Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Chromium aw snap on various pages
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2418
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:20 pm    Post subject: Chromium aw snap on various pages Reply with quote

Hello all,

I can't seem to triage this problem with =www-client/chromium-56.0.2924.21. Certain pages will give the "aw snap" crash when they are accessed, but I haven't found a commonality between the ones that do, and the ones that don't. The big one that I've found is that when loading GMail, it happens right after the Hangouts contacts load in the left sidebar. After starting Chromium with verbose logging:

Code:

chromium --enable-logging=stderr --v=1 --incognito


the last thing that I get is:

Code:

[1:1:0110/161911.386534:VERBOSE1:script_context.cc(111)] Created context:
  extension id:           (none)
  frame:                  (nil)
  URL:                   
  context_type:           UNSPECIFIED
  effective extension id: (none)
  effective context type: UNSPECIFIED
[1:1:0110/161911.388015:VERBOSE1:dispatcher.cc(425)] Num tracked contexts: 21
[1:1:0110/161911.389794:VERBOSE1:script_context.cc(120)] Destroyed context for extension
  extension id:
  effective extension id:
[1:1:0110/161911.389969:VERBOSE1:script_context.cc(120)] Destroyed context for extension
  extension id:
  effective extension id:
[16887:16887:0110/161912.919370:VERBOSE1:gles2_cmd_decoder.cc(3273)] GL_EXT_packed_depth_stencil supported.
[1:1:0110/161912.920507:VERBOSE1:remoting_renderer_controller.cc(45)] OnSessionStateChanged: 0
[1:1:0110/161912.921569:VERBOSE1:remoting_renderer_controller.cc(45)] OnSessionStateChanged: 0
[1:1:0110/161912.922035:VERBOSE1:remoting_renderer_controller.cc(45)] OnSessionStateChanged: 0
[1:1:0110/161912.947342:VERBOSE1:remoting_renderer_factory.cc(33)] Create Local playback renderer.
Received signal 11 SEGV_MAPERR 000000000000
#0 0x559aa377c6ee <unknown>
#1 0x559aa377cab9 [1:1:0110/161912.950195:VERBOSE1:remoting_renderer_factory.cc(33)] Create Local playback renderer.
<unknown>
#2 0x7f4aef723da0 <unknown>
#3 0x559aa709ea6d <unknown>
#4 0x559aa2fb8abc <unknown>
#5 0x559aa37d78cc <unknown>
#6 0x559aa38046c9 <unknown>
#7 0x559aa379dab0 <unknown>
#8 0x559aa379f75d <unknown>
#9 0x559aa379fc15 <unknown>
#10 0x559aa37a0a49 <unknown>
#11 0x559aa379cbc5 <unknown>
#12 0x559aa37be87a <unknown>
#13 0x559aa37db846 <unknown>
#14 0x559aa37d7772 <unknown>
#15 0x7f4aef71a3b4 start_thread
#16 0x7f4ae6d1aaed clone
  r8: 00002c6bd43240d0  r9: 00002c6bd4d84f80 r10: 00002c6bd4d84080 r11: fffffffd532af009
 r12: 00007f4ad59b96a0 r13: 0000000000000000 r14: 00002c6bd6716e00 r15: 00002c6bd6771540
  di: 00002c6bd4d84f00  si: 00002c6bd4d84f80  bp: 00002c6bd6714c00  bx: 0000000000000000
  dx: 0000000000000001  ax: 0000000000000000  cx: 0000000000000002  sp: 00007f4ad59b9220
  ip: 0000559aa709ea6d efl: 0000000000010246 cgf: 002b000000000033 erf: 0000000000000004
 trp: 000000000000000e msk: 0000000000000000 cr2: 0000000000000000
[end of stack trace]
[16826:16847:0110/161913.001553:WARNING:spdy_session.cc(2224)] Received HEADERS for invalid stream 63


Any suggestions on how to further debug? I'm thinking that I may have to mask this version, but would like some feedback before going through the painful recompile of an older version.

Thanks!

Cheers,
Nathan Zachary
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2418
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 3:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it must actually be a problem with =www-client/chromium-56.0.2924.21 and my system. I just went back to =www-client/chromium-55.0.2883.75 and the problem is gone. I guess I will just mask the 56.x releases for now.

Is anyone else running into these crashes?
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kharitonow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2015
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is exactly the same behavior as in bug: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=588596 But it's already fixed for v.54+
I had the same problem in earlier gcc-6 tests. It is really strange that you get it with v.56.x.x.

I use the same version of chromium built with gcc-6.3.0 and I didn't get this annoying aww snap page crashes since v.55.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2418
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the link to the bug. That's definitely interesting that I saw it in 56.x. I will update the bug with a link back to this thread.

Cheers,
Nathan Zachary
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John5788
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 2119
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
     Fri Jan 27 16:36:16 2017 >>> www-client/chromium-56.0.2924.76


Just updated to chromium 56.0.2924.76 tonight and I am seeing this problem. I get this on gmail and this particular steam page: http://store.steampowered.com/app/360170/

A working solution is to mask 56 and go back down to 55?

edit: reverted back to chromium-55.0.2883.75 and issue is no longer.
_________________
John5788
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jesus.rodriguez
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John5788 wrote:
Code:
     Fri Jan 27 16:36:16 2017 >>> www-client/chromium-56.0.2924.76


Just updated to chromium 56.0.2924.76 tonight and I am seeing this problem. I get this on gmail and this particular steam page: http://store.steampowered.com/app/360170/

A working solution is to mask 56 and go back down to 55?

edit: reverted back to chromium-55.0.2883.75 and issue is no longer.


56 is the lower version available in the portage tree. Another option? This is really unusable!
_________________
Nobody fucks with The Jesus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jesus.rodriguez, you can use my overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rob_dot_p
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2017
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also ran into the same problem.
The 'oh-snap' occurs on www-client/chromium-56.0.2924.76 but neither on www-client/chromium-55.0.2883.75 nor on www-client/google-chrome-56.0.2924.76
I hope there will be some update, it's basically unusable for me. I'll roll back to 55 until (hopefully) some fix is out.
Not exactly fun considering chromium's emerge time :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ippipp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also ran to this problem.

Crashing mostly with gmail and fb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryanli
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Oct 2010
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Getting the same behavior with every site that loads a video (YouTube, gfycat, etc.). Gmail and Google Calendar are super flaky but they only crash after a few seconds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
engineermdr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Nov 2003
Posts: 260
Location: Altoona, WI, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another "me too".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
preilly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 1:08 am    Post subject: Mask? Reply with quote

I can't seem to get the syntax right for <www-client/chromium-56.0.2924.76 in /etc/portage/package.mask? Tried 56.0.2924.76, 56.0.2924, and 56.0.. Help please? This "aw shucks" is amazingly irritating, and my Firefox doesn't have all the favorites, etc I am used to in Chromium...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 5914
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use emerge =www-client/chromium-56.... to emerge desired version.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!

Political Correctness is all about replacing imaginary injustice with real injustice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
preilly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 1:55 am    Post subject: Wtf! Reply with quote

I masked the particular version - 56.0.2924.76. I even unmasked the recent version.. AND IT STILL WANTS TO PUT THE CRAP VERSION ON MY PC! I even removed .76 from my system! Gentoo used to be really good with doing exactly what I want - did Alpha buy them or something? OK - the shit version is gone.. HOW DO I GET THE PREVIOUS NON-CRAP VERSION back? Why are the usual mechanisms not working??? I've only been twiddling for about 10 years.. IT SHOULD NOT BE THIS HARD!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:32 am    Post subject: Re: Mask? Reply with quote

preilly wrote:
I can't seem to get the syntax right for <www-client/chromium-56.0.2924.76 in /etc/portage/package.mask?

do you understand that it means you have masked all version for stable branch?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2003
Posts: 48
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How happened this is the only stable version in the repository? There is no easy way to downgrade (overlays need investigation) and masked versions need gcc-5.

There should be multiple stable versions available for most packages, especially so large and complex.
_________________
When It's Done - It's Done!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as I wrote earlier, everyone is welcomed in my overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jesus.rodriguez
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect Gentleman wrote:
jesus.rodriguez, you can use my overlay


Thanks, Perfect Gentleman :)

I finally upgraded my system to GCC-5.4 (a bit hard, but already done) and unmasked the next version which looks fine (for now).

I agree with Decha, there should be enough stable versions for most packages in the tree -just in case, you know- but is also true that this is a very uncommon issue here.
_________________
Nobody fucks with The Jesus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 11304

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Browsers are a bit special. They are designed to be a walking security disaster (evaluating Javascript from untrusted servers, parsing potentially maliciously crafted images from advertising networks, etc.), so known-vulnerable versions tend to be pruned rather aggressively to try to prevent users from unwittingly installing unsafe versions. If the package was typically used only to access likely-safe data curated by the user, keeping around older versions would be less dangerous and might be done as a matter of course.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rob_dot_p
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2017
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From the bug tracker:

Quote:
Mike Gilbert gentoo-dev 2017-01-29 19:08:03 UTC

I have restored chromium-55.0.2883.75 so that people can downgrade to a working version until this issue has been resolved.

https://gitweb.gentoo.org/repo/gentoo.git/commit/?id=5506620e69cb618783bce364861f147b5218bae6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjbjr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2003
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect Gentleman wrote:
as I wrote earlier, everyone is welcomed in my overlay


thank you for that, but how does one get your overlay?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjbjr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2003
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
Browsers are a bit special. They are designed to be a walking security disaster (evaluating Javascript from untrusted servers, parsing potentially maliciously crafted images from advertising networks, etc.), so known-vulnerable versions tend to be pruned rather aggressively to try to prevent users from unwittingly installing unsafe versions. If the package was typically used only to access likely-safe data curated by the user, keeping around older versions would be less dangerous and might be done as a matter of course.


I upgraded because of this GLSA that I got in an email from gentoo

https://security.gentoo.org/glsa/201701-66
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Black
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Dec 2002
Posts: 124
Location: Province of Quebec, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mjbjr wrote:
Perfect Gentleman wrote:
as I wrote earlier, everyone is welcomed in my overlay


thank you for that, but how does one get your overlay?


It might not be needed: 55.0.2883.75 is back in the main portage tree (I did a sync this morning), and there's also a -r1 of 56, which I'm compiling right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryanli
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Oct 2010
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Black wrote:
It might not be needed: 55.0.2883.75 is back in the main portage tree (I did a sync this morning), and there's also a -r1 of 56, which I'm compiling right now.


Please let us know how that goes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mjbjr wrote:
Perfect Gentleman wrote:
as I wrote earlier, everyone is welcomed in my overlay


thank you for that, but how does one get your overlay?

Code:
github.c0m/perfect7gentleman/pg_overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum