Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED-ish] KDE detecting monitor changes: start/stop/pause
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
netjiro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 47
Location: Liechtenstein

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 1:03 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED-ish] KDE detecting monitor changes: start/stop/pause Reply with quote

Hi. I run a 3 monitor setup from an intel nuc NUC6i7KYK. KDE plasma ca v5.8 detects and handles all monitors nicely.
How to make kde stop/pause detecting changes in the monitor setup? E.g. if I temporarily turn off one or more of the monitors I don't want it to rearrange my desktop. I don't mind that all windows on the "off" monitors will be unavailable while it's off. How to turn the automatic detection back on or unpause?

monitor 1: 1600x1200 via hdmi > dvi converter cable
monitor 2: 2160x3840 via mdp (portrait)
monitor 3: 1024x768 via thunderbolt 3 usb-c > dvi converter plug

The thunderbolt 3 > dvi converter plug actually already fools the detection system to report the 1024x768 projector as always "on". But if I turn off either of the other two monitors the change will be detected and KDE will try to rearrange the desktop leading to all kinds of things I don't like. I usually keep most windows strictly to one monitor or the other and it would be good to be able to simply turn off the monitor I don't need for a while (often hours or days depending on work tasks).


Last edited by netjiro on Sun May 07, 2017 6:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My opinion:

You should set up a xorg.conf with a static setup of the screens.

with these contents:

left of main, resolution @ VFREQ
main screen, resolution @ VFREQ
right of main, resolution @ VFREQ

--

Not sure how KDE influences the behaviour of X.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
netjiro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 47
Location: Liechtenstein

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the tip, seems like a straight forward solution :)

Will that stop kscreen / kded / xrandr or whatnot other stuff from fiddling with the settings though?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For i3wm with nvidia-drivers, I can keep the external screen active when I have set them up temporarily with nvidia-settings, regardless of the power turned on or off for my external screens.

Its just plain xorg syntax. nvidia binary driver manual has a decent intro how to set it up

I doubt xrandr will cause fuss.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
netjiro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 47
Location: Liechtenstein

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

An alternative solution, very quick and simple, though not as robust:

Turn off the KDE background service "KScreen 2", seems to not trigger the serious problems.
But it has some bugs where it will for example crash the task bar: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=210439
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
netjiro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 47
Location: Liechtenstein

PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been fiddling with this on and off. The setup that works best for me under current circumstances are what Roman suggested:
a very simple xorg.conf.d setup with basic monitor, device, serverlayout sections.
BUT: the "KScreen 2" service must be turned off, otherwise it will come back to fiddle around with the settings with a somewhat random behaviour.

A few things still get screwed up when the monitor marked as "primary" is manually switched off, but it's easy enough to fix and doesn't usually create any serious crashes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum