Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Plasma don't install language
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sebB
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 730
Location: S.O. France

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:50 am    Post subject: Plasma don't install language Reply with quote

Hello,

Somebody know why the french langage is not installed when I emerge plasma-meta?
In my make.conf I have L10N="fr".

I have to install manually kde-apps/kde-l10n and kde-apps/kde4-l10n to have a french system.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6824
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Plasma and Applications are two different things. Plasma ships localisation itself. Applications need the *-l10n packages. Those are pulled in though by the respective kde-apps/*-meta packages.

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE#Localization
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebB
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 730
Location: S.O. France

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks,

My mistake was to think that, for exemple, installing only dolphin will enable kde-l10n.
I had not read that only meta packages are affected by this USE.

Why not enabling language for all apps?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6824
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adding a use flag to ~230 packages adding all the same optional runtime dependency? Then having to rebuild them all for nothing if you want to change it - no thanks. ;) There's only one acceptable place for optional runtime deps like these, and that's in meta packages where rebuilds don't matter.

Maybe the next major release (not the upcoming) is going to get rid of the separate l10n packages altogether.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mv
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 6276

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
There's only one acceptable place for optional runtime deps like these, and that's in meta packages where rebuilds don't matter.

It becomes really time for EAPI 7 with IUSE_RUNTIME https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GLEP:62 being implemented ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. T.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have read the thread but I felt like I did not understand. That is why I would like to add some details.

An application can be installed with a set of applications (a meta package) or separately (one application) ;
moreover a meta-package can be composed by meta-packages.

kde-apps-meta-16.12.3-r1.ebuild :
# Copyright 1999-2017 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2

EAPI=6

inherit kde5-meta-pkg

DESCRIPTION="Meta package for the KDE Applications collection"
KEYWORDS="~amd64 ~x86"
IUSE="accessibility pim sdk"

RDEPEND="
        $(add_kdeapps_dep kate)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep kdeadmin-meta)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep kdecore-meta)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep kdeedu-meta)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep kdegames-meta)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep kdegraphics-meta)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep kdemultimedia-meta)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep kdenetwork-meta)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep kdeutils-meta)
        accessibility? ( $(add_kdeapps_dep kdeaccessibility-meta) )
        pim? ( kde-apps/kdepim-meta:* )
        sdk? (
                $(add_kdeapps_dep kdesdk-meta)
                $(add_kdeapps_dep kdewebdev-meta)
        )
"

The L10N (USE_EXPAND) variable only apply to meta-packages.

The concept does not appear in the thread and the explanation is too abstract. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6824
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because USE_EXPAND was not the question of this thread, and USE_EXPAND is not involved at all with the meta packages.

Your example is actually the only meta package that does not pull in any -l10n package :D Because it is the meta-meta package - instead, you will find it in every single one of its *-meta RDEPENDs.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. T.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finding the answer may be difficult! :arrow:

kdeutils-meta-16.12.3-r1.ebuild:
# Copyright 1999-2017 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2

EAPI=6

inherit kde5-meta-pkg

DESCRIPTION="kdeutils - merge this to pull in all kdeutils-derived packages"
HOMEPAGE="https://www.kde.org/applications/utilities https://utils.kde.org"
KEYWORDS="~amd64 ~x86"
IUSE="cups floppy lirc nls"

[[ ${KDE_BUILD_TYPE} = live ]] && L10N_MINIMAL=${KDE_APPS_MINIMAL}

RDEPEND="
        $(add_kdeapps_dep ark)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep filelight)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep kcalc)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep kcharselect)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep kdebugsettings)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep kdf)
        kde-apps/kgpg:*
        $(add_kdeapps_dep kteatime)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep ktimer)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep kwalletmanager)
        $(add_kdeapps_dep sweeper)
        cups? ( $(add_kdeapps_dep print-manager) )
        floppy? ( $(add_kdeapps_dep kfloppy) )
        lirc? ( $(add_kdeapps_dep kremotecontrol) )
        nls? (
                $(add_kdeapps_dep kde-l10n '' ${L10N_MINIMAL})
                $(add_kdeapps_dep kde4-l10n '' ${L10N_MINIMAL})
        )
"


kde5-functions.eclass:
KDE_APPS_MINIMAL ?= 14.12.0
    Minimal KDE Applications version to require for the package.


KDE Wiki wrote:
While Frameworks and Plasma are shipping their translations per-package, localization of KDE Applications is provided via separate *-l10n packages.
The nls USE flag is enabled by default for linux profiles, and it is used by KDE Applications meta packages to pull in the necessary dependencies.


I will soon understand. Thanks for the layout!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6824
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're just quoting the min version setting. Look at the USE=nls flag and what it enables.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. T.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

astrum wrote:
You're just quoting the min version setting. Look at the USE=nls flag and what it enables.

I am not sure if you talk about the kdeutils-meta-*.ebuild or the nls use flag in general?

kdeutils-meta-16.12.3-r1.ebuild:
  nls? (
                $(add_kdeapps_dep kde-l10n '' ${L10N_MINIMAL})
                $(add_kdeapps_dep kde4-l10n '' ${L10N_MINIMAL})
        ) "

euses -f nls:
nls - Add Native Language Support (using gettext - GNU locale utilities)

I look at the kde-l10n-16.12.3.ebuild but I do not understand bash.

kde5.eclass wrote:
KDE_L10N
This is an array of translations this ebuild supports. These translations are automatically added to IUSE.

kde-l10n-16.12.3.ebuild:
KDE_L10N=(
        ar ast bg bs ca ca-valencia cs da de el en-GB eo es et eu fa fi fr ga gl he
        hi hr hu ia id is it ja kk km ko lt lv mr nb nds nl nn pa pl pt pt-BR ro ru
        sk sl sr sr-ijekavsk sr-Latn sr-Latn-ijekavsk sv tr ug uk wa zh-CN zh-TW
)

Package Manager Specification wrote:
IUSE is the variable calculated from the IUSE values defined in ebuilds and eclasses.

USE is a variable calculated by the package manager and exported to the ebuild environment.

USE_EXPAND Defines a list of variables which are to be treated incrementally and whose contents
are to be expanded into the USE variable as passed to ebuilds. See section 11.1.1 for details.

I have not discover the link between the nls USE flag and other variables like LINGUAS (used by gettext) or L10N (the USE_EXPAND variable).

I have no clues. I do not know Portage (the ebuild software, emerge, and the Package Manager Specification)!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6824
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

helecho wrote:
I am not sure if you talk about the kdeutils-meta-*.ebuild or the nls use flag in general?

Context: The ebuild that you quoted above. And you'll see kde-apps/kde-l10n and kde-apps/kde4-l10n being pulled in...

helecho wrote:
I have not discover the link between the nls USE flag and other variables like LINGUAS (used by gettext) or L10N (the USE_EXPAND variable).[/color]

There is none, it's just a regular global USE flag enabling localisation in packages / pulling in additional packages to get localisation. It has no direct effect on LINGUAS and L10N...


Learning about Portage is out of scope of this (solved) thread.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. T.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

astrum wrote:
Learning about Portage is out of scope of this (solved) thread.

Of course, I do not intend to disrupt the subject. However, the management of the localization seems mysterious. In fact, I do not decrypt all the information.

Thanks you for the tips!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum