startx blank screen
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
godof4dchess
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:48 am    Post subject: startx blank screen Reply with quote

Hello all, I'm new to linux and I followed the gentoo hand book and had a successful install. I tried to install xorg, which just gives me a blank black screen when I give the command startx, then I am forced to reboot. And if you have a solution can you give me your reasoning? if i should solve this myself, how would i go about it? i can give logs, this install is on a laptop.

Last edited by godof4dchess on Sun Dec 18, 2016 1:06 am; edited 1 time in total
jonathan183
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 1:06 am    Post subject: Re: startx blank screen Reply with quote

godof4dchess wrote:
Hello all, I'm new to linux and I followed the gentoo hand book and had a successful install. I tried to install xorg, which just gives me a blank black screen when I give the command startx, then I am forced to reboot. And if you have a solution can you give me your reasoning? Very much appreciated.

Check /var/log/Xorg.0.log on your system for clues. Some information on hardware and contents of .xinitrc etc may also help narrow things down a bit ;)
godof4dchess
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 1:08 am    Post subject: Re: startx blank screen Reply with quote

jonathan183 wrote:
godof4dchess wrote:
Hello all, I'm new to linux and I followed the gentoo hand book and had a successful install. I tried to install xorg, which just gives me a blank black screen when I give the command startx, then I am forced to reboot. And if you have a solution can you give me your reasoning? Very much appreciated.

Check /var/log/Xorg.0.log on your system for clues. Some information on hardware and contents of .xinitrc etc may also help narrow things down a bit ;)