Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Possible to run multiple desktop environments?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tuggbuss
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2017
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 7:28 pm    Post subject: Possible to run multiple desktop environments? Reply with quote

I'm on xfce4 since a month back, when i installed gentoo. Everything runs fine, stable and it's all just great.
I do like to add KDE and plasma-meta to my system, but it always fails to emerge.
Do i have to add or remove use flags for this manually, or is it some how set up with the installation?

I followed handbook and did following (in order)

Code:
$ sudo eselect profile set 6
(beeing "default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma")

then

Code:
# echo "kde-plasma/plasma-meta fontconfig gtk3 handbook pulseaudio semantic-desktop" >> /etc/portage/package.use/plasma-meta


and

Code:
# emerge --update --deep --newuse @world


And then i got som different use-flag issues, thats ok, i can add/remove use flags globally (in make.conf) and locally (in /etc/portage/package.use/plasma-meta)

But am i doing it in the right way/order?

And my current make.conf (i have switched back to desktop profile and have done an update again)

Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
MAKEOPTS="-j16"
EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--jobs 16"
CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
# These are the USE and USE_EXPAND flags that were used for
# buidling in addition to what is provided by the profile.
USE="X -bindist gtk3 xfce -qt4 pcre16 qt5 alsa pulseaudio bluetooth -handbook networkmanager python alisp -legacy-systray -debug acpi hddtemp lm_sensors"
CPU_FLAGS_X86="aes avx avx2 fma3 mmxext popcnt mmx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/tmp"
DISTDIR="${PORTDIR}/distfiles"
PKGDIR="${PORTDIR}/packages"
VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://trumpetti.atm.tut.fi/gentoo/ http://mirror.mdfnet.se/gentoo"
GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64"
XFCE_PLUGINS="clock power trash"
#FEATURES="ccache"
#CCACHE_SIZE="32G"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2546

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can run as many as you want. It may require some use flag foo in order to do so.

I wouldn't set the plasma desktop profile. It is enough to set the required use flags, perhaps even on a per package basis. You will require the kde and plasma use flags. Perhaps even a few more.
Quote:
Code:
# echo "kde-plasma/plasma-meta fontconfig gtk3 handbook pulseaudio semantic-desktop" >> /etc/portage/package.use/plasma-meta
was never more than a start. The meta package is just a list of other packages to install. It may or may not enforce these use flags on the packages and if it does it will be by producing an error.

Your make.conf looks fine to me.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuggbuss
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2017
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Doctor wrote:
You can run as many as you want. It may require some use flag foo in order to do so.

I wouldn't set the plasma desktop profile. It is enough to set the required use flags, perhaps even on a per package basis. You will require the kde and plasma use flags. Perhaps even a few more.
Quote:
Code:
# echo "kde-plasma/plasma-meta fontconfig gtk3 handbook pulseaudio semantic-desktop" >> /etc/portage/package.use/plasma-meta
was never more than a start. The meta package is just a list of other packages to install. It may or may not enforce these use flags on the packages and if it does it will be by producing an error.

Your make.conf looks fine to me.


Okey, thank you. Then i go with the "desktop" profile and add use flags manually to make.conf and package.use
I'll try this tomorrow, beeing late here in Sweden @ the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 2882
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How are you launching X11? If you are using xdm, I can show you how to select the desktop at login. There are some DM's that will do this as a built-in feature.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuggbuss
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2017
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony0945 wrote:
How are you launching X11? If you are using xdm, I can show you how to select the desktop at login. There are some DM's that will do this as a built-in feature.


Thanks.
I'm using xdm, with lightdm autostarting. Thinking of swithing to sddm and go "full KDE" having xfce4 as backup/fallback.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_Nomad_
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Apr 2003
Posts: 571

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I find using xinit is quite nice for testing out new wm/de as .xinitrc is quite versatile. I use bspwm by default but can quite easily start another wm on another tty by simply running
Code:
startx xmonad
and switch between them by using ctrl+alt+Fx. Below is my .xinitrc for reference ;)

Code:
#xrandr --setprovideroutputsource modesetting NVIDIA-0
#xrandr --auto

xrandr --dpi 192
export GDK_SCALE=2

# Touchpad config
xinput --set-prop 13 "libinput Tapping Enabled" 1 &
xinput --set-prop 13 "libinput Natural Scrolling Enabled" 1 &
xinput --set-prop 13 "libinput Accel Speed" 0.7 &

xinput --set-prop 11 "Device Enabled" 0 & # Turn off the bloody touchscreen

# Powersaving off
xset -dpms
xset s off
xset -b

setxkbmap -option terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp
#/home/nomad/bin/bluetooth-lock.py & #Lock screen when phone is not pinged

###### For gnome-keyring to work #######
eval $(/usr/bin/gnome-keyring-daemon --start --components=pkcs11,secrets,ssh)
export SSH_AUTH_SOCK

[[ -f ~/.Xresources ]] && xrdb -merge -I$HOME ~/.Xresources # Add colorscheme from .Xresources
feh --bg-scale /home/nomad/Pictures/Wallpapers/Simple/Evening_walk.jpg & # Set wallpaper
redshift-gtk -l 59.334591:18.063240 & # Change color temp based on location

WM=${3:-bspwm}

case $WM in

   awesome)
   ###### AwesomeWM ######
      #compton -f -b -c -C --backend glx &
      exec awesome
      ;;
   i3)
   ###### I3-Gaps ######
      xset s 600 &
      xss-lock -l -- $HOME/bin/i3lock-daniel3.sh &
      #compton -f -b -c -C --backend glx &
      exec i3 --shmlog-size=26214400 &
      ;;
   bspwm)
   ###### Bspwm ######
      sxhkd &
      polybar daniels &
      twmnd &
      nm-applet &
      clipit &
      blueman-applet &
      set s 600 &
      xss-lock -l -- $HOME/bin/i3lock-daniel3.sh &
      #compton & # slowing down chromium + vimium ext -- FIX!
      xsetroot -cursor_name left_ptr &
      exec bspwm
      ;;
   gnome)
   ###### Gnome ######
      exec gnome-session
      ;;
   xmonad)
   ###### XMonad #####
      xsetroot -cursor_name left_ptr &
      exec /usr/bin/xmonad
      ;;
esac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum