Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Plasma Desktop fails after world update[SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nw_biohazard
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 11:36 pm    Post subject: Plasma Desktop fails after world update[SOLVED] Reply with quote

After performing a world update, my plasma desktop fails in the sense that, while X and KDE are running, no window manager features are available. Previously, the system was stable. Unfortunately, I'm quite inexperienced at KDE debugging and don't really know where to start. If I examine the .xsession-errors, there seem to be plenty:

http://pastebin.com/sVQCzt9z

Is there a specific Plasma or KDE logfile somewhere?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!


Last edited by nw_biohazard on Tue Jan 03, 2017 2:28 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R0b0t1
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jun 2008
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 2:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Unfortunately I do not have the time or knowledge for a complete answer, but in the past when I used plasma (admittedly it was still in beta) I had similar issues and it was due to missing configuration files. They were not installed. I am not sure if updating would remove them; dispatch-conf may have reverted them. The first few lines of what you provided seem to agree with this, but later it looks like there are missing libraries or other linkage errors. There is some near the end that points to other possible misconfiguration, but it is entirely possible to start a WM and have it spit out a ton of errors and run "properly," so I can't comment with certainty.

Can you describe what you mean by "while X and KDE are running, no window manager features are available?" Is the screen black? Can a pointer be seen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nw_biohazard
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the thoughts.... X is running and windows (xterms, Firefox, etc..) come up but they can't be moved and there are no window manager type tabs. Keyboard and mouse work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R0b0t1
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jun 2008
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

This seems similar to the issue I was experiencing. You might try the Gentoo or Plasma/KDE IRC channels. I can't refer you to what I found previously as the results have changed too much. Best of luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nw_biohazard
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.. I'll check that out.

I tried creating a fresh user and that users plasma desktop seems to work fine so it must be some sort of cache or configuration file issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nw_biohazard
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Turned out to be a problem with an old kwin config file.

Solved it by
Code:
mv .config/kwinrc kwinrc-old


And then restarting the session.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum