Trying to keep data while re-installing Linux
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Leo Navis
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:59 pm    Post subject: Trying to keep data while re-installing Linux Reply with quote

Hi,

First of all, I have little experience in Gentoo so don't expect me to understand everything right away, I may ask stupid questions ...

Now. I have an installation of Sabayon Linux on my Computer, it fills up my entire 320gb. The Sabayon works fine but there are several issues that makes me want to use the original again. I do have problems using the program-manager for example portage was so much easier - I also enjoyed pacman ... but I decided for Gentoo again since some time I don't feel the way Arch has taken.

Back then, when I installed Sabayon however (before that was Windows, mostly better for Gaming) I was stupid and didn't make a /home partition. Instead, it's all on the / , crumbled up like shit.

So here's my question. Without using a second drive is it possible to save the /home-data while reinstalling the rest of the system? Like an overwrite over a livedvd.

Is that possible? Would be great. I'd hate losing all my data.

Thx in advance,
Leonard
Hu

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. The details vary depending on whether you want to take this time to split it out to a separate partition or just put down Gentoo and retain the single partition design. Regardless of your choice, I suggest you verify your most recent backup before you begin. This procedure will only lose data if you make a mistake, but mistakes are easy to make here and can be quite destructive.