View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
NathanZachary Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007 Posts: 2586
|
Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:20 pm Post subject: Chromium aw snap on various pages |
|
|
Hello all,
I can't seem to triage this problem with =www-client/chromium-56.0.2924.21. Certain pages will give the "aw snap" crash when they are accessed, but I haven't found a commonality between the ones that do, and the ones that don't. The big one that I've found is that when loading GMail, it happens right after the Hangouts contacts load in the left sidebar. After starting Chromium with verbose logging:
Code: |
chromium --enable-logging=stderr --v=1 --incognito
|
the last thing that I get is:
Code: |
[1:1:0110/161911.386534:VERBOSE1:script_context.cc(111)] Created context:
extension id: (none)
frame: (nil)
URL:
context_type: UNSPECIFIED
effective extension id: (none)
effective context type: UNSPECIFIED
[1:1:0110/161911.388015:VERBOSE1:dispatcher.cc(425)] Num tracked contexts: 21
[1:1:0110/161911.389794:VERBOSE1:script_context.cc(120)] Destroyed context for extension
extension id:
effective extension id:
[1:1:0110/161911.389969:VERBOSE1:script_context.cc(120)] Destroyed context for extension
extension id:
effective extension id:
[16887:16887:0110/161912.919370:VERBOSE1:gles2_cmd_decoder.cc(3273)] GL_EXT_packed_depth_stencil supported.
[1:1:0110/161912.920507:VERBOSE1:remoting_renderer_controller.cc(45)] OnSessionStateChanged: 0
[1:1:0110/161912.921569:VERBOSE1:remoting_renderer_controller.cc(45)] OnSessionStateChanged: 0
[1:1:0110/161912.922035:VERBOSE1:remoting_renderer_controller.cc(45)] OnSessionStateChanged: 0
[1:1:0110/161912.947342:VERBOSE1:remoting_renderer_factory.cc(33)] Create Local playback renderer.
Received signal 11 SEGV_MAPERR 000000000000
#0 0x559aa377c6ee <unknown>
#1 0x559aa377cab9 [1:1:0110/161912.950195:VERBOSE1:remoting_renderer_factory.cc(33)] Create Local playback renderer.
<unknown>
#2 0x7f4aef723da0 <unknown>
#3 0x559aa709ea6d <unknown>
#4 0x559aa2fb8abc <unknown>
#5 0x559aa37d78cc <unknown>
#6 0x559aa38046c9 <unknown>
#7 0x559aa379dab0 <unknown>
#8 0x559aa379f75d <unknown>
#9 0x559aa379fc15 <unknown>
#10 0x559aa37a0a49 <unknown>
#11 0x559aa379cbc5 <unknown>
#12 0x559aa37be87a <unknown>
#13 0x559aa37db846 <unknown>
#14 0x559aa37d7772 <unknown>
#15 0x7f4aef71a3b4 start_thread
#16 0x7f4ae6d1aaed clone
r8: 00002c6bd43240d0 r9: 00002c6bd4d84f80 r10: 00002c6bd4d84080 r11: fffffffd532af009
r12: 00007f4ad59b96a0 r13: 0000000000000000 r14: 00002c6bd6716e00 r15: 00002c6bd6771540
di: 00002c6bd4d84f00 si: 00002c6bd4d84f80 bp: 00002c6bd6714c00 bx: 0000000000000000
dx: 0000000000000001 ax: 0000000000000000 cx: 0000000000000002 sp: 00007f4ad59b9220
ip: 0000559aa709ea6d efl: 0000000000010246 cgf: 002b000000000033 erf: 0000000000000004
trp: 000000000000000e msk: 0000000000000000 cr2: 0000000000000000
[end of stack trace]
[16826:16847:0110/161913.001553:WARNING:spdy_session.cc(2224)] Received HEADERS for invalid stream 63
|
Any suggestions on how to further debug? I'm thinking that I may have to mask this version, but would like some feedback before going through the painful recompile of an older version.
Thanks!
Cheers,
Nathan Zachary _________________ “Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio--- |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NathanZachary Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007 Posts: 2586
|
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 3:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, it must actually be a problem with =www-client/chromium-56.0.2924.21 and my system. I just went back to =www-client/chromium-55.0.2883.75 and the problem is gone. I guess I will just mask the 56.x releases for now.
Is anyone else running into these crashes? _________________ “Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio--- |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kharitonow n00b

Joined: 10 Dec 2015 Posts: 38
|
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It is exactly the same behavior as in bug: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=588596 But it's already fixed for v.54+
I had the same problem in earlier gcc-6 tests. It is really strange that you get it with v.56.x.x.
I use the same version of chromium built with gcc-6.3.0 and I didn't get this annoying aww snap page crashes since v.55. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NathanZachary Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007 Posts: 2586
|
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you for the link to the bug. That's definitely interesting that I saw it in 56.x. I will update the bug with a link back to this thread.
Cheers,
Nathan Zachary _________________ “Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio--- |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
John5788 Advocate


Joined: 06 Apr 2004 Posts: 2140 Location: 127.0.0.1
|
Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 5:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | Fri Jan 27 16:36:16 2017 >>> www-client/chromium-56.0.2924.76
|
Just updated to chromium 56.0.2924.76 tonight and I am seeing this problem. I get this on gmail and this particular steam page: http://store.steampowered.com/app/360170/
A working solution is to mask 56 and go back down to 55?
edit: reverted back to chromium-55.0.2883.75 and issue is no longer. _________________ John5788 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jesus.rodriguez n00b

Joined: 03 Sep 2009 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
John5788 wrote: | Code: | Fri Jan 27 16:36:16 2017 >>> www-client/chromium-56.0.2924.76
|
Just updated to chromium 56.0.2924.76 tonight and I am seeing this problem. I get this on gmail and this particular steam page: http://store.steampowered.com/app/360170/
A working solution is to mask 56 and go back down to 55?
edit: reverted back to chromium-55.0.2883.75 and issue is no longer. |
56 is the lower version available in the portage tree. Another option? This is really unusable! _________________ Nobody fucks with The Jesus |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Perfect Gentleman Veteran


Joined: 18 May 2014 Posts: 1235
|
Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jesus.rodriguez, you can use my overlay |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rob_dot_p n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2017 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I also ran into the same problem.
The 'oh-snap' occurs on www-client/chromium-56.0.2924.76 but neither on www-client/chromium-55.0.2883.75 nor on www-client/google-chrome-56.0.2924.76
I hope there will be some update, it's basically unusable for me. I'll roll back to 55 until (hopefully) some fix is out.
Not exactly fun considering chromium's emerge time  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ippipp n00b

Joined: 14 Oct 2009 Posts: 26
|
Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Also ran to this problem.
Crashing mostly with gmail and fb. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ryanli n00b

Joined: 20 Oct 2010 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Getting the same behavior with every site that loads a video (YouTube, gfycat, etc.). Gmail and Google Calendar are super flaky but they only crash after a few seconds. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
engineermdr Apprentice


Joined: 08 Nov 2003 Posts: 288 Location: Altoona, WI, USA
|
Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Another "me too". |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
preilly n00b

Joined: 29 Jan 2017 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 1:08 am Post subject: Mask? |
|
|
I can't seem to get the syntax right for <www-client/chromium-56.0.2924.76 in /etc/portage/package.mask? Tried 56.0.2924.76, 56.0.2924, and 56.0.. Help please? This "aw shucks" is amazingly irritating, and my Firefox doesn't have all the favorites, etc I am used to in Chromium... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jaglover Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005 Posts: 8291 Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
preilly n00b

Joined: 29 Jan 2017 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 1:55 am Post subject: Wtf! |
|
|
I masked the particular version - 56.0.2924.76. I even unmasked the recent version.. AND IT STILL WANTS TO PUT THE CRAP VERSION ON MY PC! I even removed .76 from my system! Gentoo used to be really good with doing exactly what I want - did Alpha buy them or something? OK - the shit version is gone.. HOW DO I GET THE PREVIOUS NON-CRAP VERSION back? Why are the usual mechanisms not working??? I've only been twiddling for about 10 years.. IT SHOULD NOT BE THIS HARD! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Perfect Gentleman Veteran


Joined: 18 May 2014 Posts: 1235
|
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:32 am Post subject: Re: Mask? |
|
|
preilly wrote: | I can't seem to get the syntax right for <www-client/chromium-56.0.2924.76 in /etc/portage/package.mask? |
do you understand that it means you have masked all version for stable branch? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Decha n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2003 Posts: 52 Location: Zürich
|
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 12:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
How happened this is the only stable version in the repository? There is no easy way to downgrade (overlays need investigation) and masked versions need gcc-5.
There should be multiple stable versions available for most packages, especially so large and complex. _________________ When It's Done - It's Done! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Perfect Gentleman Veteran


Joined: 18 May 2014 Posts: 1235
|
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 12:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
as I wrote earlier, everyone is welcomed in my overlay |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jesus.rodriguez n00b

Joined: 03 Sep 2009 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 5:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Perfect Gentleman wrote: | jesus.rodriguez, you can use my overlay |
Thanks, Perfect Gentleman
I finally upgraded my system to GCC-5.4 (a bit hard, but already done) and unmasked the next version which looks fine (for now).
I agree with Decha, there should be enough stable versions for most packages in the tree -just in case, you know- but is also true that this is a very uncommon issue here. _________________ Nobody fucks with The Jesus |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Hu Moderator

Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 20732
|
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Browsers are a bit special. They are designed to be a walking security disaster (evaluating Javascript from untrusted servers, parsing potentially maliciously crafted images from advertising networks, etc.), so known-vulnerable versions tend to be pruned rather aggressively to try to prevent users from unwittingly installing unsafe versions. If the package was typically used only to access likely-safe data curated by the user, keeping around older versions would be less dangerous and might be done as a matter of course. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rob_dot_p n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2017 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
From the bug tracker:
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mjbjr Guru

Joined: 02 Mar 2003 Posts: 301
|
Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Perfect Gentleman wrote: | as I wrote earlier, everyone is welcomed in my overlay |
thank you for that, but how does one get your overlay? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mjbjr Guru

Joined: 02 Mar 2003 Posts: 301
|
Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 7:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hu wrote: | Browsers are a bit special. They are designed to be a walking security disaster (evaluating Javascript from untrusted servers, parsing potentially maliciously crafted images from advertising networks, etc.), so known-vulnerable versions tend to be pruned rather aggressively to try to prevent users from unwittingly installing unsafe versions. If the package was typically used only to access likely-safe data curated by the user, keeping around older versions would be less dangerous and might be done as a matter of course. |
I upgraded because of this GLSA that I got in an email from gentoo
https://security.gentoo.org/glsa/201701-66 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Black Apprentice


Joined: 10 Dec 2002 Posts: 158 Location: Québec, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 1:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mjbjr wrote: | Perfect Gentleman wrote: | as I wrote earlier, everyone is welcomed in my overlay |
thank you for that, but how does one get your overlay? |
It might not be needed: 55.0.2883.75 is back in the main portage tree (I did a sync this morning), and there's also a -r1 of 56, which I'm compiling right now. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ryanli n00b

Joined: 20 Oct 2010 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Black wrote: | It might not be needed: 55.0.2883.75 is back in the main portage tree (I did a sync this morning), and there's also a -r1 of 56, which I'm compiling right now. |
Please let us know how that goes. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Perfect Gentleman Veteran


Joined: 18 May 2014 Posts: 1235
|
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mjbjr wrote: | Perfect Gentleman wrote: | as I wrote earlier, everyone is welcomed in my overlay |
thank you for that, but how does one get your overlay? |
Code: | github.c0m/perfect7gentleman/pg_overlay |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|