[SOLVED] ~/.config doesn't exist
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
cerkan
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:08 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] ~/.config doesn't exist Reply with quote

Hello

After I managed to finish my first gentoo installation. I decided to try other variations: different cflags systemd and wayland. Everything went fine but when I try to access weston.ini or sway.ini with "nano ~/.config/weston.ini" It says /root/.config directory does not exist. Things I did different from the first install are different kernel configuration, different USE flags and CFLAGS, I also did not install systemlogger and displaymanager.
Could anyone help me with this? I am fairly new to linux also I am not a native english speaker so go easy please.
Let me know if make.conf or kernel config is needed.
Thanks in advance.

Last edited by cerkan on Wed Apr 26, 2017 12:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
cboldt
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The .config you are looking for has nothing to do with the kernel. The .config you are looking for is a directory that is used to contain various display/Wayland/Weston (and many other) configuration files.

The kernel .config file will be at /usr/src/[some_version]/.config

The Wayland/Weston config files will be at the users home directory, which for a regular user is /home/$USER, but for root is /root

The user "root" shouldn't be running X-Windows, which is, I believe, the platform where Wayland/Weston are most often used. Not that he (or she) can't, just shouldn't. If you have had a user other than "root" run X-Windows, that user's .config directory is at /home/$USER/.config
cerkan
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote