:
Code:
rc-update add dbus boot
You do not have to reboot, just issue the command: "openrc" which should start all pending services.
_________________
Important German:
  1. "Aha" - German reaction to pretend that you are really interested while giving no f*ck.
  2. "Tja" - German reaction to the apocalypse, nuclear war, an alien invasion or no bread in the house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So it seems that these services were not started. What I did:

1)dbus---started, added to default, visisble by rc-update --show
2) consolekit ---unclear:
Code:
sudo /etc/init.d/consolekit start
 * Starting consolekit ...
 * start-stop-daemon: /usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon is already running
 * Failed to start consolekit                                                                                                 [ !! ]
 * ERROR: consolekit failed to start
but
Code:
sudo ck-list-sessions
Session4:
        unix-user = '1000'
        realname = '(null)'
        seat = 'Seat1'
        session-type = 'unspecified'
        session-class = 'user'
        session-state = 'active'
        active = TRUE
        x11-display = ':0'
        x11-display-device = '/dev/tty7'
        display-device = ''
        remote-host-name = ''
        is-local = TRUE
        on-since = '2017-08-02T12:13:05.157608Z'
        login-session-id = '4'
        XDG_RUNTIME_DIR = '/var/run/user/1000'
        VTNr = '7'
and
Code:
sudo /etc/init.d/consolekit stop
 * WARNING: consolekit is already stopped
I entered the commands exactly in this sequence.
Regarding the required kernel modules I do neither of the two required (Auditing Support & Enable system call Auditing Support) in my config file, therefore cannot enable them.

3) udisk seems to work now, although again my kernel config doe not contain one of the required module: USB runtime power management. Since it is USB, I don't expect it to be an issue.
Code:
udisksctl monitor
Monitoring the udisks daemon. Press Ctrl+C to exit.
14:39:13.050: The udisks-daemon is running (name-owner :1.5).
14:40:21.501: /org/freedesktop/UDisks2/drives/Samsung_SSD_860_EVO_260GB_S4G7KLMF244466K: org.freedesktop.UDisks2.Drive.Ata: Properties Changed

There is a difference in the Plasma menu in that now two more options are listet: change user and standby.

EDIT: seems that consolekit is the cause for some problems.
Code:
sudo pkcheck --list-temp
Passwort:
Error getting session: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Manager.Error.General: Unable to lookup session information for process '4607'

_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
This is all described in the wiki. https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE#Services Please note that having them installed is not enough, the links to each service describe how to enable them...
Hello asturm, correct me if I am wrong: my understanding is, that these services are automatically activated during installation, no need to manually start them.

The only explanation I can see is that I was messing up my kernel configuration and unchecked something essential for these services. If this is the case, is there a way to identify it (log?) or is re-installation of the kernel the better way?
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6827
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lokesh wrote:
asturm wrote:
This is all described in the wiki. https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE#Services Please note that having them installed is not enough, the links to each service describe how to enable them...
Hello asturm, correct me if I am wrong: my understanding is, that these services are automatically activated during installation, no need to manually start them.

That understanding is wrong, as you can read in the quote of mine you selected.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mir3x
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isn't that resolved just by unmerging upower
and emerging upower-pm-utils ??
( no need to mess with any file)
_________________
Installation aborted to prevent system self-destruction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6827
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mir3x wrote:
Isn't that resolved just by unmerging upower
and emerging upower-pm-utils ??

This solves nothing, in fact it pushes you back to unmaintained, unsupported and conflicting upower-pm-utils. Don't do it.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All services working :P

Problem not solved :cry:

I umerged, then installed again, consolekit.
All services are running: dbus, polkit, udisk, eudev, consolekit

No shutdown/reboot button.
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now the experts are at a loss for words.... :(
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mir3x
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"I have to pull the plug to shutdown. "

Dont u have shutdown command ?
_________________
Installation aborted to prevent system self-destruction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebB
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 730
Location: S.O. France

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you the same problem running startx?

.xinitrc wrote:
exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session startkde
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mir3x wrote:
Dont u have shutdown command ?
I wanted to quote the shutdown command in the system settings in reply to you. But...the menu has changed and it is all there now.

I assume this has to do with that I usually did indeed kept the power button pressed until the computer shutdown. This did not result in any improvement.

Now for the very first time I had shut down from the terminal. And tata, it is there. It seems that the session is saved when the shutdown is done by pressing the power button (it is not a power switch).

Summary: get all services, particularly consolekit, up and running, then shut down from the terminal.

Just a theory.

Cheers
Lokesh
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User


Last edited by Lokesh on Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sebB wrote:
Have you the same problem running startx?

.xinitrc wrote:
exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session startkde

I am not using a user specific .xinitrc. But anyway, problem is solved :lol:
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6827
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lokesh wrote:
Summary: ... then shut down from the terminal.

Rather, "Never pull the plug when you have access to a terminal"
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 2273
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lokesh wrote:
I assume this has to do with that I usually did indeed kept the power button pressed until the computer shutdown.
Just for future reference:

Do this only if, and I mean really really ONLY if, you have no possibility to shut down through any console (If in a DE, use ALT+F1 to switch, if you can not even start an xterm), and are not able to bring down the machine through Magic SysRQ.

Since I first installed Gentoo in 2003, and I have powered about two dozen machines with Gentoo since then, I have only one machine where such a crude "Pull-The-Plug"-Method is needed: My Laptop, that has a BIOS bug, causing it to sometimes (1 in 50 or so cases) not to wake up from suspension, and to freeze instead.

Please remember: "Pulling the plug" is the worst thing you can do!
_________________
Important German:
  1. "Aha" - German reaction to pretend that you are really interested while giving no f*ck.
  2. "Tja" - German reaction to the apocalypse, nuclear war, an alien invasion or no bread in the house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13509

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I concur with Yamakuzure's advice. I have one minor nit on the implementation. When in X, Alt+Fn is handled by the X server, which does not treat it specially. It will typically be passed to the foreground application or to the window manager if a binding exists. In either case, it is unlikely to perform a vt-switch even when the system is in good order. To perform an orderly vt-switch from within X, use Ctrl+Alt+Fn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum