Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE5: black screen, no desktop [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
binro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 623
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:02 am    Post subject: KDE5: black screen, no desktop [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I have just upgraded two machine to KDE5. After sorting out all the blockages when I logged on from sddm the new desktop appeared and I was able to start working. On the second machine when I logon I get applications in the autostart list starting but there is no desktop, just a black screen. One of the apps has a console mode and I can start other programs from there. I have seen similar posts but in my case plasmashell, ksmserver, kwin-x11 are all running. I feel some component has been left out but all of plasma-meta is installed. Creating a new user did not help.
Any suggestions what to try?

TIA
Robin
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling


Last edited by binro on Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post xorg.0.log of the machine, which shows a black screen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 623
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keruskerfuerst wrote:
Can you post xorg.0.log of the machine, which shows a black screen?

There is nothing wrong with the X server, startkde runs and I see the splash screen and the autostarted apps. I can switch between VT1 and VT7. It's just the KDE5 desktop which does not start, leaving a black background. I can post the Xorg.0.log if you want but it just shows the usual stuff, no errors concerning KDE.
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please check if it is the same issue with a different user.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 623
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:55 am    Post subject: Re: KDE5: black screen, no desktop Reply with quote

binro wrote:
Creating a new user did not help.

I have already tried that.
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try to search "KDE 5 logfiles" with some search machines?
E.g.: with google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 623
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keruskerfuerst wrote:
Did you try to search "KDE 5 logfiles" with some search machines?
E.g.: with google

It is the sddm log we need but it isn't telling me a lot:
Code:

/home/robin/.Xdefaults:165:9: warning: missing terminating ' character
 ! We don't need to enable the Decay option, as it is already time-averaged.
         ^
file:///usr/share/plasma/look-and-feel/org.kde.oxygen/contents/splash/Splash.qml:89: ReferenceError: bottomRect is not defined
file:///usr/share/plasma/look-and-feel/org.kde.oxygen/contents/splash/Splash.qml:88: ReferenceError: bottomRect is not defined
Loading stage  "initial" 284
startkde: Starting up...
Connecting to deprecated signal QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QString,QString,QString)
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/proxyscout.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/soliduiserver.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/networkwatcher.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/ktimezoned.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/remotedirnotify.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/freespacenotifier.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/filenamesearchmodule.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/networkstatus.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/appmenu.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/baloosearchmodule.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/kscreen.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/statusnotifierwatcher.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/bluedevil.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/desktopnotifier.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/kwrited.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/keyboard.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/solidautoeject.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/recentdocumentsnotifier.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/device_automounter.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/ksysguard.so"
kf5.kded: No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName found in "/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kded/khotkeys.so"
Initializing  "kcm_kgamma" :  "kcminit_kgamma"
Initializing  "kcm_input" :  "kcminit_mouse"
Initializing  "kcm_style" :  "kcminit_style"
/tmp/kcminit.T25611:630:9: warning: missing terminating ' character
 ! We don't need to enable the Decay option, as it is already time-averaged.
         ^
detected kglobalaccel restarting, re-registering all shortcut keys
Initializing  "kcm_access" :  "kcminit_access"
kf5.kcoreaddons.kaboutdata: Could not initialize the equivalent properties of Q*Application: no instance (yet) existing.
kscreen.kded: Config KScreen::Config(0x7876f0) is ready
kscreen.kded: PowerDevil SuspendSession action not available!
kscreen.kded: "The name org.kde.Solid.PowerManagement was not provided by any .service files"
kscreen.kded: Applying config
kscreen.kded: Applying known config "62413968b3aea0d062e03d5b77623734"
kscreen.kded: Finding a mode for QSize(1920, 1080) @ 60
kscreen.kded:    Found:  "101"   QSize(1920, 1080) @ 60
kscreen.kded: doApplyConfig()
kscreen: Requesting missing EDID for outputs (98)
kscreen.kded: Config applied
kscreen.kded: Monitor for changes:  true
kscreen.kded: Change detected
kscreen.kded: KScreen::Output( 98   "HDMI-1" connected enabled QPoint(0,0) QSize(1920, 1080) "101" )
Qt: Session management error: networkIdsList argument is NULL
Configuring Lock Action
ksmserver: "/var/run/user/1000/KSMserver"
ksmserver: KSMServer: SetAProc_loc: conn  0 , prot= local , file= @/tmp/.ICE-unix/25635
ksmserver: KSMServer: SetAProc_loc: conn  1 , prot= unix , file= /tmp/.ICE-unix/25635
ksmserver: KSMServer::restoreSession  "saved at previous logout"
ksmserver: Starting autostart service  "/etc/xdg/autostart/baloo_file.desktop"
ksmserver: Starting autostart service  "/etc/xdg/autostart/krunner.desktop"
ksmserver: Starting autostart service  "/etc/xdg/autostart/pam_kwallet_init.desktop"
ksmserver: Starting autostart service  "/etc/xdg/autostart/plasmashell.desktop"
ksmserver: Starting autostart service  "/etc/xdg/autostart/polkit-kde-authentication-agent-1.desktop"
ksmserver: Starting autostart service  "/etc/xdg/autostart/xembedsniproxy.desktop"
ksmserver: Autostart 0 done
ksmserver: Kcminit phase 1 done
Session path: "/org/freedesktop/ConsoleKit/Session7"
ksmserver: Starting autostart service  "/etc/xdg/autostart/pulseaudio.desktop"
ksmserver: Autostart 1 done
BluezQt: Cannot open /dev/rfkill for reading!
kf5.kio.core: Refilling KProtocolInfoFactory cache in the hope to find "mtp"
bluedevil: Created
Trying to convert empty KLocalizedString to QString.
Trying to convert empty KLocalizedString to QString.
Trying to convert empty KLocalizedString to QString.
org.kde.kcm_keyboard: Failed to open layout memory xml file for reading "/home/robin/.local/share/kded5/keyboard/session/layout_memory.xml" error: 5
Installing the delayed initialization callback.
ksmserver: Starting notification thread
ksmserver: Kcminit phase 2 done
ksmserver: Starting autostart service  "/home/robin/.config/autostart/File Manager - Super User Mode.desktop"
ksmserver: Starting autostart service  "/home/robin/.config/autostart/kdesu-kate.desktop"
ksmserver: Starting autostart service  "/home/robin/.config/autostart/KPS.desktop"
ksmserver: Starting autostart service  "/home/robin/.config/autostart/Nagstamon.desktop"
ksmserver: Starting autostart service  "/etc/xdg/autostart/powerdevil.desktop"
ksmserver: Autostart 2 done
Delayed initialization.
Reloading the khotkeys configuration
Version 2 File!
true
Imported file "/usr/share/khotkeys/ksnapshot.khotkeys"
Imported file "/usr/share/khotkeys/kde32b1.khotkeys"
Imported file "/usr/share/khotkeys/konqueror_gestures_kde321.khotkeys"
Imported file "/usr/share/khotkeys/defaults.khotkeys"
kscreen.kded: Saving current config to file
kscreen.kded: Config saved on:  "/home/robin/.local/share/kscreen/62413968b3aea0d062e03d5b77623734"
kscreen.kded: KScreen::Output( 98   "HDMI-1" connected enabled QPoint(0,0) QSize(1920, 1080) "101" )
bluedevil: ObexManager operational changed false
kscreen: Requesting missing EDID for outputs (98)
kscreen.kded: Change detected
kscreen.kded: KScreen::Output( 98   "HDMI-1" connected enabled QPoint(0,0) QSize(1920, 1080) "101" )
bluedevil: Bluetooth operational changed true
bluedevil: Agent registered
bluedevil: Requested default Agent
Fontconfig error: "local.conf", line 11: invalid attribute 'name'
Fontconfig error: "local.conf", line 19: invalid attribute 'name'
Fontconfig error: "local.conf", line 27: invalid attribute 'name'
org.kde.kdesud: kdesud is already running

ksmserver: autostart service "/lib64/libexec/pam_kwallet_init" finished with exit code  0
kscreen.kded: Saving current config to file
kscreen.kded: Config saved on:  "/home/robin/.local/share/kscreen/62413968b3aea0d062e03d5b77623734"
kscreen.kded: KScreen::Output( 98   "HDMI-1" connected enabled QPoint(0,0) QSize(1920, 1080) "101" )
ksmserver: autostart service "/usr/bin/start-pulseaudio-x11" finished with exit code  0
bluedevil: ObexManager operational changed true
bluedevil: ObexAgent registered
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 756, resource id: 83886081, major code: 18 (ChangeProperty), minor code: 0
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 760, resource id: 83886082, major code: 18 (ChangeProperty), minor code: 0
completeShutdownOrCheckpoint called
ksmserver: autostart service "/usr/bin/nagstamon" finished with exit code  11
OpenGL vendor string:                   nouveau
OpenGL renderer string:                 Gallium 0.4 on NVC1
OpenGL version string:                  3.0 Mesa 13.0.2
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.30
Driver:                                 Nouveau
GPU class:                              Unknown
OpenGL version:                         3.0
GLSL version:                           1.30
Mesa version:                           13.0.2
X server version:                       1.18.4
Linux kernel version:                   4.3.3
Requires strict binding:                yes
GLSL shaders:                           yes
Texture NPOT support:                   yes
Virtual Machine:                        no
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 827, resource id: 83886085, major code: 18 (ChangeProperty), minor code: 0
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 832, resource id: 83886085, major code: 12 (ConfigureWindow), minor code: 0
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 859, resource id: 88080385, major code: 18 (ChangeProperty), minor code: 0
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 998, resource id: 85983262, major code: 18 (ChangeProperty), minor code: 0
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 999, resource id: 85983262, major code: 12 (ConfigureWindow), minor code: 0
window match: "/ – Konqueror" :OK
window match: "/ – Konqueror" :OK
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 1376, resource id: 73400322, major code: 18 (ChangeProperty), minor code: 0
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 1380, resource id: 18874372, major code: 18 (ChangeProperty), minor code: 0
ksmserver: autostart service "/usr/lib64/libexec/kf5/kdesu" finished with exit code  0
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 1618, resource id: 60817427, major code: 18 (ChangeProperty), minor code: 0
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 1619, resource id: 60817427, major code: 12 (ConfigureWindow), minor code: 0
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 2310, resource id: 10485782, major code: 18 (ChangeProperty), minor code: 0
window match: "/ – Konqueror" :OK
window match: "/ – Konqueror" :OK
Qt: Session management error: networkIdsList argument is NULL
Fontconfig error: "local.conf", line 11: invalid attribute 'name'
Fontconfig error: "local.conf", line 19: invalid attribute 'name'
Fontconfig error: "local.conf", line 27: invalid attribute 'name'
log_kdesvn: "Unable to connect to a repository at URL 'file:///home/robin/.local/share/sddm/xorg-session.log'\nUnable to open repository 'file:///home/robin/.local/share/sddm/xorg-session.log'"

log_kdesvn: "Unable to connect to a repository at URL 'file:///home/robin/.local/share/sddm/xorg-session.log'\nUnable to open repository 'file:///home/robin/.local/share/sddm/xorg-session.log'"

QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 12705, resource id: 67108864, major code: 18 (ChangeProperty), minor code: 0
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 12709, resource id: 67108865, major code: 18 (ChangeProperty), minor code: 0
Fontconfig error: "local.conf", line 11: invalid attribute 'name'
Fontconfig error: "local.conf", line 19: invalid attribute 'name'
Fontconfig error: "local.conf", line 27: invalid attribute 'name'
kwrite(25909)/kdecore (KSycoca) KSycocaPrivate::openDatabase: Trying to open ksycoca from "/var/tmp/kdecache-robin/ksycoca4"
kwrite(25909)/Kate (Document) KateModeManager::fileType:


[Moderator edit: changed [list] tags to [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrjoebob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I may be having the same problem as you... Perhaps you can confirm?

X seems fine and sddm launches without error even to the point of providing me the standard login prompt. Once I login I briefly see the KDE logo and the spinner while it loads Plasma 5. However I am quickly dumped to a black screen... If I press ALT+F2 the entire desktop flashes back to normal for a VERY brief moment then returns to black. I can, however, continue to type a command into the dialog that appeared as a result of pressing ALT+F2. Anyway, I can then launch a Konsole and the moment I assign focus to the Konsole dialog the ENTIRE desktop then appears normally. However, the moment I click back to the desktop, press ALT+F2, or try to click the "Start"/"K" button the screen goes black again. However, if I then press ALT+TAB to switch back to _any_ running application dialog in Plasma the desktop returns to normal and I can see the entire screen. Indeed, I'm writing this reply from the very machine that is experiencing this problem!


Basically, I can only use Plasma so long as I have an application focused and I cannot interact with the desktop or (presumably) any widget whatsoever...

Much like binro has written, ksmserver, kwin_x11, and plasmashell are all running. My .xsession-errors log appears very similar to his. I'm very troubled by the "No X-KDE-DBus-ServiceName" error messages, however, I will be the first to admit that I'm too ignorant to know if these messages are merely spam or are indeed relevant to the problem.

Regards,
Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 623
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can start apps via Alt-F2 but I never see the desktop. I have "solved" the problem by installing lxqt as the desktop manager. It allows you to select kwin-x11 as the window manager and the result is very similar to normal KDE!

HTH
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 623
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looking at some similar problems I re-installed kactivitymanagerd and the desktop started working! Go figure...
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrjoebob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your recommended workaround seemed pleasant enough so I went ahead and implemented it. I'm pretty sure I did a complete removal and reinstall of all kde/plasma-related packages and still experienced the problem. When I find the time, I will try to reinstall kactivitymanagerd to see if it resolves the issue.

Thanks for your contributions. I wouldn't have thought to have tried lxqt w/ kwin for the WM...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2003
Posts: 40
Location: Ann Arbor,Michigan

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

binro wrote:
Looking at some similar problems I re-installed kactivitymanagerd and the desktop started working! Go figure...


Thanks for this! This fixed the problem for me as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum