Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Firefox's tab busy circle is flickering or blinking?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
minsoehan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jan 2015
Posts: 101
Location: Yangon, Burma. (Mother Su's Country)

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 4:11 pm    Post subject: Firefox's tab busy circle is flickering or blinking? Reply with quote

I use Gentoo (Systemd) + KDE Plasma.
Whenever I open a website in Firefox, busy circle at Tab is flickering or blinking when loading page.
It has been months. I googled and found some post about that problem and suggest that to uncheck "Preference --> Advanced --> [ ] Use hardware acceleration when available".
I tried it but it doesn't solve the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tholin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Oct 2008
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also have that problem and not just in firefox but thunderbird as well. Since the problem only seems to be cosmetic I've ignored it.

https://www.reddit.com/r/archlinux/comments/4cojj9/it_is_probably_time_to_ditch_xf86videointel/d1k3fio/
This thread mention "graphical glitches in GTK (flashing gray background behind spinning elements)" with xf86-video-intel that goes away when using modesetting. Might be something to look into if you are also using intel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried very hard to hold off on a me-too response, but since there's another me-too I have to add more info:

Alas I also see it on both my Intel and ATI boxes. I am using KMS on the Intel and usiing fglrx on the ATI - two different graphics subsystems. Yes it's also on systemd boxes.

Agreed, it's cosmetic, but it's really distracting...

A video is temporarily here: http://star.vanade.com/flickerfire.mpeg ...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just noticed there is a USE=hwaccel flag and it was unset. Since 45.8 is now out, trying to see what happens if I build it... Update/Edit in about 30 minutes (download (slow) + merge (fast...))

[EDIT]

No change, still flickers... :(

[EDIT]

- My openrc box with Intel graphics box is also affected.
- my openrc virtual machine running Xvnc is also affected.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum