Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
A shoppers dilemma : What can Gentoo do?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
OverMyHead
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:16 am    Post subject: A shoppers dilemma : What can Gentoo do? Reply with quote

Greetings all. I'm a Linux Noob who is very likely to be useng the Gentoo Distro simply out of customizability alone. Yet in this extensive customizability I suddenly find my brain oxygen deprived from reactionary holding my breath. So as per the title, I'm having a shoppers dilemma of "What can it do"? What is it? ... Repeat.

I ask because I like to measure twice before I proceed, but the Hand Book doesn't seem to have a list of all the things Gentoo can do. (And I'm really hoping that I didn't miss it in my search.)

Thank you!
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentoo can run all software written for Linux and Gentoo can teach you alot about Linux internals. What else you want?
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Two reasons why you don't need that list:
  • The very configurability you tout. If you decide it should be different, you can make it so.
  • You don't yet know enough to make intelligent choices from such a list.
Also, it's kind of like asking for a list of all possible chess games: such a list would be unwieldy. The Handbook describes a good minimal starting point from which you can learn to customize further. Best advice at this point is don't sweat it too much and get started.

- John
Naib
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It can do whatever you want it todo within the bounds of the software you want to use.