Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
WiFi works, dont works
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
skater4
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jan 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 8:16 am    Post subject: WiFi works, dont works Reply with quote

Hello guys. I have very strange issue after installed Gentoo.

Just when installed, ive set up WiFi using wpa supplicant and it worked. After the reboot its not worked. I couldnt turn on wlo1, it raised input\output error. THEN. Ive loaded kubuntu (already installed) and WiFi there also not worked. THEN. Ive restarted the laptop with kubuntu - it works now 0.o. THEN loaded Gentoo - it aswell works 0.o. THEN restarted Gentoo - dont work. Load kubuntu - dont work. Restart kubuntu - work etc...

Please, help me :) I'm newbie in Gentoo :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7895
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!,

Can you give us more information : wifi chipset, output of dmesg.

Did you loaded the required firmware?
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skater4
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jan 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xaviermiller wrote:
Hi!,

Can you give us more information : wifi chipset, output of dmesg.

Did you loaded the required firmware?


yo. how can I gather this information :)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

See https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Wifi or device specific articles like https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Iwlwifi or https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Qualcomm_Atheros_QCA6174.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My internet service provided gave me a multi modem with wifi functionality.
It looses wifi regardless if its a smartphone / tablet / notebook.

the only workaround was to set permanently one channel which reduced a bit these lost wifi issues. the channel handover seems to be broken in android / linux or on the multi modem site!

Too bad there are no wifi AC cards for mini pcie on marktet for notebooks. only for m2 standard which was introduced recently.

A better placement of the wifi node, setting tx power may helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7895
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe... but let's determine first if the drivers are well installed and configured.
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skater4
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jan 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xaviermiller wrote:
Maybe... but let's determine first if the drivers are well installed and configured.


my chip is ralink RT3290

dmesg: https://paste.pound-python.org/show/inImQyaXo5cC8UXVsQdv/

ive installed linux-firmware
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
[ 7.017073] Warning: Processor Platform Limit event detected, but not handled.
[ 7.017103] Consider compiling CPUfreq support into your kernel.
[ 7.020591] thermal LNXTHERM:00: registered as thermal_zone0
[ 7.020625] ACPI: Thermal Zone [THRM] (93 C)


Do you have issue with overheating ? 93 degress is quite hot. is the cooling system blocked with dust? old thermal paste on cpu?

you should add CPUfreq to your kernel. check cpu frequency-scaling section of the kernel for your type of cpu.

I doubt a pavilon notebook has fiberchannel, or any adaptec ("maybe raid") controllers. Check whats loaded with lspci -kk and remove the unneeded bload from the hardware "SCSI" / "Harddisc / optical drive controllers"

Quote:
[ 9.145087] Emulex LightPulse Fibre Channel SCSI driver 11.0.0.0.

8.959254] LSI 3ware SAS/SATA-RAID Controller device driver for Linux v3.26.02.000.
[ 8.965227] 3ware Storage Controller device driver for Linux v1.26.02.003.
[ 8.970914] 3ware 9000 Storage Controller device driver for Linux v2.26.02.014.
[ 8.987404] HP CISS Driver (v 3.6.26)
[ 9.026135] Adaptec aacraid driver 1.2-1[41010]-ms
[ 9.039866] megaraid cmm: 2.20.2.7 (Release Date: Sun Jul 16 00:01:03 EST 2006)
[ 9.043307] megaraid: 2.20.5.1 (Release Date: Thu Nov 16 15:32:35 EST 2006)
[ 9.057673] megasas: 06.808.16.00-rc1
[ 9.107228] qla2xxx [0000:00:00.0]-0005: : QLogic Fibre Channel HBA Driver: 8.07.00.26-k.
[ 9.145087] Emulex LightPulse Fibre Channel SCSI driver 11.0.0.0.
[ 9.145091] Copyright(c) 2004-2015 Emulex. All rights reserved.
[ 9.179280] aic94xx: Adaptec aic94xx SAS/SATA driver version 1.0.3 loaded
[ 9.244593] usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage


Quote:
[ 10.800779] EXT2-fs (sda11): error: couldn't mount because of unsupported optional features (240)
[ 10.800891] EXT4-fs (sda11): couldn't mount as ext3 due to feature incompatibilities
[ 10.822007] EXT4-fs (sda11): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)


check your fstab. it seems sdad11 is an ext4 volume mounted as ext2 or ext3

Quote:
[ 18.708686] cfg80211: World regulatory domain updated:
[ 18.708698] cfg80211: DFS Master region: unset
[ 18.708702] cfg80211: (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp), (dfs_cac_time)
[ 18.708710] cfg80211: (2402000 KHz - 2472000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm), (N/A)
[ 18.708717] cfg80211: (2457000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 20000 KHz, 92000 KHz AUTO), (N/A, 2000 mBm), (N/A)
[ 18.708723] cfg80211: (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm), (N/A)
[ 18.708729] cfg80211: (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 80000 KHz, 160000 KHz AUTO), (N/A, 2000 mBm), (N/A)
[ 18.708736] cfg80211: (5250000 KHz - 5330000 KHz @ 80000 KHz, 160000 KHz AUTO), (N/A, 2000 mBm), (0 s)
[ 18.708742] cfg80211: (5490000 KHz - 5730000 KHz @ 160000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm), (0 s)
[ 18.708747] cfg80211: (5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm), (N/A)
[ 18.708752] cfg80211: (57240000 KHz - 63720000 KHz @ 2160000 KHz), (N/A, 0 mBm), (N/A)


seems to be fine

Quote:
[ 31.926949] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Info - Loading firmware file 'rt3290.bin'
[ 31.944408] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Info - Firmware detected - version: 0.37


seems to be fine

Quote:
[ 31.970109] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlo1: link is not ready
[ 33.500826] wlo1: authenticate with 84:16:f9:20:03:d2
[ 33.504249] wlo1: send auth to 84:16:f9:20:03:d2 (try 1/3)
[ 33.506358] wlo1: authenticated
[ 33.507040] wlo1: associate with 84:16:f9:20:03:d2 (try 1/3)
[ 33.511007] wlo1: RX AssocResp from 84:16:f9:20:03:d2 (capab=0x431 status=0 aid=2)
[ 33.511080] wlo1: associated
[ 33.511095] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlo1: link becomes ready


seems to be fine

--

My opinion: It would have been interesting to see a dmesg when the box is having troubles with the wifi. Also /var/log/messages from that time.

You can start alternatively wpa_supplicant in a shell when you disable the system startup of that service. than oyu can see what happens.

Personally I need some debug info from wpa_supplicant /anything else which will tell us what is happening.

I did not saw anything which causes wifi issues, its probably from a good run, from a cold boot wihtout issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skater4
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jan 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Roman_Gruber wrote:
Quote:
[ 7.017073] Warning: Processor Platform Limit event detected, but not handled.
[ 7.017103] Consider compiling CPUfreq support into your kernel.
[ 7.020591] thermal LNXTHERM:00: registered as thermal_zone0
[ 7.020625] ACPI: Thermal Zone [THRM] (93 C)


Do you have issue with overheating ? 93 degress is quite hot. is the cooling system blocked with dust? old thermal paste on cpu?

you should add CPUfreq to your kernel. check cpu frequency-scaling section of the kernel for your type of cpu.

I doubt a pavilon notebook has fiberchannel, or any adaptec ("maybe raid") controllers. Check whats loaded with lspci -kk and remove the unneeded bload from the hardware "SCSI" / "Harddisc / optical drive controllers"

Quote:
[ 9.145087] Emulex LightPulse Fibre Channel SCSI driver 11.0.0.0.

8.959254] LSI 3ware SAS/SATA-RAID Controller device driver for Linux v3.26.02.000.
[ 8.965227] 3ware Storage Controller device driver for Linux v1.26.02.003.
[ 8.970914] 3ware 9000 Storage Controller device driver for Linux v2.26.02.014.
[ 8.987404] HP CISS Driver (v 3.6.26)
[ 9.026135] Adaptec aacraid driver 1.2-1[41010]-ms
[ 9.039866] megaraid cmm: 2.20.2.7 (Release Date: Sun Jul 16 00:01:03 EST 2006)
[ 9.043307] megaraid: 2.20.5.1 (Release Date: Thu Nov 16 15:32:35 EST 2006)
[ 9.057673] megasas: 06.808.16.00-rc1
[ 9.107228] qla2xxx [0000:00:00.0]-0005: : QLogic Fibre Channel HBA Driver: 8.07.00.26-k.
[ 9.145087] Emulex LightPulse Fibre Channel SCSI driver 11.0.0.0.
[ 9.145091] Copyright(c) 2004-2015 Emulex. All rights reserved.
[ 9.179280] aic94xx: Adaptec aic94xx SAS/SATA driver version 1.0.3 loaded
[ 9.244593] usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage


Quote:
[ 10.800779] EXT2-fs (sda11): error: couldn't mount because of unsupported optional features (240)
[ 10.800891] EXT4-fs (sda11): couldn't mount as ext3 due to feature incompatibilities
[ 10.822007] EXT4-fs (sda11): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)


check your fstab. it seems sdad11 is an ext4 volume mounted as ext2 or ext3

Quote:
[ 18.708686] cfg80211: World regulatory domain updated:
[ 18.708698] cfg80211: DFS Master region: unset
[ 18.708702] cfg80211: (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp), (dfs_cac_time)
[ 18.708710] cfg80211: (2402000 KHz - 2472000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm), (N/A)
[ 18.708717] cfg80211: (2457000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 20000 KHz, 92000 KHz AUTO), (N/A, 2000 mBm), (N/A)
[ 18.708723] cfg80211: (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm), (N/A)
[ 18.708729] cfg80211: (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 80000 KHz, 160000 KHz AUTO), (N/A, 2000 mBm), (N/A)
[ 18.708736] cfg80211: (5250000 KHz - 5330000 KHz @ 80000 KHz, 160000 KHz AUTO), (N/A, 2000 mBm), (0 s)
[ 18.708742] cfg80211: (5490000 KHz - 5730000 KHz @ 160000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm), (0 s)
[ 18.708747] cfg80211: (5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm), (N/A)
[ 18.708752] cfg80211: (57240000 KHz - 63720000 KHz @ 2160000 KHz), (N/A, 0 mBm), (N/A)


seems to be fine

Quote:
[ 31.926949] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Info - Loading firmware file 'rt3290.bin'
[ 31.944408] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Info - Firmware detected - version: 0.37


seems to be fine

Quote:
[ 31.970109] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlo1: link is not ready
[ 33.500826] wlo1: authenticate with 84:16:f9:20:03:d2
[ 33.504249] wlo1: send auth to 84:16:f9:20:03:d2 (try 1/3)
[ 33.506358] wlo1: authenticated
[ 33.507040] wlo1: associate with 84:16:f9:20:03:d2 (try 1/3)
[ 33.511007] wlo1: RX AssocResp from 84:16:f9:20:03:d2 (capab=0x431 status=0 aid=2)
[ 33.511080] wlo1: associated
[ 33.511095] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlo1: link becomes ready


seems to be fine

--

My opinion: It would have been interesting to see a dmesg when the box is having troubles with the wifi. Also /var/log/messages from that time.

You can start alternatively wpa_supplicant in a shell when you disable the system startup of that service. than oyu can see what happens.

Personally I need some debug info from wpa_supplicant /anything else which will tell us what is happening.

I did not saw anything which causes wifi issues, its probably from a good run, from a cold boot wihtout issues.


thank you bro, ill put dmesg tomorrow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum