Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Dolphin smb invalid protocol [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
andorreJr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Nov 2008
Posts: 42
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 1:29 pm    Post subject: Dolphin smb invalid protocol [SOLVED] Reply with quote

hi all, yesterday I realized that I'm not able anymore to browse my network or to insert a specific location (ie: smb://server/dir ).
I always have the "smb invalid protocol" message from dolphin. Is there something new I've missed?
At the beginning of this week it worked ...

This is my USE variable in make.conf:

Code:
USE="ads alsa avahi bluetooth cdr cifs dvd gtk hal java java6 kde lisa qt3 qt4
     samba sambafs xcb xcomposite xinerama zeroconf -gnome -ipv6"


I've tried to recompile kde-base/kdebase-kioslaves and kde-base/dolphin without success,
any suggestions?


Last edited by andorreJr on Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2541
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's very strange because I had to recompile kdebase-kioslaves
with USE=samba and then I can see samba shares in dolphin

I guess you can triple check that kioslaves was built with samba
useflag on.
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andorreJr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Nov 2008
Posts: 42
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

first of all, thanks for the reply
this is my kdebase-kioslave:

Code:
localhost ~ # emerge --pretend -v kdebase-kioslaves

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies ... done!
[ebuild   R   ] kde-base/kdebase-kioslaves-4.3.2  USE="bzip2 handbook samba (-aqua) -debug (-kdeprefix) -lzma -openexr" 0 kB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 kB


maybe it sounds stupid, but as I can remember, the samba service is not necessary in order to browse smb location, am I wrong?
I tell you this because the only problem I can see right now is that I can't upgrade to the new version of samba meta package (3.4.2). Could the two things be related ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andorreJr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Nov 2008
Posts: 42
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've re-emerged kdebase-meta package (which wanted to reinstall also kdelibs) and now it works again.

Just to answer my own question:
Quote:
maybe it sounds stupid, but as I can remember, the samba service is not necessary in order to browse smb location, am I wrong?

I've found that the only samba thing needed in order to use smb protocol in konqueror/dolphin is the samba-libs package.

"The smb ioslave requires that you have libsmbclient to use this ioslave" (taken from the kde-kioslaves documentation)

and libsmbclient is part of net-fs/samba-libs

:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2541
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, that's a relief
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mimamau
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jun 2002
Posts: 160
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem with gnome and nautilus. USE contains "samba" and gvfs is also buit with samba support. What am I missing? A few days ago it was working well...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rayan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know it's a very old topic, but I had the same issue.
And as in 2017, all I had to do was emerge both kde-apps/kdebase-kioslaves and kde-apps/kio-extras with samba use flag.
I hope it helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StevenHT
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rayan wrote:
I know it's a very old topic, but I had the same issue.
And as in 2017, all I had to do was emerge both kde-apps/kdebase-kioslaves and kde-apps/kio-extras with samba use flag.
I hope it helps


I solved the problem with the same solution. Thanks, Rayan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7000
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please note that kde-apps/kdebase-kioslaves:4 serves no purpose to dolphin:5.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StevenHT
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
Please note that kde-apps/kdebase-kioslaves:4 serves no purpose to dolphin:5.


Thank you very much for pointing it out. It still works well with kdebase-kioslaves removed. I did not pay attention to the meaning of (4) at first in the following message. Now I know it. :D

* kde-apps/kdebase-kioslaves
Available versions: (4) 16.04.3-r2(4/16.04)^t
{aqua +bzip2 debug exif +handbook lzma openexr samba +sftp +webkit}
Homepage: https://www.kde.org/
Description: KDE VFS framework - kioslaves present a filesystem-like view of arbitrary data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum