Updating old system
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
vanger
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 5:01 am    Post subject: Updating old system Reply with quote

Hello!

I didn't update the system for more than a year. Am I right that the optimal way to update it is to load snapshots successively, starting from the closest to the last update, update system with him, and repeat that with more and more recent snapshots?

I mean optimal in the following way. The system is heavily used by me, so it would be great to have a working system at every update step. I'm a newbie in Gentoo, so I'd prefer a way with many simple steps to the one with a few hardcore ones. I'm in no hurry, in a way that I can live without the last update for a while.

Am I right that using the aforementioned strategy I would just have the system up to date to the time of a given snapshot? And as I would fight some update problems anyway, that way I would fight them more smooth?

And am I right that I need to use an old snapshot at least one time anyway because my profile (kde) changed to another one (plasma)?
The Doctor

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 6:03 am    Post subject: Re: Updating old system Reply with quote

vanger wrote:
Hello!
Hello and welcome to the Forum!
vanger wrote:
I didn't update the system for more than a year. Am I right that the optimal way to update it is to load snapshots successively, starting from the closest to the last update, update system with him, and repeat that with more and more recent snapshots?
Well, no. The optimal way is to start over from scratch. A year is going to be painful. But if you can accept the pain we may be able to help. Maybe, or you may have an unmanageable mess. Start with backups or you may get to keep the pieces. You can't do this incrementally or safely. You have been warned.