Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
conky display moves
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jagdpanther
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 9:37 pm    Post subject: conky display moves Reply with quote

Since upgrading (via emerge) to conky-1.10.4, the conky display which I have configured to appear in the upper right hand corner of my display, slows moves down the screen when I am moving any window. (Ex an xterm window.) Eventually it will pop back up to the proper place, but again starts creeping down when windows are moved. Any ideas?

According to
https://github.com/brndnmtthws/conky/wiki/Configuration-Settings
the conky configuration syntax changed starting with conky-1.10. I used the included convert.lua script to change to the new configuration without error.

The only standard/error output that conky gives is:
Code:
 conky &
[1] 4589
pts/16 13:27:42
$ conky: desktop window (1e0) is root window
conky: drawing to desktop window
conky: drawing to double buffer


Running conky -DD does not show any errors.

Any ideas on why the conky display creeps down the screen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jagdpanther
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2016 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just tried emerging the "unstable" version: conky-1.10.6 ... same issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
figueroa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 401
Location: GA-USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 5:50 pm    Post subject: Upgrading scrambled output Reply with quote

Upgrading to 1.10.4 resulted in a scrambled output. I could get it to unscramble if I killed it and started manually, but not worth the chase. I downgraded to 1.9.0-r3.
_________________
Andy Figueroa
andy@andyfigueroa.net Working with Unix since 1983.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jagdpanther
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

figueroa: I still have the conky creep-down the screen issue when I move or resize other windows. (Within 2 seconds the conky display always pops back to where it should be). So far I am living with it, I may downgrade to 1.9.x.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
renzhi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the exact same problem, it's really annoying. I'm running openbox, conky 1.10.6 on debian testing (had the problem with debian jessie as well). I tried to compile conky from source, but 1.10.0 also has the problem.

We can't be the only persons to run into this issue, can we? :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soundrolf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2016
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 2:57 pm    Post subject: conky display moves Reply with quote

Syntax of .conkyrc changed

Here is my .conkyrc, have a look to xinerama_head = 2;

conky.config = {
alignment = 'top_right',
background = false,
double_buffer = true,
border_width = 0,
cpu_avg_samples = 2,
default_color = 'white',
draw_borders = false,
draw_graph_borders = false,
draw_outline = false,
draw_shades = false,
use_xft = true,
font = 'DejaVu Sans Mono:size=12',
gap_x = 5,
gap_y = 5,
net_avg_samples = 2,
no_buffers = true,
text_buffer_size = 512,
out_to_console = false,
out_to_stderr = false,
extra_newline = false,
own_window = true,
own_window_class = 'Conky',
own_window_type = 'desktop',
own_window_transparent = true,
own_window_argb_visual = true,
own_window_hints = 'undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager';
stippled_borders = 0,
update_interval = 1.0,
uppercase = false,
use_spacer = 'none',
show_graph_scale = false,
show_graph_range = false,
minimum_width = 160,
minimum_height = 1024,
maximum_width = 180,
-------------------------- Attention, below setting is for second monitor right of primary. If screen resolution is 1280x1024
-- -- you can to set it to xinerama_head = 1280 , conky display at right side of right monitor
-- -- set it to xinerama_head = 0 then conky display at right side of primary (left) monitor
-- -- if there is only one monitor set it to xinerama_head = 0 then conky display of right side
-- -- in my case xinerama_head = 2 do the job to display conky at right side of right monitor
xinerama_head = 2;
--------------------------

--Lua scripts
lua_load = '~/.lua/basic/basic.lua',
lua_draw_hook_pre = 'main'
}

conky.text = [[

]]

Hope that helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5801

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2017 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would try this against a fresh config since they changed the format a few versions back. If you run
Code:
conky -C > .conkyrc.new
it will output a default config.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
renzhi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2017 2:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I know what the problem is.

It used to be that if you wanted to use the desktop to display (without conky's own window), you set the parameter

own_window = false

And this caused the problem described above. For those who migrated from the old version, you probably wouldn't suspect it.

Now you have to do:

own_window = true,
own_window_class = 'Conky',
own_window_type = 'desktop',

And this stops the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum