gentoo system crash
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
squirrelsoup
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:41 am    Post subject: gentoo system crash Reply with quote

today while i was playing online game my gentoo boxed crashed hard i had to hard reset it, the keyboard and mouse did not respond.
i have been customizing the genkernel slightly however i am not sure if my gentoo box got hacked.
i have little knowledge about Linux, can someone look into my log files to see what caused to system crash?

Xorg.0.log - https://paste.pound-python.org/show/J116odahtRl6rAogke8Q/
messages - https://paste.pound-python.org/show/MVILFdVzy2MJYZpUF4nJ/
dmesg - https://paste.pound-python.org/show/wOILcrL5TisvmTlVSzBD/
genkernel.log - https://paste.pound-python.org/show/qnQjAvu0kEcExvvXbskr/

i also noticed this is my aide check:
Code:
Directory: /lib64/rc/console
 Mtime    : 2017-01-26 05:36:55              , 2017-01-26 12:19:52
 Ctime    : 2017-01-26 05:36:55              , 2017-01-26 12:19:52

File: /lib64/rc/console/keymap

File: /lib64/rc/console/unicode

did my box got pwned or did something else caused the system crash?

Last edited by squirrelsoup on Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
lexflex
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Isn't it more likely the system overheated during gaming ?
Btw, if you say 'online game' , do you mean an ' in browser' game ?
Maybe start monitoring your temperature and see if the systems stays cool enough when playing...

Alex.
squirrelsoup
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote