Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Problem not existant]What's the status of freemind in gento
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Wallsandfences
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:35 am    Post subject: [Problem not existant]What's the status of freemind in gento Reply with quote

When I try to emerge app-misc/freemind, I get
Code:
!!! The following installed packages are masked:
- dev-dotnet/gnome-desktop-sharp-2.26.0-r1::gentoo (masked by: package.mask)
/usr/portage/profiles/package.mask:
# Mikhail Pukhlikov <cynede@gentoo.org> (20 Jul 2017)
# Old mono/dotnet packages (used on GNOME2 stack)
# also some deprecated forks used for monodevelop
# awhile they are very unstable they will live in dotnet overlay

- dev-dotnet/wnck-sharp-2.24.0-r10::gentoo (masked by: package.mask)
- dev-python/pywebkitgtk-1.1.8-r1::gentoo (masked by: package.mask)
/usr/portage/profiles/package.mask:
# Pacho Ramos <pacho@gentoo.org> (14 Jul 2017)
# Rely on vulnerable webkit (#620698, #620728, #620816, #620830, #621554).
# Removal in a month.

- dev-dotnet/rsvg-sharp-2.24.0-r10::gentoo (masked by: package.mask)
- sys-apps/v86d-0.1.10::gentoo (masked by: package.mask)
/usr/portage/profiles/package.mask:
# Pacho Ramos <pacho@gentoo.org> (14 Jul 2017)
# Upstream is dead, lots of unresolved bug reports (#606154), it needs a
# real maintainer taking care about fixing this. Removal in a month.

- gnome-extra/docky-2.2.1.1-r1::gentoo (masked by: package.mask)
For more information, see the MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge
man page or refer to the Gentoo Handbook.


So, it don't seems advisible or even possible to install freemind.
I haven't seen it for a while, are there current users here?

R.


Last edited by Wallsandfences on Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:18 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Freemind is nowhere in that portage output. app-misc/freemind is in tree, even stable, as far as I can see.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wallsandfences
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, it's the dependencies that are lacking...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why do you think that? That would mean portage tree is broken, which is not the case.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i4dnf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2005
Posts: 265
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Read that message carefully. It only means that some packages that you already have installed are now masked, and is a warning/reminder for you to take action regarding them.
Some may need to be removed/replaced because they'll be removed from the portage tree, some will need to be re-emerged since the version you have installed is now masked, etc.

portage wrote:
Code:
!!! The following installed packages are masked:


It says nothing about the dependencies of freemind, or about freemind itself.
_________________
"The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not MAD" (SALVATOR DALI)


Last edited by i4dnf on Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:24 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wallsandfences
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hm. let me check what's going on...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CaptainBlood
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Jan 2010
Posts: 996

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
eix freemind
[I] app-misc/freemind
     Available versions:  1.0.1-r2 {doc groovy latex pdf svg ELIBC="FreeBSD"}
     Installed versions:  1.0.1-r2(01:54:26 25/07/2017)(svg -doc -groovy -latex -pdf ELIBC="-FreeBSD")
     Homepage:            http://freemind.sourceforge.net
     Description:         Mind-mapping software written in Java
Nothing seems broken...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wallsandfences
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Of course, you are all right -- the masks where not related to freemind. It emerged and works well now!
R.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian.au
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 422
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wallsandfences wrote:
hm. let me check what's going on...

Wallsandfences, others have pointed you to the latest stable freemind and you're on your way with the issues there.
With that said, Freemind development is glacially slow, I think what has been stabilised in portage is the latest beta release and dates back to about Feb 2016.

Freeplane is a fork that sees a lot more action, it's in portage at
Code:
* app-misc/freeplane
     Available versions:  ~1.5.18 {test ELIBC="FreeBSD"}
     Homepage:            https://www.freeplane.org/
     Description:         Java application for Mind Mapping, Knowledge and Project Management

I've used this for years and it is, imo, superior to freemind. I don't use and can't recommend the portage version, it's (currently and usually) a few security updates behind, but you can grab it and give it a run from portage to see if it suits.

I manage this file outside of portage to better stay on top of the java security fixes, here's how I do it:

Current stable is 1.5.21 and can be downloaded from https://www.freeplane.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page
It's pretty simple to keep the program up to date outside of portage, I just unzipped it into /opt and created a link ie.
Code:
# ln -nsf /opt/freeplane-1.5.21 /opt/freeplane
then as a user created a menu entry in ie.
Code:
~/.local/share/applications/freeplane.desktop
containing
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Freeplane
Exec=/bin/sh /opt/freeplane/freeplane.sh %f
Terminal=false
Icon=/opt/freeplane/freeplane.svg
Type=Application
MimeType=application/x-freemind
Categories=Application;Office;
GenericName=Freeplane
Comment=A free mind mapping tool


On subsequent updates I just just need to download / extract the new version into /opt ; delete and recreate the symlink freeplane-x.x.xx -> freeplane and (ie. gonome / xfce) menu will be linked to the new version.

you can then just rm -r the old version from opt.

Hope that helps anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wallsandfences
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

unfortunatly, freeplane does not work (via portage)

Code:
>>> Source configured.
>>> Compiling source in /var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/work/freeplane-1.5.18 ...
/var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/temp/environment: line 3712: gradle: command not found
 * ERROR: app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18::gentoo failed (compile phase):
 *   (no error message)
 *
 * Call stack:
 *     ebuild.sh, line 115:  Called src_compile
 *   environment, line 3712:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *       ${GRADLE} build -x check -x test || die
 *
 * If you need support, post the output of `emerge --info '=app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18::gentoo'`,
 * the complete build log and the output of `emerge -pqv '=app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18::gentoo'`.
!!! When you file a bug report, please include the following information:
GENTOO_VM=  CLASSPATH="" JAVA_HOME="/etc/java-config-2/current-system-vm"
JAVACFLAGS="" COMPILER=""
and of course, the output of emerge --info =freeplane-1.5.18
 * The complete build log is located at '/var/log/portage/app-misc:freeplane-1.5.18:20170801-122045.log'.
 * For convenience, a symlink to the build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/temp/environment'.
 * Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/work/freeplane-1.5.18'
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/work/freeplane-1.5.18'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian.au
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 422
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I don't use it from portage :) it's quite trivial to install manually did you try that?
To see why the ebuild failed you need to wgetpaste the build log and post the output of
Code:
emerge --info =freeplane-1.5.18

Code:
java-config --list-available-vms
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wallsandfences
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When installting outside of portage, I get
Code:
which: no java in (/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/5.4.0)
ERROR:   Couldn't find a java virtual machine,
         define JAVACMD, JAVA_BINDIR, JAVA_HOME or PATH.


I conclude, it's too much harrasment to work outside portage for a non-tech like me.

R.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wallsandfences
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I have freeplane running. Why do you think it's better?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian.au
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 422
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wallsandfences wrote:
Ok, I have freeplane running. Why do you think it's better?

Putting aside the fact that the dev team is active and patch Java security issues as required, It suits my workflow better. Far superior export functionality / filters for exporting concept maps into multi level documents in libreoffice (in particular) which I need for turning project investigations easily into formatted reports. Export map to MS Word format works even better I'm told, but haven't used word for years so can't say.

It also has good built-in support for scripting simple functions ie.
Code:
 = children.sum(0){ it.to.num }
to sum values across child nodes, which wasn't so trivial to do in Freemind (when I last used it, which admittedly would have been probably in 2008 and may well have improved since) I've been using Freeplane since the fork in around 2008.

Also there are a couple of very handy add-ons, I use GTD+ daily to keep a quick visual track of deliverables scheduled over multiple projects. All in all there is a lot of power and extended functionality in Freeplane, particularly if you can do some rudimentary Java scripting (and trust me, rudimentary is a compliment to my skills with Java) but a lot of that functionality is hidden, and the basic package is remains simple and fast to use as a mind map tool.

I will say that I've found Freeplane over the years has worked better with Oracle java and some releases have choked on iced-tea (1.3.x iirc) so I put up with the fetch-restriction dance on Oracle Java upgrades to keep it running smoothly, but it has been worth it for me.

Of course ymmv, no guarantee etc...

HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13498

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wallsandfences wrote:
Ok, I have freeplane running.
While it's hopefully still in your history, would you mind posting how you did this? Managing system-wide packages through Portage is generally preferable to a manual install. If we can understand how to install it and why your initial attempt with Portage failed, we may be able to fix the ebuild, so that Freeplane can be managed through the package manager along with everything else. This provides uniform tracking of installed files, a way to express dependencies, and a generally smoother workflow than unmanaged installations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wallsandfences
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd be glad!

First step was to install via portage, which gave me the dependencies. Unfortunatly, the emerge of freeplane itself chrashed as shown above, and I couldnt find why. So copied freeplane manually to /opt as suggested and have it working.

I totally agree it's not desirable to hack it this way...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 389
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello.

Quote:
/var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/temp/environment: line 3712: gradle: command not found


Seeing this line, you can guess you are lacking a dependency: gradle.

Hope it helps.

++
Gi)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian.au
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 422
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

guitou wrote:
Hello.

Quote:
/var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/temp/environment: line 3712: gradle: command not found


Seeing this line, you can guess you are lacking a dependency: gradle.

Hope it helps.

++
Gi)

Or one can face reality - ref https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Gentoo_Java_Packing_Policy
Quote:
gradle - No integration with portage, build system cannot be used

Really sometimes it just makes sense to manage these applications manually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 389
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, sorry: saw a masked package when searching packages for gradle and simply thought it could help.

++
Gi)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian.au
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 422
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

guitou wrote:
Well, sorry: saw a masked package when searching packages for gradle and simply thought it could help.

++
Gi)

No worries. I think there is an ant build option for Freeplane, and someone who has skills with ebuild writing (this excludes me) could probably craft an ebuild that would work properly from that base.

I still really don't see the advantage in compiling this (type of) application tbh.

Cheers,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CaptainBlood
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Jan 2010
Posts: 996

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here:
Code:
eix freeplane
[I] app-misc/freeplane
     Available versions:  (~)1.5.18 {test ELIBC="FreeBSD"}
     Installed versions:  1.5.18(01:53:09 25/07/2017)(-test ELIBC="-FreeBSD")
     Homepage:            https://www.freeplane.org
     Description:         Java application for Mind Mapping, Knowledge and Project Management

builds fine too.
I'll test patching the ebuild for upstream latest stable & report if successful.

Many Thks 4 ur attention, interest & support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13498

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ian.au wrote:
I still really don't see the advantage in compiling this (type of) application tbh.
It's not about compiling the application. As I said above, it's about the consistency of being able to say that every file outside user home directories has an owning package and is tracked for eventual removal/replacement when an upgrade or uninstall happens. It's also nice to have its dependencies pinned in existence by the package manager, so that emerge --depclean does not remove them until the package is removed, and to then have Portage remove those dependencies once they are unnecessary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian.au
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 422
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
ian.au wrote:
I still really don't see the advantage in compiling this (type of) application tbh.
It's not about compiling the application. As I said above, it's about the consistency of being able to say that every file outside user home directories has an owning package and is tracked for eventual removal/replacement when an upgrade or uninstall happens. It's also nice to have its dependencies pinned in existence by the package manager, so that emerge --depclean does not remove them until the package is removed, and to then have Portage remove those dependencies once they are unnecessary.

No argument that it's preferable to manage applications through portage, but really the only dependency for Freeplane is a working java-vm >= 1.6 (although in my experience over the years the latest stable Oracle build is to be preferred) it's not a likely candidate for depcleaning. In my case there was no ebuild when I started using the application, so I have become accustomed to managing it outside portage. I have also occasionally needed to keep two branches installed contemporaneously, although that was for a particular use case, which was also trivial to manage.

I can't see that any real advantage comes of compiling this program from source; but to be clear, I am not suggesting installation of applications outside of Portage is in any way a desirable practice - just saying that this is one case where I find benefits and no real downside in the past decade of managing it myself.

Cheers,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
archenroot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Dec 2011
Posts: 196
Location: Lake Macha, Czech republic

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2018 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The issue with FreePlane is that it looks for gradle command and emerge freeplane finish as this:
Code:
>>> Compiling source in /var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/work/freeplane-1.5.18 ...
/var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/temp/environment: line 3601: gradle: command not found
 * ERROR: app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18::gentoo failed (compile phase):
 *   (no error message)


Reson behind is possibly bug in gradle package, the link create in bin by gradle package is created with suffix keeping the version in it, I do not understand the reason behind this (isn't it bug?):
Code:
unik ~ # equery f gradle-bin
 * Searching for gradle-bin ...
 * Contents of dev-java/gradle-bin-3.4.1:
/usr
/usr/bin
/usr/bin/gradle-3.4.1 -> /usr/share/gradle-bin-3.4.1/bin/gradle
/usr/share
/usr/share/doc
/usr/share/doc/gradle-bin-3.4.1
/usr/share/doc/gradle-bin-3.4.1/getting-started.html
/usr/share/doc/gradle-bin-3.4.1/release-notes.html
/usr/share/gradle-bin-3.4.1
/usr/share/gradle-bin-3.4.1/bin


So I created the expected "command" for FreePlane via dummy symlink:
Code:
nunik ~ # ln -s /usr/share/gradle-bin-3.4.1/bin/gradle /usr/bin/gradle
nunik ~ # gradle                                                                                 
Starting a Gradle Daemon (subsequent builds will be faster)


And now I can compile freeplane:
Code:
>> Compiling source in /var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/work/freeplane-1.5.18 ...
> Loading > settings > Compiling /var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/work/freeplane-1.5.18/> Loading > settings > Compiling /var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/work/freeplane-1.5.18/settings.gradle into local build cache > Compiling settings file '/var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freepl> Loading > settings > Compiling /var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/work/freeplane-1.5.18/> Configuring > 0/13 projects > root project > Compiling /var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/work/freeplane-1.5.18/build.gradle into local build cache > Compiling build file '/var/tmp/porta> Configuring > 0/13 projects > root project > Compiling /var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.1> Configuring > 0/13 projects > root project > Compiling /var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.5.18/work/freeplane-1.5.18/build.gradle into local build cache > Compiling build


Should I report bug on gradle?

Then I copied ebuild into my local overlay and upgraded to latest version 1.6.13, in such case I also had to add download link to ebuild as those 2 provided didn't work, so I added this to SRC_URI:
Code:
https://iweb.dl.sourceforge.net/project/freeplane/freeplane%20stable/${PN}_src-${PV}.tar.gz


But in this new version some new issue occured:
Code:
FAILURE: Build failed with an exception.

* Where:
Build file '/var/tmp/portage/app-misc/freeplane-1.6.13/work/freeplane-1.6.13/build.gradle' line: 2

* What went wrong:
Error resolving plugin [id: 'nebula.ospackage', version: '4.4.0']
> Plugin cannot be resolved from https://plugins.gradle.org/api/gradle because Gradle is running in offline mode

* Try:
Run with --stacktrace option to get the stack trace. Run with --info or --debug option to get more log output.


I looked at the repository and found the artefact:
https://plugins.gradle.org/plugin/nebula.ospackage/4.4.0

I also reported my observation on closed bug at github of gradle:
https://github.com/gradle/gradle/issues/3326

So I tried to download the plugin manually and build it locally on my system which should result in installation of the plugin into maven user local repo aka ~/.m2:
Code:
zangetsu@nunik ~/Downloads/gradle-ospackage-plugin-4.4.0 $ ls
build.gradle     gradle.properties.enc  README.md
CHANGELOG.md     gradlew                settings.gradle
CONTRIBUTING.md  gradlew.bat            src
gradle           LICENSE
zangetsu@nunik ~/Downloads/gradle-ospackage-plugin-4.4.0 $ gradle publishToMavenLocal


Check if plugin installed:
Code:
zangetsu@nunik ~/Downloads/gradle-ospackage-plugin-4.4.0 $ locate ospackage |grep m2
/home/zangetsu/.m2/repository/com/netflix/nebula/gradle-ospackage-plugin
/home/zangetsu/.m2/repository/com/netflix/nebula/gradle-ospackage-plugin/maven-metadata-local.xml
/home/zangetsu/.m2/repository/com/netflix/nebula/gradle-ospackage-plugin/unspecified
/home/zangetsu/.m2/repository/com/netflix/nebula/gradle-ospackage-plugin/unspecified/gradle-ospackage-plugin-unspecified-javadoc.jar
/home/zangetsu/.m2/repository/com/netflix/nebula/gradle-ospackage-plugin/unspecified/gradle-ospackage-plugin-unspecified-sources.jar
/home/zangetsu/.m2/repository/com/netflix/nebula/gradle-ospackage-plugin/unspecified/gradle-ospackage-plugin-unspecified-tests.jar
/home/zangetsu/.m2/repository/com/netflix/nebula/gradle-ospackage-plugin/unspecified/gradle-ospackage-plugin-unspecified.jar
/home/zangetsu/.m2/repository/com/netflix/nebula/gradle-ospackage-plugin/unspecified/gradle-ospackage-plugin-unspecified.pom


So, now try back to test installation of FreeMap, same error, shit... :-)), so manual install of plugin into maven ~/.m2 directory didn't help, ok I extracted source and tried to run full command from ebuild run as standard user (command extracted from ebuild error message):
Code:
gradle build -x check -x test


And it works, no report about offline mode, so what is wrong with gradle command wrapped into ebuild system causing gradle running in OFFLINE mode? Is it issue with Gradle or Portage restriction... ?

Anyway I suspected something could be wrong with obsolete version of gradle itself and looked around in overlays and found actually following packages:
Code:
# required by gradle (argument)
=dev-java/gradle-4.5 ~amd64
# required by dev-java/gradle-4.5::junkdrawer
# required by gradle (argument)
=app-eselect/eselect-gradle-0.1-r1 ~amd64


in Junkdrawer Overlay. Note there is also eselect available, nice one. Another aspect is that it autocreates the symlink:
Code:
nunik /var/lib/layman/archenroot/app-misc/freeplane # ls -la /usr/bin/gradle
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 10 Mar  2 07:38 /usr/bin/gradle -> gradle-4.5
nunik /var/lib/layman/archenroot/app-misc/freeplane # ls -la /usr/bin/gradle-4.5
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 203 Mar  2 07:38 /usr/bin/gradle-4.5
nunik /var/lib/layman/archenroot/app-misc/freeplane #


But same error only after this I noticed this line in ebuild:
Code:
GRADLE="${GRADLE} --offline"


So I commented out this line and now freeplane latest version is running in Gentoo way. I think it will even run with older Gentoo stable tree gradle-bin package with just commented out or removed --offline switch.

One last change in original ebuild must be done to change command:
Code:
cd BUILD


to
Code:
cd BIN


Later I realized both eselect and gradle (not binary version) are both in Java overlay official Gentoo one.
_________________
Emperor wants to control outer space Yoda wants to explore inner space that's the fundamental difference between good and bad sides of the Force
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toad3k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Dec 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah you saved me. I didn't realize this error was in the ebuild file itself. Figured it was some weird gradle bug I'd never figure out.

archenroot wrote:


One last change in original ebuild must be done to change command:
Code:
cd BUILD


to
Code:
cd BIN


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum