Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kscreen mis-identifies a monitor
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aharel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2011
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:33 am    Post subject: kscreen mis-identifies a monitor Reply with quote

Looking at the files in my ~/.local/share/kscreen directory, I had a hunch why Plasma 5 fails to identify my dual-monitor setups (which of course, worked flawlessly in good ol' KDE4): when I plug in my Philips 223V monitor at work, kscreen identifies it as my Phillips 243V5 monitor from home.
Quote:
~ $ kscreen-console | grep ID
EDID Info:
Device ID: "xrandr-unknown"
EISA ID: "B125XW01 V0"
EDID Info:
Device ID: "xrandr-PHL 243V5-ZV0150500109"
EISA ID: ""
^C


This is plasma 5.8.5, though I've had this (and other) multi-monitor support issue since 5.80.

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6824
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please report this upstream. Apparently you've caught some corner case.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2539
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

since the problem of kde monitor identification has come up ...

here's my kscreen-console output

Code:
EDID Info:
        Device ID:  "xrandr-SMS24A850-HCJC800626"
        EISA ID:  ""
EDID Info:
        Device ID:  "xrandr-SMS24A850-HCJC800620"
        EISA ID:  ""
EDID Info:
        Device ID:  "xrandr-SMS24A850-HCJC800626"
        EISA ID:  ""
^C


for some lame reason KDE thinks I have *three* monitors

Of course, I have only two (notice that the first and third monitors
identified above are the same device ID)

In systemsettings they are HDMI1, DP! and something called "laptop screen"

I have to hide "laptop screen" behind one of the others and then things work OK
(otherwise, pagers etc act weird)

Anyone know why this happens and a fix? TIA
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6824
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is that problem reproduced when you remove your kscreen config?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2539
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Is that problem reproduced when you remove your kscreen config?


thanks for that; a good suggestion but no help

I erased everything in ~/.local/share/kscreen and restarted KDE but
still "detected" three monitors: DP1, HDMI1 and the mysterious eDP1

oh well, hiding eDP1 behind HDMI1 seems to work OK (if you use KDE
you get *very* used to glitches like this :( )

EDIT: I should probably mention that although this is a new computer,
the monitors are connected to the vga and dvi ports (despite being
also misidentified as HDMI and DP )
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6824
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What version of Qt is that?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2539
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
What version of Qt is that?


I have both qt-4.8.7 and qt-5.7.1 installed
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum