Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[RESOLVED] Strange issues after physically move of computer
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
UralZima
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 6:02 am    Post subject: [RESOLVED] Strange issues after physically move of computer Reply with quote

Hello people. Something bad happened with my computer, please help.

All was fine about 2 years, until I moved my computer with 4 monitors physically to another place. I've connected all cables and when booted, I saw shitty glitches on my DP monitor. Very strange, all was fine before. I swapped DP monitor with HDMI one (it is smaller), and glitches seems disappeared (but before it worked well on DP). Also mouse cursor became VERY BIG, when moving into some app. All I changed, was rearranging monitors 2 up and 2 down (before it was in one row). I fixed mouse cursor by setting it's size in settings.

BUT Yakuake stopped working at all.
user@localhost ~ $ yakuake
Attempted to re-run an already running session.

It keeps running but no any reaction to F12.
I checked global shortcuts, tried to change it, deleted yakuakerc, nothing helped.
When I do 'middle-click' with mouse on some link, it opens in new tab after a few tries. When I move a window with mouse, it is moving with big delay.
Other parts of system seems work well, apps running, etc, but yakuake and these monitors/mouse issues... Very strange.

Please help getting yakuake to work, or help understand what happened (cosmic rays?)
Guake also does not activate by F12, only if click systray icon

Gentoo hardened, Linux 4.9.16+grsecurity, GK106 with nouveau+blogs, Plasma 5.9.4, QT 5.7.1, Yakuake 3.0.2

Dmesg and syslog not showing anything special. fsck ok.

Thanks


Last edited by UralZima on Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:47 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sevendogs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 7:40 pm    Post subject: Moving Reply with quote

This is a long shot but has the system been rebooted in those 2 years it sat on the original location? I ask this because if it was running the whole time and updates or changes happened, you may not notice the difference until a reboot.

Like I said, a long shot but worth asking anyway.
_________________
When asked "Are you a god or a man?" the Buddha replied "I am awake."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UralZima
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for reply. Yes, system was rebooted.
I think I resolved it, but there is a bug. When I moved all monitors in one row, all problems disappeared. It seems plasma does not work well if monitors are arranged up and down.
I'll report bug upstream.
So [RESOLVED]

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum