View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
dboat n00b

Joined: 30 Dec 2016 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 5:41 am Post subject: [Solved] emerge self edited ibus-cangjie |
|
|
I have fetched the ibus-cangjie package, expanded it. I will do some very minimal change in the following three files
scripts/ibus-setup-cangjie.in tests/test_prefs.py src/setup.py
I then want to emerge this copy of ibus-cangjie, but not sure how.
I am willing to read, to learn, but hope somebody can lead me to the relevant "sub-topic" in the sea of wiki and manpage. Any keywords I should look for?
Thank you for your attention and assistance.
==============
BACKGROUND
I am migrating from Archlinux to Gentoo; because after I migrated from VBox to KVM, I find that Gentoo vm has Spice's feature running much better than Arch. On the other hand, I am not a technical guy, I can do some simple script but not programming.
I need ibus-cangjie to do Chinese input. Sadly that only Hong Kong people use it.
No update on upstream for 20 months. https://github.com/Cangjians/ibus-cangjie
I did google and search the forum. Just find someone else encountered the same problem and received no reply 11 months ago. https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1036552.html
While googling, I find that the problem may be resolved by replacing
Code: | from gi.repository import Gtk |
with
Code: | import gi
gi.require_version("Gtk", "3.0")
from gi.repository import Gtk |
I used grep to locate the string "from gi.repository import Gtk" and find that it appears four times in three files. A manageable size.
I know it is stupid but it is my last hope.
Even if I will fail, I can learn more about Gentoo along the way.
Last edited by dboat on Sat Dec 31, 2016 2:38 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
augustin Guru

Joined: 23 Feb 2015 Posts: 318
|
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 9:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
I need ibus for Chinese input, as well, although I personally use Chewing.
I am still encountering many problems in setting ibus up. It mostly does not work. I have not yet spend a lot of time trying to troubleshoot because I am still working on more pressing problems.
However, I think I can help you. I think I see what you want to achieve, but I need to check existing documentation to see how to do it. Give me some time.
I hope we will be able to help each other out!  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
augustin Guru

Joined: 23 Feb 2015 Posts: 318
|
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 9:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Here is what you are trying to do:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki//etc/portage/patches
"User patches provide a way for users to apply patches to ebuilds. This is useful for the rare cases of site-specific patches, but also for testing patches before sending them to upstream or to the Gentoo bug tracker. " |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dboat n00b

Joined: 30 Dec 2016 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 10:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
augustin wrote: | Here is what you are trying to do:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki//etc/portage/patches
"User patches provide a way for users to apply patches to ebuilds. This is useful for the rare cases of site-specific patches, but also for testing patches before sending them to upstream or to the Gentoo bug tracker. " |
Thanks a lot for your help.
A whole new area to me. I seldom use the diff command. A lot of reading ahead.
BTW, would like to know if I guess right. To do it, basically I need to
1. enable portage patches
2. run diff somewhere to get the patch file
3. name and put it correctly at the right place
4. run emerge -avu @world to apply it ?? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fedeliallalinea Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003 Posts: 30329 Location: here
|
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 10:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
You can only rebuild package that need patch
Code: | # emerge -1v ibus-cangjie |
If you use flag -v, after source unpack, you can see if portage has applied your patches, like this
Code: | >>> Source unpacked in /tmp/portage/category/package/work
* Applying user patches from /etc/portage/patches//category/package-version ...
* my-patch.patch ... |
_________________ Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dboat n00b

Joined: 30 Dec 2016 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 11:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
fedeliallalinea wrote: | You can only rebuild package that need patch
Code: | # emerge -1v ibus-cangjie |
If you use flag -v, after source unpack, you can see if portage has applied your patches, like this
Code: | >>> Source unpacked in /tmp/portage/category/package/work
* Applying user patches from /etc/portage/patches//category/package-version ...
* my-patch.patch ... |
|
Thanks a lot! The option --oneshot really fit my situation.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
augustin Guru

Joined: 23 Feb 2015 Posts: 318
|
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 1:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dboat wrote: | fedeliallalinea wrote: | You can only rebuild package that need patch
Code: | # emerge -1v ibus-cangjie |
If you use flag -v, after source unpack, you can see if portage has applied your patches, like this
Code: | >>> Source unpacked in /tmp/portage/category/package/work
* Applying user patches from /etc/portage/patches//category/package-version ...
* my-patch.patch ... |
|
Thanks a lot! The option --oneshot really fit my situation.  |
I don't think it does.
If you use --oneshot, cangjie support will be removed next time you do emerge --depclean.
Instead, you do want to keep ibus-cangjie in your world file. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
augustin Guru

Joined: 23 Feb 2015 Posts: 318
|
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dboat wrote: | augustin wrote: | Here is what you are trying to do:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki//etc/portage/patches
"User patches provide a way for users to apply patches to ebuilds. This is useful for the rare cases of site-specific patches, but also for testing patches before sending them to upstream or to the Gentoo bug tracker. " |
Thanks a lot for your help.
A whole new area to me. I seldom use the diff command. A lot of reading ahead.
BTW, would like to know if I guess right. To do it, basically I need to
1. enable portage patches
2. run diff somewhere to get the patch file
3. name and put it correctly at the right place
4. run emerge -avu @world to apply it ?? |
I imagine you already have a copy of the source.
Creating a patch is easy.
Do: Code: |
diff -upr directory-with-original-source/ directory-with-modified-source/ > my-changes.patch
|
Then, as per the above documentation, place the patch in /etc/portage/patches/app-i18n/ibus-cangjie/ , then re-emerge.
I've never tried but I think that's all there is to it.
I am not sure how to handle the -p1 that the patch command would require. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dboat n00b

Joined: 30 Dec 2016 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 3:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
augustin wrote: | dboat wrote: | augustin wrote: | Here is what you are trying to do:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki//etc/portage/patches
"User patches provide a way for users to apply patches to ebuilds. This is useful for the rare cases of site-specific patches, but also for testing patches before sending them to upstream or to the Gentoo bug tracker. " |
Thanks a lot for your help.
A whole new area to me. I seldom use the diff command. A lot of reading ahead.
BTW, would like to know if I guess right. To do it, basically I need to
1. enable portage patches
2. run diff somewhere to get the patch file
3. name and put it correctly at the right place
4. run emerge -avu @world to apply it ?? |
I imagine you already have a copy of the source.
Creating a patch is easy.
Do: Code: |
diff -upr directory-with-original-source/ directory-with-modified-source/ > my-changes.patch
|
Then, as per the above documentation, place the patch in /etc/portage/patches/app-i18n/ibus-cangjie/ , then re-emerge.
I've never tried but I think that's all there is to it.
I am not sure how to handle the -p1 that the patch command would require. |
Thank you for following up.
As I want to have a better understanding about the Patches page, I have been reading "Basic guide to write Gentoo Ebuilds" (interesting) and "Ebuild Functions" (horrible). I feel more comfortable when come back to the Patches page now. Will start test tomorrow.
I can't find the "-p1" on the Patches page, what is it about?
About the --oneshot, I read the manpage again and still think that it means it is not going to be removed by depclean. I also read it somewhere before when emerge the portage package itself on a broken system (boot from livecd). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fedeliallalinea Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003 Posts: 30329 Location: here
|
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 3:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dboat wrote: | I can't find the "-p1" on the Patches page, what is it about? |
Use man pages also:
man patch wrote: | -pnum or --strip=num
Strip the smallest prefix containing num leading slashes from each file name found in the patch file. A sequence of one or more adjacent slashes is counted as a single
slash. This controls how file names found in the patch file are treated, in case you keep your files in a different directory than the person who sent out the patch. For
example, supposing the file name in the patch file was
/u/howard/src/blurfl/blurfl.c
setting -p0 gives the entire file name unmodified, -p1 gives
u/howard/src/blurfl/blurfl.c
without the leading slash, -p4 gives
blurfl/blurfl.c
and not specifying -p at all just gives you blurfl.c. Whatever you end up with is looked for either in the current directory, or the directory specified by the -d option. |
dboat wrote: | About the --oneshot, I read the manpage again and still think that it means it is not going to be removed by depclean. I also read it somewhere before when emerge the portage package itself on a broken system (boot from livecd). |
If package is a dependency depclean will not remove package emerged with --oneshot, in the other case yes.
Examples:
Code: | # emerge squashfs-tools
# emerge --depclean
>>> No packages selected for removal by depclean
Packages installed: 556
Packages in world: 79
Packages in system: 44
Required packages: 556
Number removed: 0 |
Code: | # emerge -1 squashfs-tools
# emerge --depclean
>>> These are the packages that would be unmerged:
sys-fs/squashfs-tools
selected: 4.3-r2
protected: none
omitted: none
All selected packages: =sys-fs/squashfs-tools-4.3-r2
>>> 'Selected' packages are slated for removal.
>>> 'Protected' and 'omitted' packages will not be removed.
Would you like to unmerge these packages? [Yes/No] |
Code: | # emerge -1 squashfs-tools
# emerge grs (has squashfs as direct dependency)
# emerge --depclean
>>> No packages selected for removal by depclean
Packages installed: 556
Packages in world: 79
Packages in system: 44
Required packages: 556
Number removed: 0 |
_________________ Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
augustin Guru

Joined: 23 Feb 2015 Posts: 318
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 4:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
dboat,
As fedeliallalinea mentioned, see man patch for the use of -p1 (-pnum), although I found out we don't need to worry about it.
Regarding --oneshot, do:
Code: |
$ cat /var/lib/portage/world | grep cangjie
app-i18n/ibus-cangjie
|
If ibus-cangjie is not output here, then it will eventually be auto-removed (i.e. unmerged) with --depclean. You want ibu-cangjie in your world file but --oneshot prevents it from being added. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
augustin Guru

Joined: 23 Feb 2015 Posts: 318
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 4:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
dboat,
I just went through the whole process you want to do. It's the first time I use a custom patch myself. It's actually easy.
Get the source:
Code: |
$ git clone https://github.com/Cangjians/ibus-cangjie.git |
Use any text editor to edit the source as you yourself describe above.
Then create a patch:
Code: |
$ git diff > gi-repository.patch |
As root: Code: |
# mkdir -p /etc/portage/patches/app-i18n/ibus-cangjie/
# cp gi-repository.patch /etc/portage/patches/app-i18n/ibus-cangjie/
|
The re-emerge: Code: |
# emerge -av ibus-cangjie
...
[ebuild R ] app-i18n/ibus-cangjie-2.4::gentoo PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_4" 0 KiB
...
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking ibus-cangjie-2.4.tar.xz to /scratch/var/tmp/portage/app-i18n/ibus-cangjie-2.4/work
>>> Source unpacked in /scratch/var/tmp/portage/app-i18n/ibus-cangjie-2.4/work
>>> Preparing source in /scratch/var/tmp/portage/app-i18n/ibus-cangjie-2.4/work/ibus-cangjie-2.4 ...
* Applying user patches from /etc/portage/patches//app-i18n/ibus-cangjie ...
* gi-repository.patch ... [ ok ]
* Done with patching
...
|
The output clearly indicates that the patch was properly applied. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
augustin Guru

Joined: 23 Feb 2015 Posts: 318
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 4:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Testing cangjie configuration, it appears that we need more patching: Code: |
$ ibus-setup
....
/usr/bin/ibus-setup-cangjie:38: PyGIWarning: IBus was imported without specifying a version first. Use gi.require_version('IBus', '1.0') before import to ensure that the right version gets loaded.
from gi.repository import IBus |
Above: easily fixed with further patching.
Code: |
(ibus-setup-cangjie:27937): GLib-GIO-ERROR **: Settings schema 'org.cangjians.ibus.cangjie' is not installed |
It appears to be a packaging problem. The code is there but apparently not installed: Code: |
~/git/ibus-cangjie/ $ grep -R org.cangjians.ibus.cangjie *
data/org.cangjians.ibus.cangjie.gschema.xml.in: <schema path="/org/cangjians/ibus/cangjie/" id="org.cangjians.ibus.cangjie">
Makefile.am:gsettings_in_files = data/org.cangjians.ibus.cangjie.gschema.xml.in data/org.cangjians.ibus.quick.gschema.xml.in |
Like in the forum thread you linked to, I cannot configure cangjie nor type with it. Same problem as with Chewing, which I'm trying to use.
Do you use KDE or something else? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
augustin Guru

Joined: 23 Feb 2015 Posts: 318
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 5:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
It appears that there is a Gentoo packaging problem.
I solved the issue by compiling and installing from the source, bypassing emerge:
Code: |
$ ./autogen.sh
...
$ make
...
$ sudo make install
Password:
Sorry, try again.
Password:
GEN data
make install-recursive
make[1]: Entering directory '/home/gentou/git/ibus-cangjie'
Making install in po
make[2]: Entering directory '/home/gentou/git/ibus-cangjie/po'
linguas="pt_BR zh_HK zh_TW "; \
for lang in $linguas; do \
dir=/usr/local/share/locale/$lang/LC_MESSAGES; \
/bin/sh /home/gentou/git/ibus-cangjie/install-sh -d $dir; \
if test -r $lang.gmo; then \
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 $lang.gmo $dir/ibus-cangjie.mo; \
echo "installing $lang.gmo as $dir/ibus-cangjie.mo"; \
else \
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 ./$lang.gmo $dir/ibus-cangjie.mo; \
echo "installing ./$lang.gmo as" \
"$dir/ibus-cangjie.mo"; \
fi; \
if test -r $lang.gmo.m; then \
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 $lang.gmo.m $dir/ibus-cangjie.mo.m; \
echo "installing $lang.gmo.m as $dir/ibus-cangjie.mo.m"; \
else \
if test -r ./$lang.gmo.m ; then \
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 ./$lang.gmo.m \
$dir/ibus-cangjie.mo.m; \
echo "installing ./$lang.gmo.m as" \
"$dir/ibus-cangjie.mo.m"; \
else \
true; \
fi; \
fi; \
done
installing pt_BR.gmo as /usr/local/share/locale/pt_BR/LC_MESSAGES/ibus-cangjie.mo
installing zh_HK.gmo as /usr/local/share/locale/zh_HK/LC_MESSAGES/ibus-cangjie.mo
installing zh_TW.gmo as /usr/local/share/locale/zh_TW/LC_MESSAGES/ibus-cangjie.mo
make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/gentou/git/ibus-cangjie/po'
make[2]: Entering directory '/home/gentou/git/ibus-cangjie'
make[3]: Entering directory '/home/gentou/git/ibus-cangjie'
/bin/mkdir -p '/usr/local/bin'
/usr/bin/install -c scripts/ibus-setup-cangjie '/usr/local/bin'
/bin/mkdir -p '/usr/local/lib/ibus-cangjie'
/usr/bin/install -c scripts/ibus-engine-cangjie '/usr/local/lib/ibus-cangjie'
/bin/mkdir -p '/usr/local/share/appdata'
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 data/cangjie.appdata.xml data/quick.appdata.xml '/usr/local/share/appdata'
/bin/mkdir -p '/usr/local/share/ibus/component'
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 data/cangjie.xml data/quick.xml '/usr/local/share/ibus/component'
/bin/mkdir -p '/usr/local/share/applications'
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 data/ibus-setup-cangjie.desktop data/ibus-setup-quick.desktop '/usr/local/share/applications'
/bin/mkdir -p '/usr/local/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/ibus_cangjie'
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 src/__init__.py src/canberra.py src/engine.py src/setup.py '/usr/local/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/ibus_cangjie'
Byte-compiling python modules...
__init__.pycanberra.pyengine.pysetup.py
Byte-compiling python modules (optimized versions) ...
__init__.pycanberra.pyengine.pysetup.py
/bin/mkdir -p '/usr/local/share/ibus-cangjie'
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 data/setup.ui '/usr/local/share/ibus-cangjie'
/bin/mkdir -p '/usr/local/share/icons/hicolor/16x16/intl'
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 data/icons/16x16/cangjie.png data/icons/16x16/quick.png '/usr/local/share/icons/hicolor/16x16/intl'
/bin/mkdir -p '/usr/local/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/intl'
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 data/icons/scalable/cangjie.svg data/icons/scalable/quick.svg '/usr/local/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/intl'
if test -n "data/org.cangjians.ibus.cangjie.gschema.xml data/org.cangjians.ibus.quick.gschema.xml"; then \
test -z "/usr/local/share/glib-2.0/schemas" || /bin/mkdir -p "/usr/local/share/glib-2.0/schemas"; \
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 data/org.cangjians.ibus.cangjie.gschema.xml data/org.cangjians.ibus.quick.gschema.xml "/usr/local/share/glib-2.0/schemas"; \
test -n "" || glib-compile-schemas /usr/local/share/glib-2.0/schemas; \
fi
make[3]: Leaving directory '/home/gentou/git/ibus-cangjie'
make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/gentou/git/ibus-cangjie'
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/gentou/git/ibus-cangjie'
|
Curiously, there is no make test option available, although test sources exist.
Having done that, I can now configure cangjie, but I still cannot type any Chinese.
I do meta+space to switch to cangjie, but the output is still English characters. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
augustin Guru

Joined: 23 Feb 2015 Posts: 318
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 5:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Both Chewing and cangjie kinda work within firefox,
but neither work within konsole, konqueror, libreoffice.... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dboat n00b

Joined: 30 Dec 2016 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
fedeliallalinea wrote: |
If package is a dependency depclean will not remove package emerged with --oneshot, in the other case yes.
Examples: |
Thank you for your explanation. The example clarify a lot. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dboat n00b

Joined: 30 Dec 2016 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 9:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
@augustin
You are so fast!
I am still struggling with the patch, without success.
I followed line-by-line the wiki here.
On the xxx.patch.out I have
Code: | ====================================
can't find file to patch at input line 3
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|--- scripts/ibus-setup-cangjie.in 2014-12-31 21:20:03.000000000 +0800
|+++ /tmp/ibus-setup-cangjie.in 2016-12-31 16:38:26.196000000 +0800
--------------------------
No file to patch. Skipping patch.
1 out of 1 hunk ignored
patch program exited with status 1
====================================
|
and content of the patch file is
Code: | --- scripts/ibus-setup-cangjie.in 2014-12-31 21:20:03.000000000 +0800
+++ /tmp/ibus-setup-cangjie.in 2016-12-31 16:38:26.196000000 +0800
@@ -32,6 +32,8 @@
import locale
+import gi
+gi.repository_version("Gtk", "3.0")
from gi.repository import Gtk
from gi.repository import IBus
|
Any suggestion? Should I remove the line "import locale"?
Even it is not useful, I would like to get the patch done.
Regarding Chinese input, I may setup a Debian fluxbox vm for it, copy and paste across vm's when needed.
For the WM, I always prefer Xfce.
I read from a ubuntu forum that rime supports Quick5. I tried, unfortunately, Gentoo's version does not. But it can output Chinese characters. Not sure if it is useful to you. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dboat n00b

Joined: 30 Dec 2016 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 9:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
augustin wrote: | Both Chewing and cangjie kinda work within firefox,
but neither work within konsole, konqueror, libreoffice.... |
Have you tried re-start ibus?
I had some similar experience with Manjaro, resolved by delay the start up of ibus. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
augustin Guru

Joined: 23 Feb 2015 Posts: 318
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 9:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Did you try with the git repository? It's easy.
I think git is installed by default, otherwise do:
# emerge dev-vcs/git
then pick up from the git clone command noted above. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dboat n00b

Joined: 30 Dec 2016 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 10:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
augustin wrote: | Did you try with the git repository? It's easy.
I think git is installed by default, otherwise do:
# emerge dev-vcs/git
then pick up from the git clone command noted above. |
Did you run everything as root, or add the normal user to portage group? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
augustin Guru

Joined: 23 Feb 2015 Posts: 318
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 11:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Commands with the $ prompt were run as user, and with the # prompt as root. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dboat n00b

Joined: 30 Dec 2016 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 11:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
augustin wrote: | Did you try with the git repository? It's easy.
I think git is installed by default, otherwise do:
# emerge dev-vcs/git
then pick up from the git clone command noted above. |
I try to follow your example.
yes, git is installed by default.
I created a subfolder under home, cd into it, run the git clone and can download the ibus-cangjie directories
but when I run
Code: | $ git diff > gi-repository.patch |
I get
Code: | Not a git repository
To compare two paths outside a working tree:
usage: git diff [--no-index] <path> <path>
|
Do I need to setup something about git if I use this approach? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
augustin Guru

Joined: 23 Feb 2015 Posts: 318
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 11:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
My bad.
You must run git diff from within the git repository:
You should have a .git/ subdirectory: Code: |
$ ls -d .git
.git
$ git diff > my.patch |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dboat n00b

Joined: 30 Dec 2016 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 12:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
augustin wrote: | My bad.
You must run git diff from within the git repository:
You should have a .git/ subdirectory: Code: |
$ ls -d .git
.git
$ git diff > my.patch |
|
It works!!! Million thanks.
I google and find that I need to run "git init" to make the current directory a git repository.
(does this command merely create a .git folder?)
The previous failure should be due to a wrong path name, the one you use is
/etc/portage/patches/app-i18n/ibus-cangjie/
while the wrong one I used before was
/etc/portage/patches/app-i18n/ibus-cangjie-2.4/
Will try your "bypassing emerge" approach and see what I can get.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
augustin Guru

Joined: 23 Feb 2015 Posts: 318
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 12:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dboat wrote: |
It works!!! Million thanks.
I google and find that I need to run "git init" to make the current directory a git repository.
(does this command merely create a .git folder?) |
Strange. I always run git init when I start a new project for myself, but it's not supposed to be necessary if you git clone an existing project.
Quote: |
Will try your "bypassing emerge" approach and see what I can get.  |
This one has got me puzzled. I just checked: the latest code (git's HEAD) is the same as the one pulled by portage (2.4), so I can't explain the difference I observed. YMMV. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|