XFCE Nvidia Tearing even w/ Compton
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sjgieson
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 1:12 pm    Post subject: XFCE Nvidia Tearing even w/ Compton Reply with quote

Hello everyone,

I have been running XFCE and compton for tear free UI since about 2013. Sometime in about the 6-8 months I started getting bad tearing. Easy to see in a web browser window, both on Chromium and Firefox. Every time I think I have it figured it out , it's there. I about ready to just drop XFCE to see it is this cause. I am running nvidia drivers, tried several version, no help.

Anyone else with XFCE have this issue? Its obviously there when I drop Compton as well and either using built-in compositing or none at all.

Thanks.
duby2291
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 11:06 pm    Post subject: Re: XFCE Nvidia Tearing even w/ Compton Reply with quote

sjgieson wrote:
Hello everyone,

I have been running XFCE and compton for tear free UI since about 2013. Sometime in about the 6-8 months I started getting bad tearing. Easy to see in a web browser window, both on Chromium and Firefox. Every time I think I have it figured it out , it's there. I about ready to just drop XFCE to see it is this cause. I am running nvidia drivers, tried several version, no help.

Anyone else with XFCE have this issue? Its obviously there when I drop Compton as well and either using built-in compositing or none at all.

Thanks.

I don't think there is anything you can do, nVidia has a really shitty DDX driver. It doesn't have any options for tearfree or vertical sync. At least with the open source DDX drivers, including the modesetting DDX, there are working options for tearfree and vertical sync and what not.

You can try other desktops, but a compositor cannot fix tearing and nVidia's drivers don't expose the configuration needed.
Juippisi
Guru
Guru